We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorified Holiday Inn (almost)”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We had to change rooms because the Bathroom was not cleaned. It was superficially Cleaned but not inspected by anyone with grey matter between their ears. Running a tissue along the base cove tile it became black in 2 feet. New room was the same. Rooms are very basic for what you pay, extra to see the Park too. Holiday Inns are Better nad 1/2 the price. Why bother??

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank blgreyes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,497 - 2,503 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

Great location, first class furnishings, great staff - but the kitchen can't fry an egg. Brown crunch all over my over easy's in the dining room - cold potato's and sausage as well. Other than a bad breakfast - no complaints.

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank Tom2002a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We just returned from a beautiful weekend at the Taj. I adore the location of this hotel. We brought our two Yorkies and we all loved being across the street from the Public Gardens. The hotel is very pet friendly. The staff were amazing in their attitude and helpfulness. Our room faced the park with a window that opened which was wonderful. The room itself is a good size but it is dated with no modern amenities. The bed was outstanding with a great pillow menu. We were lucky to be at the Taj on a Sunday when they had their roof brunch buffet. It was a very special treat.

Our only complaint was the problem we had with valet parking. The price is $42.00 per day. We arrived at the hotel on Saturday, apx 3:30 PM and had a late checkout on Sunday, 4:00 PM we expected to pay the $42 parking fee. We called for our car at 3:30 on Sunday to check out of the hotel. We then saw our bill and the parking charge of $42 +$19. We questioned the charge and were referred to a small note on the back of the parking check which said that guests checking out after 2 PM would be charged an additional $19 for parking, even though we were not parked for more than 24 hours. To add insult to injury, we then waited more than 1 hour for our car to arrive. This certainly left us with a very negative experience of the Taj Hotel. The Four Seasons is right near by with a wonderful park location.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buzzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We booked the Taj with the idea that it would be a treat and stayed in a standard room over two very wet September days. We made a mistake.

The hotel could not be better located; it has all the amenities; and the staff is professional and very well trained. However, our room was amazingly ordinary- blah and matronly describe it well- and the HVAC system was barely able to keep it cool and quite unable to reduce the humidity below 95%. The Taj also lacks the grand public spaces one associates with 5* grand dames.

When I looked at pictures of rooms on Tripadvisor, I thought that bad lighting, the internet and the photographer had combined to make them look washed out and went ahead with my reservation. A picture is worth 1000 words and the ones here do not do the hotel a disservice.

Our room seemed to have been freshened with new paint and paper, steam cleaning and touch-ups within the last month- so it is not like it was a substandard room waiting for renovation. It was on the smaller side of average with a small but near to perfectly redone marble bathroom. The room was dominated by an over-sized TV armoire (no flat screens here) and sadly the quilted bedspread had not gone in the freshening. Everything, literally everything, was in various shades of a pale, urine yellow. There was only one piece of art, though half a dozen surfaces called for art. The decor lacks a pulled together look, seems to have been designed to impress grandmas and is way short of what you usually get in 4*, never the less 5*, hotels.

If you want to treat yourself and be cosseted in sumptuous quality, go elsewhere. We wish we did.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tom2592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We just got back from a wonderful weekend in Boston. What made it memorable, was our stay at the Taj. The employees were so respectful and thoughtful: attending to our every need. Very dog friendly. We went out to dinner and thought the dog would be fine alone in the room for 2 hours, but when we got back, he was gone. I guess someone complain about his crying and the head of security came and got him. Walked him until we got back. So awesome. The room was huge. The bathroom was beautifully done. You can't beat the location; accross the street from the commons. Been to many hotels, and this was the best experince so far.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank goodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Taj for 4 nights with another couple in a different room. The rooms were very stuffy and hot. The bathroom is VERY small......bed is HORRIBLE.....and the TV was an old tube.

For the money ($500/night) and since we did stay in the Marriott at Copley Place for a few night prior......this hotel is not even worth $200/night. I would definately recommend the Marriott or the Westin at Copley Place.

The only positive I found in the hotel was the location. It is located right by a beautiful garden/park.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sug314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

My husband and I just completed a stay at the Taj Hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We select a Jr. Suite with a separate living room and fireplace. I stay at a many hotels for business travel and also host conferences, especially in the Boston area. I have never had a such a disappointing experience. The room was very expensive -- and not worth it!

The carpets are old and stained. The room was freezing cold and the hotel staff said that the "heat wasn't turned on yet for the season." They brought in a space heater to address the issue (at one point we had to leave the door open to let warm air in until the space heater arrived). The fireplace was also not working -- while the room description includes a "fireplace butler," well the fireplaces aren't available in September. The bathroom smelled of smoke even though we had a "no smoking room."

Room service, which I don't expect to be a fabulous meal, was also substandard. The fish I ordered was incredibly dried out.

To top it all off, our room was directly behind the elevator. We could hear it going up and down all evening. My husband did tell the concierge that this was our 25th wedding anniversary - and this was the room we were given.

They have a reasonable work out room, but some equipment was not in service. On the plus side, they offer good headphones for the guests and elliptical equipment included a TV. The beds in the rooms are also comfortable.

The staff, while relatively pleasant, were not overly helpful and didn't always understand simple requests. I'm sure it's difficult to work in a hotel that is supposed to be "superior" but is sorely lacking.

My advice - stay at the Westin, Marriott, Copley Plaza, if you want to be near the park or BackBay. Do not stay at the Taj.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cjtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,427 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Family Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $193 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing