We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous location at a fair price”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Taj is a very nice hotel: the location is perfect - right on the commons and 50yds from the Arlington T - the staff was great - and while I would rank this a tad below the 4seasons the $ is half. My only complaints (1) don't have a sign in the lobby for the great sunday rooftop brunch when this is not offered in the winter and (2) for a hotel of this quality, internet should be included in the rate. Really, just add it to the base price, it is ridiculous be be asked for $10/day for internet on top of the base.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gngaulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,131 - 2,137 of 2,897 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

location luxury and a deal what else could you want . stayed two nits great rate and 100 dollar credit credit for rest or room service ohh yeaa nice so book direct ok. From abe greeting us to james getting a hard to get res to check in a great experince all @. skating at the frog pond 10min walk , blue man group at nite 10 min walk great rest all @.Newbury st shoping is fantastic and all lite up at nite a must see at winter time . the hotel is just great nice comfortable rooms great view of the park also lite up at nite and they are all about service and it just feels good to be treated so nice great job to all at the taj.

Room Tip: breakfast at the paramont is fun 10 min walk unique place cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamasGreenfieldMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

gorgeous old school hotel in the center of boston - so close to everything and so easy to get around
the staff were super helpful and everyone was lovely - lovely big room full of light
the bar was lovely and the staff great

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequenttravelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Visited Boston during the weekend before Christmas 2012. The location of this hotel is ideal, as it overlooks the park and sits at the very beginning of Newbury Street, within walking distance to Fanueil Hall and the financial district. We stayed in room 1608, a deluxe park view room with a king size bed. Although the bathroom was small, the room was spacious overall with a comfortable bed. It's clean and offers wonderful views of the public gardens and the Boston skyline. This is an older building so the walls of the hotel are thin, and of course we had a drunk couple bickering back and forth in the room next to us (allegedly he lied to her and she spent the better part of the night attempting to understand why he'd do such a thing). The fitness center is superb and the overall feel of the property is old world luxury. Service is top notch. The hotel offers valet parking for about $45, which I recommend because Boston is a parking nightmare. Yes there are some stains dispersed throughout hotel carpeting, and this aspect is probably a year or two away from needing a complete overhaul. Unfortunately the elegant and sophisticated feeling hotel bar was packed both days we were in Boston, so we were never able to get a seat. I believe rates are significantly cheaper here in the winter. Another excellent option in a city full of them.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joseph8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Have to say I did not always feel this way about the Taj in Boston. There was a time 2 years ago where I was really disappointed in the service of the front desk and the valet staff. It seems the service has undergone a transformation because at every turn I was impressed by the kindness and unsolicited generosity of the staff. The hotel has never been a question, great history and location...history...awesome bed linens and clean! Bravo for whatever happened to improve the service level.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel has a terrific location in Boston.. Our room was very nice, and we were extremely pleased with it. The concierge made two recommendations for dinner and made the reservations for us- great choices! The only negative was that the bellmen were not "on the ball". We had to hail our own cab as they were too busy visiting. We had just come from a klimpton hotel in San Francisco, and they had excellent bellmen!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank nellie195105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you are an afficianado of early 1900's hotels, the old Ritz in Boston is for you. The lobby, elevators, hallways and our room were authentic and beautiful. Our room was like a jewel box. Super location for shopping and sightseeing. A word of caution: there is a construction site across Newbury Street. If you want to sleep in, ask for a different location.

Room Tip: Avoid Newbury Street side if you want to sleep late due to construction across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,467 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 86 in Boston
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,767 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#36 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $208 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing