We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pre christmas week end”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“pre christmas week end”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay in early December. Went to Boston to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The view from our room on the sixteenth floor at night was enchanting as Boston Commons was lit up with christmas lighting. The Hotel was very busy because of numerous social events which added to the warm feeling of the approaching holiday season. The room was a reasonable size but the bathrooms are small. Service was great.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco_polo2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear marco_polo2K,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston. We are honored that you chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary at our hotel! We were delighted that you found your 16th floor view enchanting from the festively lit Boston Commons and that you enjoyed the warm atmosphere of the upcoming holiday season at our hotel.

We thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston again next year for your anniversary!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,359
    718
    281
    142
    71
See reviews for
621
962
129
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Right oppo. the park. Great location, nice hotel room, only disappointment is that for a Indian Hotel chain, they did not have any of the indian food for late night ordering. They had a huge selection of indian food but nothing for late night. So if you are the Director of F&B or the GM reading this review, please take note.

Plus - location, room comfortable, nice amenities, and bed and sleep very comfortable.
cons - check in was extremely slow, only 3 counters, no indian food for late night for an indian chain.

Room Tip: - park facing rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Director of Food and Beverage at Taj Boston, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear adrah,

Thank you for your recent comments following your stay with us at Taj Boston. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our central location, as well as our rooms and amenities. We sincerely appreciate your feedback on our lack of Indian food options on the late night dining menu. This is something that we will take into consideration, and we will review whether there are certain Indian dishes that we may offer late night while keeping the quality consistent with our day service.

We thank you again for taking the time to provide your constructive comments following your stay. It is with comments from guests such as yourself that we may continue to improve our future guests’ experiences. We hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston the next time you are in the city!

Warm Regards,

Kim Lambrechts
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed twice in the past few months, and was very impressed both times. I had stayed in this property many times when it was the Ritz Carlton, and the look and feel in both the public areas and the rooms has maintained that traditional decor. Service was very good, and the location is fantastic, right at the foot of Newbury Street next to the park. What was really surprising however, is what a value it often represents; stayed here during the Head of the Charles race as well as the American League Championship Series and the rate I was able to get was less than half that of most other 5 star hotels in Boston; even significantly less than many 4 star hotels! One strange thing to be aware of is that the hotel has their own Taj reward program, as well as being part of the Leader's Club, but if you book through the Taj site, you are not eligible for Leader's Club benefits, so be sure to use the Leader's Club website!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vnyrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I booked this without much research at short notice and was very pleasantly surprised. I was expecting a pokey room tempered by old school faded charm but got the most fantastic space overlooking Boston Common, creatively furnished with classic antique pieces. A big room with a large desk and an armchair by the window to help with the view. The bathroom featured antique-looking plumbing: nothing surprising there but for once it worked properly!

Other pluses: a great gym, amazing bar and good (if a tad expensive) restaurant featuring a number of Indian specialities. And of course, the location: bang in the middle of everything.

Downside: parking is valet-only ... inevitable in central Boston I guess.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Common - the views are fantastic the higher you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fl1mflam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear fl1mflam,

Thank you kindly for your recent review following your stay with us at Taj Boston. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that you were thoroughly pleased with your beautiful room overlooking Boston Common, as well as the room furnishings, various dining options, and our fantastic central location in the heart of Boston.

We so appreciate that you took the time to provide your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston the next time your travels bring you back to Boston!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

5 of the girlfriends stayed at the beautiful Taj Boston for our annual holiday weekend. We were treated so wonderfully and our room was OUTSTANDING! Megan ensured we had a speedy checkin and really went above our expectations. We were treated so kindly by Jesse and he made us feel so welcome! The room was opulent and the view was amazing. We were all in awe of the accommodations. Every staff member treated us like royalty.

Room Tip: We had a view that overlooked the park and the tree lined Arlington street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FSUdawn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear FSUdawn21,

Thank you so much for your recent 5 star review following your stay with us at Taj Boston! We were delighted to read your comments and were so pleased to hear that Megan, Jesse, and the rest of our staff went above and beyond to make your annual holiday girl's weekend a success. We will be sure to share your lovely feedback with our staff.

We thank you again for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you and your friends back to Taj Boston for next year's holiday getaway!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed one night and upon arrival was given a free upgrade to a corner king room with a view of Commonwealth Avenue.

Pros:
Location - best location possible for tourists and people who love to shop and eat well.
Service - generally four stars but the concierge was five stars for sure.
Spacious - large and spacious especially for Boston.
Soundproofing - relatively quiet.
Toiletries - I never usually comment on this but I really enjoyed the quality of their toiletries. Also the plush slippers and robes were excellent!
Afternoon Tea - definitely not on par with a five star hotel in the UK but still delicious.
Efficient service - everything I asked for was performed promptly.
Excellent value - I reserved at a weekend rate of under $200 and it was worth it.

Cons:
This hotel needs new furniture and furnishings for the rooms. The rooms are tired and the bathroom especially needs a renovation. It doesn't look like it's been refurnished or renovated since the 80-90s. It's a pity because there is so much potential not used here. Also, the other reviews are true, the HVAC system for the guest rooms are not easy to control. I turned the heat off entirely and the room still read 78 degrees while the outside temperature was 20 degrees. Between the heat and the uncomfortable bed I'm not sure which was the true culprit of my poor nights sleep when I usually sleep like a baby when traveling. Also the bed could be dangerous to children or elderly getting up and down because it's so high off the ground. They provide a small ladder but I can see how that would go wrong easily. Also, there were crackers we stepped on when entering the room after check-in.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel at the price I paid for it. Would I pay over $250 while other four star + hotels in the area were less? Probably not!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quechee, Vermont
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We love this hotel. It is Boston.
Right on the Boston Common.
And that's important if you are in Boston. Because the Common is the center of town. With a rich history imbedded in our American history.
Wonderful area that includes old and new.
Exquisite restaurant.
War and enthusiastic staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing