We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, service was not that good”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Amazing location, room is quite big, however the carpets need an upgrade. Bathroom is very small.
Luggage needed 2 hours to come up to the room, but overall a good experience. Especially the location is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amenhotep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear amenhotep,

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston. We were pleased that you and your family had an overall positive experience, and that you especially enjoyed our location and rooms.

We do apologize for the delay in your luggage being delivered to your room, and we have shared your comments with our Front Office staff.

We thank you again for taking the time to review your stay and we hope that you choose to stay with us again at Taj Boston the next time your travels bring you to our city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,943 - 1,949 of 2,847 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

On a quick trip to Boston, a friend and I spent one night at The Taj on Arlington Street. The room was gorgeous and overlooking the Boston Public Gardens. Beds were extremely comfortable and bathroom clean and beautifu.

We had a bite to eat down at the bar and their special artisan flatbread of the day was awesome...as was the bartender Eddie Foster. Drop in and say hello to him.

Check in and out was a breeze, got a great discounted deal from Expedia and the location was terrific.

Only con...they need to really steam clean the rug in the room or replace it due to stains.

I'd def stay again.

Room Tip: 808 had a great view of the Boston Public Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear nycscribe,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your lovely comments following your recent stay at Taj Boston.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your beautiful view overlooking the Public Gardens and that you appreciated our room accommodations including the comfortable beds, decor and bathroom. Further, we were pleased to hear that you had a chance to sample our tasty artisan flatbreads at The Bar and we will be sure to pass along your kind comments to Eddie!

We thank you for your note regarding the carpet in your room and we have passed this information along to our Engineering and Housekeeping departments.

We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to provide your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This used to be the Ritz before they built the new one across the park, and it is still an excellent property with the best location in Boston. Our room was large, overlooking Newberry St and had excellent furnishings, and linens.Very comfortable bed, good light blocking and minimal sound intrusion. Public Gardens as your front yard and the Arlington "T" station steps away. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carldaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just stayed here on a business trip and had a wonderful time. Best location in Boston. Back Bay, Public Garden accross street. Can't ask for much more!
I used to visit this hotel when it was the Ritz Carlton and it is great to see that Taj Hotels has done a great job managing the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVE64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear DVE64,

Thank you so much for your kind review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston! We were delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful experience during your recent business trip. We believe that we have the absolute best location in the city, we were pleased to hear that you agree.

We thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope that the next time your travels, business or pleasure, bring you back to Boston, that you will choose to stay with us again at Taj Boston.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Special thanks to Mehmet (Director of Guest Services), James (the bell capt) other bell staff and All Doorman very friendly. Front office staff great welcoming. 5 Diamond Service. I will return to this hotel every time I return to Boston.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYChotellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed on an overnight and had a lovely time. Found the rates to be reasonable given the outstanding location of the hotel. Our king size bedroom was quite large by city standards and the hotel has a historic feel. All staff members I encountered were lovely and helpful. Only down side is that I felt the air conditioning in our room was not working very well and I woke up in the middle of the night quite warm, but nothing terrible. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bos2nGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family recently stayed 5 nights in the Taj Boston while on vacation – a beautiful hotel with helpful and friendly staff – from the front desk, to concierge, to housekeeping. Great location too, with Boston Common across the street, wonderful shopping and great restaurants all within walking distance.

There were 5 of us (kids ages 8, 16 & 19). James, Leonardo and the concierge team were extremely helpful in suggesting activities that would appeal to the whole family. They certainly did look after us!

One suggestion would be in regards to internet access. The Taj Boston has a rather stiff daily fee for access and in such a hotel, this definitely surprised us. Maybe management should relook at such policy?

Overall, an wonderful hotel. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Pam G,

Thank you so much for your kind review following your August stay with us at the Taj Boston! We were thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Taj experience, ranging from our front desk, concierge, and housekeeping. We were also very happy to hear that our knowledgeable concierge was able to recommend Boston activities that suited everyone!

We have also noted your comment regarding internet access, and have shared your comments with our Executive team.

We thank you again for taking the time to share your positive thoughts. We hope to extend a warm welcome again to you and your family at Taj Boston in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,386 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,353 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $199 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing