We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway for the family.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Copley Place, Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway for the family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went to the Westin Copley Place for a weekend getaway with my daughter (12), her friend and friend's mother. Was able to leave car in front of hotel for 15 min while checking in. Quick and easy check in with welcoming staff. Not an impressive entrance due to lobby renovations. Great view of the Charles river and Prudential building from our room on the 33rd floor. We chose to park under the Boston Common due to affordability and walked back to the hotel. The girls loved the pool (it was pretty warm for a New England hotel pool), nice room service, and my favorite was the breakfast buffet (and I'm not a big breakfast or buffet person). Shopping was pleasurable at the Copley place and Prudential center. Could leave coats and belongings in room because you can walk all undercover to the shopping areas. Can't wait to book again for the family.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Charles river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at the Westin Copley Place. It is truly appreciated. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time.

You will be happy to know the renovation of the lobby will be done in a week and should be spectacular when all is said and done.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    1,101
    367
    122
    53
See reviews for
800
676
129
1,087
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overall, my go-to in Boston, mostly for location and newly-renovated rooms. If I were traveling for pleasure, the Liberty or W are more interesting hotels (but you trade off the convenient location).

PROS:
- Location: Easy to walk to multiple neighborhoods (Back Bay, Boston Common, South End), connected to Copley and Pru malls when it's snowing so you don't have to put on 10 layers
- Rooms: Newly-renovated rooms are well-executed and lots of oversized rooms to upgrade to if you're SPG plat
- Views: Not many hotels in Boston are tall, this one is
- Food: More of a comment on the food options nearby, room service is standard Westin
- Train access: It's 100 feet from Amtrak Back Bay, perfect if you're coming from New York

CONS:
- Public areas: Limited wow-factor when entering on driveway level, lobby is torn up for renovation
- Architecture: It's a concrete bunker from the outside, and in contrast to the neighborhood

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jk091980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

We agree with you on the Lobby and the WOW factor...that is why we are renovating it which will give it the WOW factor you speak of...It will be done a week from Friday but our temporary lobby "Living Room" and front desk has really served nicely in the mean time. By the way both the W and the Liberty are Starwood Properties as well and I would put our employees and the service they provide up against eithe hotel...I am that confident in our service experience.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Live in Ma but came into Boston when we lost power from the blizzard. Chose the Westin based on location and reviews. Service was very good- valet was quick, luggage got to room quickly and ask for late checkout was done no questions asked. Room was a good size and clean. Rain shower and nice bedding and mattress were food extras. The fitness facility was clean had a fair amount of cardio equipment and things like balls, etc. convenient location as you can get to Copley, the prudential center and around the general area without going outside. Had dessert and drinks in Bar 10, which was very good and had brunch here as well which was good. The only two negatives were wifi, parking and having to pay for Disney TV shows were all a bit excessive.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I hope you were able to get your power back and you were able to dig yourself out after NEMO! I am delighted that we were able to provide you with safe refuge. It is remarkable and a true testament to our staff that you are able to make such positive comments about the Hotel and Service given the weather conditions...It speaks volumes to the committment level of the staff that they were able to fight through the Blizzard to enusre that they were here to service our guests and with minimum disruption.

Additionally, we cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Comfortable bed and great location. For platinum members, upgrade to a jr suite was welcomed. Came with coffeemaker and coffee in the room and 2 bottled water every day. Bath amenities good. Wi-fi was complimentary in the room, but at times slow. If need to, there are 2 computers in the lobby across from the check in area. Access to the mall is covered and starbucks is just out of the lobby area. Breakfast was included. The continental breakfast included so many items, that it was not necessary to ugrade the breakfast fot the meats. The upgrade is an additional $2.50. The staff in the breakfast room so friendly and efficient. The turner fisheries restaurant in the hotel is an great choice for dinner, wish I tried it sooner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alank1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Thank you also for your comments on the staff and the service...we are very proud of all of our staff and your comments are very rewarding...I will be sure to share this with the Huntington staff.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in early January and was given a room on the 35th floor. The views of the Charles river and city are really fantastic from the hotel, but everything else is just OK. The hotel is undergoing a renovation in the lobby area and I hope they're planning on giving the rest of the property a good scrubbing as well. The room was a good size and was cleaned daily, but never really felt clean. For example, dust was prevalent and the windows had stains from prior guests enjoying the view. Not a huge deal, but a lil bit of windex can go a long way!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripNLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the view....truly the best in the city.

I am sorry to hear that you didn't feel that the room was 100% clean. That is not acceptable nor the level of standard that we have come to pride ourselves on. I will be sure to discuss this with our Executive Housekeeper...it is this type of feedback which truly helps us in our pursuit of perfection. The lobby renovation is quick and will be done a week from Friday...we think it will be spectacular, and I hope you will as well...

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A well located property in the Back Bay. The lobby and public areas are undergoing a face lift at the moment but it did not take away from the stay. Rooms are large and in very good condition. It is very close to both the Copley and Back Bay T-stations, convenient for getting around the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meercoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston.

You are correct on the renovation....the lobby will truly be specacular and we have done everything in our power to minimize any disruption to your stay including our temporary lobby and front desk in Bar 10. It is a very quick facelift that will be done a week from this Friday.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

There are usually a lot of business travelers staying here, so getting an upgrade during high season is difficult, but the rooms are nice and the service is great. The location can't be beaten, being right in the heart of Copley, connected to both Copley Mall and the Prudential Center, and steps away from Newbury Street, the subway system (both orange and green lines are around the corner) and delicious food on Boylston street.

Room Tip: Top couple of floors are for SPG members, so sign up for SPG if you haven't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Thank you also for your comments on the service...we are very proud of all of our staff and your comments are very rewarding...

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#7 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,037 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#31 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#25 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Copley Place, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Copley Place, Boston

Property: The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Address: 10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#22 Business Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#26 Green Hotel in Boston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#28 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Copley Place, Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 803
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Copley Place, Boston is located in Boston's sophisticated Back Bay neighborhood, alongside the best shopping, dining and entertainment that the city has to offer. Famous attractions such as Fenway Park, the Boston Public Library, the Boston Common, and Quincy Market are within close proximity of the hotel and can be easily visited by way of public transportation. Conveniently, the hotel is located just 15 minutes from Boston's Logan International Airport and is easily accessible from I-90, I-93 and Boston's historic Storrow Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Copley Place, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Copley Place Hotel Boston
Westin Boston
Westin Copley Place
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing