We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No free coffee”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sherman, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No free coffee”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I stayed here 20 years ago when the hotel was the Ritz Carlton on a floor with the concierge service. This time, a vendor took care of the room selection for me (cost too, so no real complaints). The location is still great, but I really missed not being able to make coffee in my room. Yes, I know I could have ordered room service or traveled to the lobby and paid $3.25 for a cup to go; however, I really like a coffee pot in my room. I would stay somewhere less luxurious, but with my favorite convenience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanstexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,396
    731
    294
    147
    75
See reviews for
639
979
132
593
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I stayed here with two friends for 8 nights and we loved it. We had an amazing view of the Public Garden and Beacon Hill that was great to look at day and night. The windows opened which was a plus because we could get fresh air. We had the Club Room and the service there was incredible. The staff in the Club Room were friendly and we enjoyed our time there even though two elderly women would steal the cookies wrapped up in napkins every time we were in there. We pointed them out to the staff but they could not intervene with the Cookie Monsters. Some people must save their pennies to stay in nicer hotels so they take what they can get. For me, staying in the Taj is nostalgic because it will always be the Ritz Carlton to me. That's how I remember it. It's worth the price. I think that the rooms are hardly sound-proof though because our neighbors were not pleased with us on our first night so we had to keep it down after that. They said that we were better when we saw them in the lobby the next day. All in all, it was a great place to stay. Oh, NO PARKING and I paid over two or three hundred dollars to park a rental car under Boston Common for a few days. I didn't need to use the car and couldn't find it after a few days!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobekeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Thhis is the perfect location to explore Boston. Thee Gardens are across the street, it is on Newberry St(Shopping), kitty Cormer to Beacon Hill(great area to explore) and within walking disctance of Chinatown and the North End.
It is pretty ornate for our taste, but the service was outstanding! James is the best concierge we have run across anywhere. He is spot on with his recommendations and has a great personality; ask him anything - he won't cop an attitude!
Alas, all good things come at a premium; a c-note for room service breakfeast for 3(continental at that) and $30 for 2 drinks at the bar, but James is worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Just spent one night at the hotel with my family and we had a great time. The location is perfect for leisure travel and the staff really took good care of all of us. We got upgraded to a suite and really enjoyed the extra room and loved the Taj room upstairs for the extra amenities. Would definitely come back. The only drawback is the furnishings are getting a little tired.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We loved this hotel, the location was fantastic, right across from the beautiful Public Gardens and close to the Freedom Trail with the historic sights marked along the way. The room was clean and comfortable as expected, not big, but the size was fine, nice sheets and a soft duvet. The bathroom was small but had everything needed, Molton Brown toiletries, a great deep tub. The staff was wonderful, very helpful, from the front desk, the doorman, the concierge, the parking attendant, all 5 star quality employees. Shopping is fantastic in this neighborhood, if you love your top designers, this is the place. Chanel is in the building itself, other similar designers are in the blocks around the hotel. Along the Freedom Trail you find lots of restaurant choices, we particularly liked the large concentration of Italian restaurants in the North End, the casual Neptune's Oyster had a great selection of choice Massachusetts oysters and clams, not cheap, but very, very good. We are choosey about where we stay, this was a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miller041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

The taj in Boston is a nicely run very average hotel. There is nothing specila about the service, decor or amenities and falls a little short on teh luxury side.

The staff were friendly enough although a little bored and uninterested. Cleanliness was fantastic though and the housekeeper always asked to see if I was pleased and if I needed anything more.

The food was not stable in quality. The first morning the breakfast was nicely cooked and warm. On the second and third day it fell short of a good breakfast and the dishes were ofthen dry and cold.

Overall it did the job.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelopinion-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We decided to go there for a nice breakfast, knowing that it would be expensive. It was expensive and the cafe was very nice but the food was awful. The pancakes tasted like cardboard. The diet coke was flat. Even the syrup had no taste. I would definitely advise people not to eat here.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Boopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing