We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not at all what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not at all what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was the last stop on a two week road trip around the East Coast. We booked it for its location to the airport, which my mother and I were both flying out of.

We had stayed at several different hotels during our trip, including Best Westerns, Holiday Inns, Wydhams and smaller ones in historical locations. In all of the previous hotels, we had access to free Wifi. Not at the Hyatt, they wanted $13.95 for one day's usage. The other hotels all had access to a safe; not the Hyatt. Many had laundry rooms - the Hyatt, however, had a very expensive valet service. There was also no breakfast included (you would need to order from the overpriced restaurant) nor was there a fridge or microwave, something that was present in many of the other hotels we stayed at.

The shuttle service from the airport, in my opinion, was also quite shoddy and after calling to be picked up, it took someone over 45 minutes to reach us (despite it being a quieter time). Finally, there was no pool or hottub, but there was a pretty decent little gym. I am sure the view over the harbour would've been great, but all we overlooked was the airport. All in all, based on the lack of ameneties that I would've expected from a place like the Hyatt, I don't believe I will be staying with them again.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, request a harbour-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. While many of our guests prefer to pay a lower nightly rate, with additional charges for optional services such as breakfast and internet, we have found that a growing number of guests prefer to pay a higher rate to have breakfast and internet included. As a result, we have started making more packages available when booking. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Michael Hickey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    744
    255
    110
    52
See reviews for
519
652
193
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

My mother and I flew into Boston mid snowstorm and crashed here after a 15 hour flight from Hong Kong, major delays from Newark and it was a huge relief to have a warm and comfortable room to go to. We arrived with several other stranded passengers (final destination was home in NH) around midnight but had already booked a room once we realized we weren't getting home. We called for the shuttle which arrived prompty which was great because we were beyond exhausted, check in was a breeze and very friendly. They gave us the wi-fi codes for free because of the weather and travel issues. Big thanks!! The bar was still open which was great as well, had a nice glass of wine and headed to the room. We couldn't see more than a few feet out the window but I can imagine the view was beautiful! It's possible that the bed was so comfortable because of the exhaustion, but I'm also a bit of a hotel bed snob and this was super comfy. We took advantage of the noon check out and headed back to NH that afternoon. Thanks for making it a great stay after a terrible travel journey!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

a lovely stay made superb by the staff - nothing was too much trouble for them and they always had a smile. the view over the harbour was lovely and the food always piping hot and delicious.
a phone link to the courtesy bus would be nice as overseas visitors do not usually have prepaid phone cards. the little ferry boat runs across the bay to order, just ask at reception. i think you'd have to go a long way to find service equal to that at the harbourside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. I am thrilled to hear that you received such wonderful service from our staff. I will be sure to pass your comments along. Also, thank you for the suggestion of adding a dedicated phone line in the arrivals area. It is suggestions such as yours that allow us to continue to improve. We look forward to delighting you again in the future.

Regards,
Michael Hickey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Got a good deal on a 4 night break here, excellent harbour view room. Hotel could do with a free phone connection from the airport to call reception for transportation back to the hotel. Restaurant was pricey, but the food was excellent along with excellent waitress service, I guess you get what you pay for. Needs a separate bar area away from the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask the concierge or bus drivers for any local info, both gave excellent recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewood1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Love staying here, breakfast and bar meals excellent, BEST views of Boston at night, easy for water taxi, friendly staff, great rooms, great views if the airport (lol) and soundproofed accordingly, slept v well. Love going back, use them a lot and would not hesitate to stay there. Get a room as high as you can I find helps with view. Get down early for best hotel breakfast in Boston.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy our hotel and I will be sure to share your review with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,
Michael Hickey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a great location and facility. Possibly the best view of Boston and the harbor you can get. They ding you on parking and food. If you plan it for convenience to Logan, try to include enough time to enjoy the hotel. The water taxi to Boston is a unique service, and cost is reasonable.

Room Tip: The odd-numbered rooms face the harbor. But both sides have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdrsofree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our wonderful views of Boston Harbor. Also, thank you for the feedback regarding our restaurant. I will be sure to pass your comments along to our Executive Chef to take under advisement.

Best regards,
Michael Hickey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent 3 nights there recently attending a conference. The room was very nice. We lucked out and had a room with the harbor view, which is amazing at night.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The facilities for the meeting were very good.
And the little restaurant in the courtyard was reasonably good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiddleskiyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I am so happy to hear that you found our staff helpful during your stay. We pride ourselves on delivering a top-notch guest experience and it is a pleasure to hear when we succeed.

Regards,
Michael Hickey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#32 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Boston Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Boston Logan Airport
East Boston / Logan Airport
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston - at Logan Airport
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Address: 101 Harborside Drive, Boston, MA 02128-2918 (Formerly Hyatt Boston Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > East Boston / Logan Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#25 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#29 Green Hotel in Boston
#32 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern glass lighthouse compliments the Boston Harbor setting, seven minutes by water transportation to the heart of Boston. Elegant touches, superb facilities and all the amenities complete the picture, tying in the stately flair and nautical theme. This hotel boasts unparalleled views of the city Skyline, and sits right along the banks of Boston Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Harborside At Boston`s Logan International Airport Hotel Boston
Hyatt Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Harborside
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing