We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 15, 2010

A fantastic hotel, with amazing deco. The rooms are amazing appointed and spacious, with very attentive staff. Great business facailities, and the concierge, bell staff were fabulaous, nothing was too much trouble.

A couple of comments. The bathroom supplies could have been improved given this is a 'Leading hotel of the world' and reception staff were not always available. The operator phone connection for the hotel were not too friendly, but these are slight issues to what was a great stay.

Word of warning. International phone call rates form the room are insanely expensive. A 3 minute call to my IT service desk back home cost me 32 USD. I nearly fell off my chair when i got the bill.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,394 - 2,400 of 2,865 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2010

The hotel overlooks Boston Common and has a great central location. The rooms are spacious, clean and have the biggest bed I've ever slept in (complete with 'pillow menu') - the evening turn-down service complete with next day weather forecast was a nice touch. The Consierge was particulary helpful in recommendations for meals - although the restaurant in the hotel itself is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCV_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I lived for many years outside of Boston, the city that was the bastion of New England propriety (and solemnity). I recall with joy taking my young daughter to events at the Ritz Carlton, celebrating such pre-decadence-age icons as Curious George and the Ducklings for whom you were to make way.

The Ritz was your properly aging grandmother; always comforting, always reminding you quietly to enjoy your stay in stately surroundings. But being New England, it was not grandiose, and with age came signs of slight fraying at the edges. That's probably why the Ritz group bailed on the infrastructure, chose to move to new digs across the garden and common, and see if what used to be referred to as the combat zone could be reinvigorated. Ah, the early and mid 2000s.

So, along came Taj and chose to stick with the tried and true. I stayed for one night recently, at a very nice rate plan, and found the new owners to be loyal to the conservative vision. The service levels are up to Taj standards, there's been some cleaning and spiffing, but the Taj still reminds me of the old Ritz Carlton, and the new Ritz Carlton suggests a strange dream sequence.

It's stately, convenient and helpful. The location is superb. And if you're like me, you'll look at some of the "improvements" (like glazed vinyl window inserts) and smile, knowing that they mean nothing to the old grandmother that is the Ritz....

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValuingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The room was very nice - staff was incredibly nice - location is wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likestotravel1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed here for one night with my teenage daughter at the end of trip through New England to tour schools.

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past when it was the Ritz. It was a lovely hotel in a great location with impeccable service. The Taj chain has completely ruined one of the gems of Boston.

Let's start with what was good. The hotel commands a great location right on the Public Garden - within easy walking distance of shopping in the Back Bay and all of the wonderful restaurants and small shops in Beacon Hill. Some of the lobby staff and room service personnel who pre-date the Taj takeover, are still as wonderful, helpful and gracious as always. I should also mention the bed was super comfy.

What was wrong:

We arrived at 4pm on a Saturday afternoon after a long day of driving. Check-in is at 3pm. We were told that our room was not ready and probably would not be ready for at least another hour, possibly longer. There were a number of people (many with small children) milling around the lobby (which is on the smallish size) who were in the same predicament. Apparently, the hotel had allowed a number of guests from the previous evening to utilize a late check out option - which is fine if you have the capacity to accommodate those folks as well as your new arrivals. Obviously, this was not the case. This was a huge inconvenience for us as we had dinner reservations with friends at 6pm and hoped to shower and freshen before going out. The hotel offered us NOTHING for this inconvenience. Not even a "go have a drink in the bar, while we ready your room". Nothing, zero!

When we finally were allowed access to our room, it was clear that the room and bathroom had not been updated in 15 years or longer. The blackout coating on the curtains was peeling and completely gone in places so that with the drapes closed there were huge areas where the bright sunlight penetrated the curtains. The windows have not been re-glazed in 30-40 years and if you have a room facing the common it will be very noisy.

The telephone system is very old and several times during the night our phone emitted a loud dial tone through the speaker - 1am, 3am and again at 5:30. It was horrible.

They also charge $10.75 per day for internet access.

There are many nice hotels in this area, which are much nicer and better value. I will not stay here again. Shame on Taj for ruining what was a Boston institution!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway... Our room was beautiful and it overlooked the Boston Garden. It was a great hotel - all the staff were very helpful including the doorman who gave some great tips on what to see and where to eat... Boston is a beautiful city - lots to do and see - and it is easy to walk... I highly recommend staying at the Taj - will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2far2go111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The Taj Boston certainly lives up to the reputation of the Taj group of hotels. Recently refurbished, it is superbly appointed and beautifully located, with one side facing the trendy Newbury Street and the other corner facing the Boston Common.

The rooms are elegant, clean and luxurious with all the amenities and frills of a 5 star hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, although the housekeeping service can be a bit slow. The atmosphere is one of understated elegance, in keeping with the stately area of Boston that it finds itself in.

The Taj is perfectly located for shopping, sightseeing and dining out - in fact there are so many cafes and restaurants nearby that I never needed to eat at the hotel restaurant. It is close to Copley Square and several of the main shopping and tourist areas, and also right on the Common so it was never a problem to walk anywhere.

While the hotel is expensive, it is not unreasonable for what it is and of course the Taj Group is known for its 5 star luxury. Staying at the Taj Boston definitely enhanced my Boston experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,413 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $200 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing