We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a terrific location in Boston.. Our room was very nice, and we were extremely pleased with it. The concierge made two recommendations for dinner and made the reservations for us- great choices! The only negative was that the bellmen were not "on the ball". We had to hail our own cab as they were too busy visiting. We had just come from a klimpton hotel in San Francisco, and they had excellent bellmen!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nellie195105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    775
    313
    154
    82
See reviews for
682
1,025
136
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you are an afficianado of early 1900's hotels, the old Ritz in Boston is for you. The lobby, elevators, hallways and our room were authentic and beautiful. Our room was like a jewel box. Super location for shopping and sightseeing. A word of caution: there is a construction site across Newbury Street. If you want to sleep in, ask for a different location.

Room Tip: Avoid Newbury Street side if you want to sleep late due to construction across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We spent our 5th anniversary night at the Taj. The room, the service, the staff were perfection. We had a king room on the 7th floor overlooking Newberry Street. Rack rate $790. But with a 2 week plus advance reservation we scored the room for $237 including tax. Parking was $42 extra but worth it. Highly recommend the Taj and can't wait to return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkshirebob59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

While we live in the Boston area , we have my large visiting family stay at the Taj when they are in town. Makes a great launch pad for us to gather and have shopping trips etc. Have always had a good experience. During the holidays we also gather the "girls" big and small for holiday high tea. A lovely experience all around. I highly recommend using the Taj as a spare room for visiting family. Perfect location at the base of the public garden and Newbury. Nice staff and large comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Check their promotion page for interesting deals and packages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

When this hotel was the Ritz Carlton--the original Ritz Carlton that every current Ritz Carlton is patterned after--it was in my opinion the finest hotel in America. Then the Ritz Carlton chain went Hollywood on us, sold this hotel and franchised all the current locations, now becoming a branch of Marriott.
However, the Taj people bought the mothership, and have kept it as it was. Even the doormen and bell staff are the same. The only thing that has changed on the surface is that the elevators no longer have elevator men, but are automated.
The rooms, decor, ambiance are all the same, just updated so that they seem pretty fresh. The hospitality that made the Ritz Carlton famous is still there--too bad that all the latter day copycats overlay the Boston simplicity of a "hello" with all that saccharine drip when they talk to you--they should all go back to the Taj for schooling.
Rooms are quite nice, amenities all work, no broken plumbing, broken internet, or tardy room service. Beds are really comfortable, clean, and fresh. Plenty of towels, supplies, and heat.
No complaints.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcasepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

The Taj Boston is the perfect hotel for either business or leisure stay. Walking distance to some of the best restaurants n shops in town. The service is wonderful. Staff is very professional, well trained,helpful and friendly. The Bar is a fabulous place to meet for cocktails.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaPinotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Gorgeous historic hotel right on Boston Common. As for a park view room and watch the swan boats glide by. In winter, definitely book a room with a fireplace. While some can be a bit tired, the cozy crackle of the fire will more than make up for it. It is in the center of Boston but there is no worry about driving. Very easy to navigate arrival and departure from I-90. It is surrounded by great boutiques and restaurants. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Boston--and I have stayed at all the top properties.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,324 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
1,672 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing