We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“1 night stay at the Taj” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1 night stay at the Taj”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely older hotel, completely renovated and a great location in Boston. This is strictly a personal preference but I like to have a coffee maker in my room. I am a very early riser before room service or the restaurant are available. Loved the view from my room and the easy stroll across the street to the Boston public gardens. I did meet a colleague at the bar for a drink and the atmosphere was cozy and the bartender attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank advantage_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    565
    221
    112
    57
See reviews for
466
717
106
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

When we arrived (during the evening, tired after a long flight) we had to wait some while for the staff to check us in plus they gave us a key to a wrong room - a room that was already occupied! So we were a bit annoyed for the trouble it gave us. Otherwise the hotel was very nice, comfortable and the location is perfect. We thought that the hotel lived up to our 5 star standards, taking into consideration that the hotel has a bit of an old style.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudbjorg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Gudbjorg T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at Taj Boston! We would like to again offer our apologies for any inconvenience that you experienced due to the mishap during check-in. Otherwise, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the old-world charm of our hotel, and that it lived up to your 5 star standards.

We appreciated receiving your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston the next time your travels bring you back to Boston!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A curious hotel, currently owned by Taj, a subsidiary of the Indian Tata group. This grand old hotel was for decades the Boston Ritz Carlton, before a replacement Ritz was built and Taj purchased the building. This history is important, because it helps to explain what works, and doesn't with this hotel.

Pro: a grand building, great location. Price to room ratio is excellent- comparable luxury hotels are inevitably 40-50 percent more than he Taj by night. The staff are warm, personable and helpful. I'm sure than many have been here for decades. Rooms are clean, great sheets

Cons: nothing seems to have changed here since the Ritz moved out seven years ago. The air conditioning is old, creaky and inefficient. The light switches are a hodge-podge of different styles and brands. Heavy ornate gold fixtures, brass fireplaces, very faded and dated furniture, cramped bathrooms. Staying at the Taj is like visiting a rich, eccentric old aunt with a fancy penthouse in a dusty old building on the upper east side. Nothing wrong per se, but out of fashion.

Not sure I would stay here again, though the price was very fair. This place is in significant need of a major renovation and capital infusion.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gate95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there during our honeymoon.

Plus:
The location is fantastic: just in front of the park and city center.
I suggest to visit Beacon Hill and have a pizza at Toscano restaurant. It seems to stay in London!
Breakfast is very good and the building also nice and historic.
French room bar is very nice for a drink after dinner!
Staff is really kind, in particular Concierge.

Minus:
Parking cost 45$/day,
Rooms:
Unfortunately before booking we specified we were in honeymoon but they gave us a small and lateral room at 6th floor.
We asked inmediately for an upgrade.
The staff was very collaborative but i payed 120$ more for this.

Conclusion:
I espected more from a 5 stars in terms of care and excellent room quality, in particular vs honeymooners. It's really a missing for a high level hotel located in such an excellent place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kono1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear kono1,

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us at Taj Boston. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location and that you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings including our breakfast and acclaimed Bar. We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff, especially our knowledgeable concierge!

We were disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with the room that you initially booked, but we are pleased to hear that our front desk staff was able to accommodate an upgrade for you, at a small price.

We thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel used to be the Ritz and still has the old style in its public rooms. The beds were remarkably comfortable. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in an attractive part of central Boston right across from the Public Garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpierce64
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I arrived late and was treated very well. The room was a little dated but elegant, comfortable and clean. The hotel also charges for internet which in this day and age I don't agree with but otherwise I have no complaints. The staff was also very polite and helpful. I would absolutely return on my next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpierce64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

When I read the negative reviews about the Taj Boston, I was apprehensive that I was about to start our vacation there. Well, we just spent 2 nights there and those reviews could not have been more wrong. We fell in love with the Taj from when we arrived to when we left. We had a corner room with 2 wonderful views. Hotel is strategically located across from the Boston Public Gardens, dining, transportation, and many sights. The service was great from the curb on. Housekeeping even gives you slippers along with chocolates and water when they do your nightly bed turndown. We really felt pampered. Well worth the price. We'll definitely be going back next time we're in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_and_Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Frank_and_Valerie,

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent stay at Taj Boston. We could not be happier that you gave us a chance, despite some mixed reviews that you may have found online. We are even more delighted that you felt pampered and absolutely loved everything about your Taj experience from start to finish, from our ideal location to our turn down service.

We sincerely thank you again for taking the time to share your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston the next time your travels bring you back to Boston!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#25 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing