We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience-No Customer Service-Do Not Book UR Wedding here!”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I refer couples to this hotel ALL THE TIME for weddings and functions. So I decided to try it out for a personal weekend outing. We booked this evening to stay at the Taj, meet friends for dinner and attend the Symphony. We arrived at 4:55 pm and walked into the lobby. A bus had just unloaded a full load of passengers. There was however, just one line to service the tour group and other Taj customers. We asked if there was another desk to service individuals not associated with the tour group. We explained our pending dinner reservations and theater tickets. They did NOTHING! We waited 45 minutes behind the tour bus group, were late for dinner and also late for the show. There was no apology for the inconvenience, no complimentary transport to dinner or the theatre, no flowers or champagne sent to our room, no complimentary breakfast invitation, NOTHING! Tough Luck! To be frank, we should all expect better from the Taj. I will never stay here again. As a priest in Massachusetts, I will NEVER refer parties to the Taj for weddings or other functions ever again.

Note: There were multiple attendants at every doorway, but only one person checking people in or out. The gilded doors were dirty and unpolished. The room was adequate--nothing special. Nice view. But it does not compensate for the other inconveniences.

Stay Away!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capecodrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Capecodrev,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your experience at the Taj Boston. First of all, we sincerely appreciate that you have referred couples to our hotel for weddings and functions and we would love for you to be able to do so again in the future. We are incredibly disappointed that the experience that you had was not in any way indicative of the level of service and hospitality that we strive to provide here at the Taj Boston, and for this we sincerely apologize.

Please know that we take guest reviews very seriously, as these comments are crucial for us to continue improving our services and accommodations. Though our front desk staff may have been inundated at check-in with the tour group ahead of you, every effort should have been made to ensure that you would be on time for your dinner reservations and theater show.

We are grateful that you took the time to reach out to us, and should you wish to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me at taj.boston@tajhotels.com.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 2,847 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here over a weekend for a conference. I had booked the hotel through Hotwire and when I went to check Tripadvisor after the booking was finalized, I got a bit worried by the negative reviews.
Actually, however, my experience was completely positive. Yes, I know, there is no coffee maker in the room, but every morning there is free coffee (or tea) in the lobby (this seems to be a common practice in Boston hotels, by the way).
My room was clean, spacious, quiet; the bed was comfortable. The location is perfect, just across the park, the hotel itself is very nice. The staff was professional and friendly.
The reason why I am giving the hotel 4 and not 5 stars is that there is no free internet access, something that has become more and more necessary to many of us nowadays.
Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kaspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear kaspark,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Taj Boston! We were delighted to learn that you had a had a lovely experience and that you enjoyed your spacious room and comfortable bed, as well as our perfect location across from the park.

We thank you again for your kind review and we hope that you choose to stay with us at the Taj again the next time your business travels bring you to Boston!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location, rooms, restaurants all are outstanding. The staff and checking was excellent. The size of rooms are very spacious and the hotel is vey near to local rain station Arlington. The main shopping area and activities are within hotel vicinity. If somebody visiting Boston for MiT or Harvard then this hotel is not a proper place to stay and to spend extra money. In that case one should opt hotels near that localities which are much cheaper with best of the services and one can visit for a day to this area. They have free wifi in hotel. The breakfast is included but a catch is if you take breakfast in their 2 nd floor restaurant then you can have as much you want to eat without any charges with limited variety of food or one can opt to eat in their main restaurant at ground floor which is limited to $21 worth of food any extra shall have to be paid extra.

Room Tip: Book directly with hotel and avoid Internet sites to book because hotel gives rooms leftover with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARRYGOYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel. Great location, great service. Agree with other reviwers that hotel is older however I did not feel that was a problem on the contrary had lots of charm. Rooms / surroundings clean and no notice from adjacent rooms/hall way. Turndown service at night.
Also used the conference facilities however the AC is rediculous it was freezing cold all days and people had to go get jackets.
Breakfast in restaurant was good (bit expensive) - can recommend the omelet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerohandy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Location Location Location... that is what is going for this hotel. Was there for 4 nights on business and did not get my usual Intercontinental due to some conference and since the weather was nice, I thought a walk through the park to work would be a good way to start the day - and it was!

The rooms are a bit (bit) tired! and the bathrooms small but that is me being very picky. Nice bar too.

During the summer months I will look to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the former Ritz-Carlton perfectly situated across from the Public Garden and at the base of fashionable Newbury Street in the heart of the Back Bay. It is also one block from the Green Line's Arlington Station so it is an ideal place to stay for business or leisure. The service is very good as are the concierges with the caveat that there was often a line of people waiting their assistance.

Our rooms were nice and large with sweeping views of the Back Bay. While the lobbies, hallways and bathrooms have been renovated, the faux antique furniture in our room was a little bit scuffed and dinged.

I did not have a chance to try the restaurant or bar in the hotel as there is so much to choose from right outside the front door. Valet parking is a steep $44 a day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gearhead85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Gearhead85,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us at the Taj Boston! We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our prime location, providing easy access to Newbury Street, the Public Garden and Back Bay. Further, we are pleased that you appreciated our knowledgeable concierge staff, and that you loved your large room with sweeping views of the Back Bay.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to review your stay and we hope to host you again at the Taj Boston the next time your travels bring you to our city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Located in the heart of the city. Close to the T. Overlooks beautiful boston commons. Staff is top of the line. Accommodated late check out. Rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. Nice bathrooms!

The price is consistent with a five star hotel. The hotel provides 5 star service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrtfdkb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,386 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,353 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $199 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing