We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel in Boston!”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
225 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel in Boston!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for many decades now, beginning when it was the Ritz-Carlton and on a number of occasions since it became the Taj. The location across from Public Garden at the corner of Newbury & Arlington Streets is convenient to everything and the staff are wonderful. The rooms have a wonderful, genteel and traditional look and feel which could use a little cosmetic sprucing up. I have mostly stayed in rooms that face Newbury Street but was once upgraded to a suite facing the Public Garden which was magical and included a fireplace butler who would come to set a fire with the wood of one's choice. If you can afford it or if you're so lucky to be upgraded, these suites are amazing. The Taj is always my first choice for hotels in Boston but we can't always afford it; happily, if you keep looking, there are sometimes great deals to be found.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ywnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    731
    293
    147
    74
See reviews for
639
978
131
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

The Taj has a very good location in the back bay, right on Newbury St. Everything feels expensive and is very polished- exactly what you would expect in a Taj.

I stayed only one night, arriving late and leaving early for a red eye from Logan, so didn't have a chance to use all the services offered. The room (park view) was very comfortable. Linen was very good quality. The room was particularly big and it felt like there was lots of wasted space. Particularly when the bathroom was so small.

The bathroom was beautifully appointed, but teeny. When sitting on the toilet my elbows banged off the sink. When lying in the bath my feet could sit almost flat on the opposite wall (and I am not tall). If they took a couple of feet off the bedroom the bathroom could be so much better and you would not miss the space from the bedroom. Having said that, the accessories were very good. Towels were frette and toiletries were molten brown (shampoo, shower gel, hair conditioner and body lotion).

Others have commented on the ridiculous charges for wifi and I echo that.

Overall a comfortable stay and I would both recommend and return, but I would investigate room options to see if others had a better distribution of space.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irishtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel was my first stay at this hotel. The hotel has a old school feel to it. The rooms are large and mine had a great view of Boston Commons. As a hospitality professional myself I have to say the staff have a great knowledge of the city and things to do. I can not wait for my next trip to Boston so I can return to the Taj.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Ian M,

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us! We were so pleased to learn that you had a wonderful first stay with us, and that you found our staff very knowledgeable, and that you enjoyed your large room overlooking the Public Garden.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston the next time you return to the city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Level Contributor
906 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a landmark and classically furnished. The check in is efficient. My room 637 was huge and overlooking the park. The toiletries are good (milton brown), and the only thing missing in the room are a few extra plugs for charging your electronic devices. It's true that internet charged for daily fee is outdated, specially when you are already paying a couple of hundred dollars per stay. Excellent breakfast, not even to expensive being where you are.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gilardoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A wonderful old style hotel, with large rooms, and huge bathrooms. The beds were very high and needed footstools to climb onto ! This added to the charm of the hotel. The staff were very helpful an courteous. Very comfortable 3 day stays, definitely to be repeated. I think the icing on the cake was the absolutely fantastic clam chowder served in the restaurant. The finest soup I have ever tasted!

Room Tip: Take a room facing the garden, the view is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Surajit,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay with us at Taj Boston! We were delighted to read your feedback and were so pleased that you appreciated our hotel, staff, and dining options. We are glad that you had a chance to enjoy the clam chowder in The Cafe and that you found it so tasty! We will certainly pass on your compliments to our chef.

Thank you again for reviewing your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston the next time your travels bring you to the city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Taj Boston wins points for its central location and attentive service. We had lunch in the restaurant (interesting India dishes), drinks in the bar and room service as well, all to a high standard. The desk staff were lovely, the concierge team very helpful and the bellman an early morning star. My only gripe is that you had to pay extra for internet access which is unusual in my experience. The charge was per device per day so for two travelers to connect their phone and laptop the charge would be an extra $40/ day or an extra 17% on the base room rate. Otherwise a fantastic stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaLaVie_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear SeaLaVie_63,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston. We were pleased to learn that you found our restaurants, bar and room service to all be of high standard, and that you were pleased with our front desk, concierge, and bellman staff.

We appreciate your comments regarding our Wifi and would like you to know that we are in the process of upgrading our system in order to offer free Wifi in the near future. It is from guest comments such as yours that we were able to make this change to continue to exceed our guest experiences.

We thank you again for providing your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston the next time your travels bring you to our city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

If you are looking for a refined, charming hotel near some of the most interesting attractions Boston has to offer, the Taj Hotel fits the bill. Years ago, it was the Ritz Carlton, and I spent many memorable evenings in this lovely building, enjoying private parties in the ballroom and the smaller private rooms and celebrating New Year's Eve in the charming dining room which overlooks the Public Garden. Today, the hotel retains much of the charm of that era and provides truly excellent, friendly service.

Recently, I booked a double room through an Internet agency, and called ahead to request two beds as my son and I were treating ourselves to a night in Boston to see Elton John at TD Garden. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by the doorman, and escorted to the front desk, where a charming young woman upgraded us to a lovely, large room overlooking Commonwealth Avenue. We had a peek of the Public Garden from our boxed bay window, which actually opened to let in fresh air.

Everything about the room was outstanding, from the huge bathroom with double sinks and a separate shower/toilet area, which provided the convenience of a wall telephone, to our long entry hall, which provided a buffer from any noise in the hallway and contained an enormous closet with a safe. The beds were quite comfortable, although we would have appreciated a top sheet to augment the covered duvet. Pillows were lovely and the bed linens of excellent quality and ironed perfectly. This kind of attention to detail is lacking in most hotels, and perhaps not noticed by many guests. When we returned from our night out, we found that turndown service included bottled water set out beside our beds and other small niceties.

I highly recommend the Taj in Boston and thank the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. If you would like to see what traditional Boston is all about, this hotel will provide an excellent introduction.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Route6A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Route6A,

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston! We were so pleased to learn that you found that our hotel has retained the charm and excellent, friendly service from the Ritz-Carlton days. Our staff take great pride in providing the highest level of service possible, and we are delighted that you were appreciative of this. We were also very happy to learn that you found the room and amenities, as well as our attention to detail outstanding.

We thank you again for taking the time to provide your kind comments, and we look forward to extending another warm Taj Boston welcome to you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,265 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing