We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Lifts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Ranked #30 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Rooms were fine, great location, helpful staff. We spent a lot of time waiting for lifts. Although the hotel boasted 6, it was common to wait up to 15 minutes for a lift. Staff told me it was because they were full, it told me the equipment couldn't handle the busier periods.

Room Tip: Visit during quiet times. We were there July 4 weekend, and the infrastructure didn't cope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you Gavan for sharing your feedback with us. We're glad that you found our staff helpful and that you enjoyed our hotel's rooms and location. I am sorry to hear that you experienced delays waiting for our elevators. We strive to accommodate all of our guests even during our busiest periods and please do know that this occurrence is not representative of the typical guest experience. I will share your feedback with our engineering team and I hope that you do pay us a visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,964 - 1,970 of 4,078 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Came to Boston for a long weekend. The hotel is situated in a great area of Boston. Two blocks from Newbury Street - a happening street filled with big brand stores as well as small boutiques. Boston is a great walking city and The Westin Copley Place is in the heart of it. Love the location.

It's a solid Westin. My room was clean and big with beautiful wall to wall windows overlooking the water. The bathrooms however could use a little updating. I was given a handicapped room originally and the floor of the shower needed some serious bleaching. I ended up switching rooms and the bathtub in my 2nd room had nasty rust spots on it that's rather unsightly for a Westin.

Breakfast at Huntington downstairs was superb. The menu is extensive and has a great selection of items to choose from. Tried the buffet as well as ordering from the menu. All delicious. Fresh fruit on the continental was a treat and could be a meal in itself.

Beware of asking for dinner suggestions at the concierge desk. We took their suggestions two nights out of 3 and were disappointed.

All in all, a good hotel and will come back again.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank AlwaysEatDessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community! I'm elated to hear that you will be returning to stay with us again in the future, and that your recent summer visit with us was enjoyable. Many of the topics you mentioned in your review - from our property's ideal location to our rooms' panoramic views of the river - are hotel features that we are definitely proud of. I will share your concerns about your bathroom's cleanliness with our team so that we avoid situations like these in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

i was debating for months as to where to stay. This was the PERFECT location. This was close to EVERYTHING. We walked everywhere, North End, Harbor, Fenway, Freedom Trail spots. This is such a great central spot to do everything. Loved the location and the hotel staff were amazing. The room had an amazing view of the river and the whole city, just gorgeous. The staff had umbrellas and strollers to borrow. Super easy, fun

Room Tip: higher rooms with river views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bidder5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review! I'm so pleased to hear that after researching all of your options that you chose to stay with us. It sounds like you took full advantage of our central location and enjoyed all that Boston has to offer - all within steps of our hotel's front door. I'm equally delighted to hear that our staff took such great care of you. We look forward to hosting you and your family again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this property on business in July and found it to be very conveniently located, very very clean, and with a great service staff. Check-in was very easy and I stayed on the 26th floor with a wonderful view of the city.

There was nothing spectacular about this property, but it didn't do anything wrong either. If given the chance to travel to Boston again I would certainly entertain staying at this property.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermanSnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us Herman. I'm pleased to hear that you found our property very clean, well appointed and conveniently located for your needs. I agree that many of our rooms afford spectacular views of the city and so glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Short and sweet.... Enjoyed our stay here.

The room was a good size and the bath was well appreciated after all the New York walking we had done!

The location is excellent, a short trip from the train station, excellent shops and restaurants around, not too far from the park and Boston Common and within walking distance to Fenway if you want to catch a ball game.

I would probably have given it 5 stars if it wasn't for lobby being on the second floor and the broken escalator which was out of service for our visit and for the free wifi only at the lobby which seemed sluggish at best. I always think top hotels should offer free room wifi. It doesn't cost them that much so charging over a tenner a day seems excessive!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you specifically loved our hotel's location and guest rooms. I do apologize for the challenges you faced with our hotel's escalator and complimentary wireless internet in the lobby. We are always looking for ways to enhance our guest services and I will be sure to share your feedback with our associates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great room (junior suite) with a fantastic view over Boston.
Well stocked coffee machine. Empty but working fridge in room.
2x double beds and comfortable sofa that doubled as a sofa bed. This is one of the few hotels in Boston I could find that allowed four people in a room (please take note Marriott) so great for a family trip with teenagers.

Hotel had a great gym and small pool (indoor).

Skipped the breakfast in favour of their lobby coffee shop which had a good selection.

The hotel is attached to a shopping centre so a Starbucks and Bon Au Pain are within a two minute walk.

Hotel is well situated to so many things, Copley Square T station is one minute walk away, Copley Square park is opposite the hotel, Fenway Ball Park is a 20 min walk. There is a Shaw grocery store two mins away that does a great hot food and salad bar take away.

Will be back to Boston and back to The Westin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SenorFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing such a thorough and detailed account of your recent stay with us! I am thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us - from the room views to the amenities and and hotel facilities. I also know that fellow TripAdvisor readers will appreciate all of the details you shared about our neighborhood and location. We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and wish I had stayed elsewhere. Check-in was a hassle and my room smelled terrible. It was a nice room and the bed was very comfortable, but it smelled almost like mold. The staff did not seem prepared for the convention and the food was mediocre, at best. I'm staying at another Westin later this year for a conference and I hope the experience is better.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank smillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you were pleased with some aspects of your guestroom, but am very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in other ways. I would welcome the chance to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience and address any other concerns you have. Please feel free to contact me at john.wedig@westin.com so we may discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#53 of 85 in Boston
2,502 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 85 in Boston
1,969 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 85 in Boston
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Copley Place, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Copley Place, Boston

Address: 10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116-5707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#22 Business Hotel in Boston
#25 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#29 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $162 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Copley Place, Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 803
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Copley Place, Boston is located in Boston's sophisticated Back Bay neighborhood, alongside the best shopping, dining and entertainment that the city has to offer. Famous attractions such as Fenway Park, the Boston Public Library, the Boston Common, and Quincy Market are within close proximity of the hotel and can be easily visited by way of public transportation. Conveniently, the hotel is located just 15 minutes from Boston's Logan International Airport and is easily accessible from I-90, I-93 and Boston's historic Storrow Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Copley Place, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Copley Place Hotel Boston
Westin Boston
Westin Copley Place
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing