We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Timeworn though..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
299 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great location. Timeworn though..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The title explains everything. .in need of some renovation, especially where upholstery is concerned. Good service, good breakfast, totally out of place the wifi for a charge in 2014! Lady at concierge very helpful..

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mariat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    696
    269
    134
    69
See reviews for
593
943
126
533
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect & very convenient is you like to be in a walkable area! The staff is professional & helpful. Rooms are big and very clean. The bed is super comfortable. We didn't eat there and didn't try the facilities as we prefer to be directly in the city.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Dany G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston! We were so pleased to learn that you appreciated our perfect location, which you found very walkable and convenient. Further, we were delighted that you found our staff professional and helpful and that you enjoyed our large clean rooms and comfy beds.

We sincerely thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The Taj is a nice, older hotel (used to be a Ritz), conveniently located on the Boston Commons. You can see all of Boston's highlights on foot from the Taj if you're motivated. We did. It's also nice be able to walk just across the street and enjoy one of America's great city parks.

Service at the Taj is exceptional - front desk, concierge, restaurant, bar, it doesn't matter. They're all top notch. One concierge recommended a Faneuil Hall area restaurant to us for lunch and then spent a good 10 minutes on the phone with my wife when we got lost looking for it. Unfortunately, it was closed when we finally found it. When we got back to the hotel the concierge comped us lunch in the hotel bar - which was very good, by the way. Another concierge got us into a wonderful nearby restaurant - Davio's - on a moment's notice. Everyone else we encountered was similarly professional and involved.

My issues with the Taj are, first, it's old and it shows. It could use some TLC. Second, hallway noise is intrusive and the walls are thin. We sprang for an upper-floor corner suite, and while it was very nice, the moment we went to bed the couple in the adjacent room came back and we could hear them talking, laughing, and using the bathroom. If the Taj ever does renovate, I hope some soundproofing is on the to-do list.

There are more popular areas to stay in Boston, and more popular (and bigger) hotels. But the Taj is a good choice if you're looking for somewhat smaller, much more personal experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DCBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear DCBoomer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston. We were so pleased to learn that you found our staff exceptional, from our front desk, concierge, to our restaurant & bar. Our stellar concierge always strives to go above and beyond to provide a top-notch experience for our guests, and it seems that your experience was a testament to this. Secondly, we were delighted that you appreciated our central location in the heart of Boston and adjacent to the Public Gardens.

We would like to offer our apologies if the patrons in surrounding rooms caused any inconvenience to you during your stay, and we have passed along your comments to our Executive Committee.

We sincerely thank you for sharing your lovely comments and we hope to have the opportunity to offer you the same personalized, gracious service at Taj Boston the next time you visit the city.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel used to be part of Reitz-Carlton chain of fine hotels. Several years ago it was purchased by this current owner which also own Jaguar and Range Rover, I believe they are the largest land owners in India. The Hotel is a bit outdated, the rooms were OK but not great, the bathrooms were terribly small and bathtub wouldn't drain well so you were standing in water the entire time, it took several minutes for the water to drain after you were done showering. I'm only 5'-6" tall weighing 180 pounds and this bathroom was way to small! Another issue with the bathroom was the toilet, it was very short, if were taller or wider I would have had a problem sitting, good thing I've recently lost weight. The team at the hotel were great, very attentive to your needs although you need to place the "Do Not Disturb" sign outside your door because room service comes a knocking at 8:00 AM. The also were not very flexible on the check out time, 12:00 PM your room key becomes inactive. We had Brunch at the roof top dinning area which was great and expensive, the bill for the four us was $375 with the gratuity included. When we went back to our room our key didn't work, the same happened to the couple we were with. We had to wait for several managers to allow us back in our room, not very friendly for a high end hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Michael Z,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your constructive comments as well as your lovely pictures from your stay with us at Taj Boston.

We were delighted to learn that you thought our hotel team was attentive and great, and we were pleased that you had a chance to experience our Rooftop Sunday brunch. We sincerely apologize for the issues that you encountered with your keys following brunch. We do try our best to extend a late check out to our guests based on availability, and our Front Desk is glad to issue new keys with the updated check out time.

We were disappointed to learn that you experienced some glitches with your bathtub draining properly and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Our Engineering Team has been notified of this issue.

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed at Taj Boston for 5 night in June, this was my fourth visit to this grand hotel and once again i was not let down. Quality of the hotel and rooms are very nice and immediately you fell like home. The people working at this place are wonderful and very service minded and the concierge is so helpful with whatever your needs.

I attended a conference and I could say anything negative about Taj it is that they don't save on the air-condition, at times it was really cold.

The location cannot be beaten smack in the center of all, shopping, walk in the gardens, run around the Charles river and great restaurants just in the vicinity, easy walk to the Port/Qunicy market, China town and Beacon Hill what more can one ask for?

I can recommend this place and will personally return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MolterSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear MolterSan,

We sincerely appreciated receiving your recent 5 star review following your stay with us in June, and we thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. We were delighted to learn that you appreciated the quality of our hotel and staff and that you found us to be very service minded and helpful.

We do apologize if you were a bit cold during the conference that you attended. Should you return for a future meeting and encounter this same problem, please don't hesitate to let us know and we will adjust the temperature accordingly.

We thank you again for your lovely comments and your continued patronage at Taj Boston. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Location was good. Bed was hard, room was cold at nights. We asked for a kettle but never got one. After I checkin hotel, I had a look at prices. Altough we booked months ago the prices were 50 dollar per night lower than we pay for the exact same room. Luckly we stayed only 3 nights. Overall an expensive and overrated hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barış Ş
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Unlike its predecessor, the Ritz, the Taj Boston is a bit worn. The room was rather pedestrian given the room rate. However, nothing but praise for the outstanding service from bell service especially. Probably would not stay here again as it just wasn't a great value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanyjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear joanyjim1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay. We were delighted to learn that you found our service to be outstanding, particularly our bell staff. We will be sure to pass your kind comments along.

We were disappointed to learn that you found our hotel to be a bit worn and that you do not believe you will not return. Please know that we are constantly making upgrades and updates to our hotel, including replacing carpeting, upgrading in-room safes and TVs, and upgrading our systems.

We sincerely appreciate your comments, as it is from feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to strive to improve our future guest experiences. We thank you again and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the future.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing