We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would stay here again!”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Staff was welcoming, friendly, and pet-friendly! I brought my puppy, they were very accommodating and gave me a wonderful large, clean room with a comfortable bed and even had a dog bed sent up. Hotel is in a great safe location.
The only complaint I have is that I couldn't change the temperature in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajBostonManagement, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Veg28,

We would like to thank you for staying at Taj Boston on your recent trip, and greatly appreciate your kind review. We take great pride in our friendly staff, many of whom have been at this hotel for decades. Our pet-friendly amenities is a great feature for dog owners, especially the dog beds if you can even get them out of your own comfortable bed! Thank you for your feedback regarding the thermostat in your room, I will forward this issue to our engineering department to look into.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston in the future, and next time stop by and say hello to our friendly doorman who always have dog treats on hand!

Kindest Regard,

Taj Boston Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,291 - 2,297 of 2,897 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

I always stay at the Boston Park Plaza down the street but this year for the same money received the same price for the TAJ. What a wonderful hotel, wonderful staff, wonderful service.
I will never go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get park view if possible it's lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaorysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajBostonManagement, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Hello Annaorysia,

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Taj Boston. We are so thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the Best,

Taj Boston Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed here when it was the Ritz. I was in a fireplace suite. The service was great a bit staid though. Now, Taj took it over and wow, unpretentious class. We were in a premium room which was spacious and clean as a whistle. The furniture was appointed well. Michael at the front desk worked his magic because he wanted to and it is what he does best Lynn was also excellent. Everyone was wonderful and genuinely smiling! Only wrinkle was the phone help. Whether I called to get the shoes shined or a bottle of champagne, the people on the receiving line were not up to par with the face to face help.
The restaurant was quite good.Try the crabcake benedict or the Madame sandwich. The wait staff and managers were fab!
Location, best in Boston. You are on the corner of Newbury and Arlington. You are across the street from the park. We will try to stay no where else when we visit Boston.

Room Tip: Premium room had a glimpse of the park , large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneLmichele1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajBostonManagement, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear oneLmichele1111,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments and for staying at Taj Boston! We have worked hard to preserve the rich history of the Hotel, while striving for a level of luxury that loyal Taj guests have come to know and love.

We value your business and appreciate your comments, as it is the best way for us to address any issues and continue to provide memorable experiences to all of our guests. I will be sure to address these issues that you experienced over the telephone, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,
Taj Boston Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. If you have the need to feel pampered and important this is the place to go. We stayed in a Fireplace Suite where you are actually given a menu to choose the type of wood you prefer at no cost. Located at the corner of Arlington and Newbury streets you are surrounded by stores such as Hermes, Valentino and Georgio Armani. Great restaurants on Newbury. The bar at the hotel is cozy with a large fireplace. We can't wait to book our next visit. Book two nights an get the third night free.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobnkathye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajBostonManagement, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Bobnkathye,

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Taj Boston for your visit. Our outstanding location next to the city's best shopping and restaurants is a favorite among many of our guests. We want each of our guests to experience the legendary Taj hospitality, and your positive feedback is one of the reasons why we strive to give great experiences to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Taj Boston Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, on the corner of Newbury Street and Arlington...great shopping and dining. We were able to check in at around 10:30 am, so that was nice. The hotel itself is fine. Our room was a little small and the bathroom was very small. Shower had incredible hot water with heavy pressure, which I like. Molton Brown bath products. The sheets are Frette, wonderful, I think I am going to order a set. The bed was very comfortable. My husband hates down pillows, I thought these down pillows were maybe the best ones I have ever slept on. The hotel is pretty quiet, not much going on. It is hard to compare hotels in a city when you have only been to one hotel so far but the price was great at a little over $200 for what the hotel offers. We did not eat in the restaurants, but the dining room looked cozy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This was our second stay at the Taj. First you have to remember that once the location of Boston's finest is no longer the Ritz Carlton and they struggle maintain the old expectation. We checked in 2 hours early and our room was not ready but they would put a rush on it. Finally 1 1/2 hours later we were give an alternative room which was an upgrade. It was very nice overlooking the common. The room price was reasonable and certainly less than the Ritz days BUT how can any hotel in this day and age charge for internet service? Two computers = two charges ... unbelieveable and irritating.

You cannot beat the location. This hotel is probably the best value in Boston. The Ritz was (is) special and unusual, but get over it this is the Taj and all things considered a very good hotel.

We will return and if the internet is free we'll give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kentito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We have stayed here before. Compared to a few years back the place seemed upgraded and improved in many ways. This time we were only here for one night but the stay was perfect. Our view was magnificent and the service here was fabulous. The room was perfectly clean. The staff could not have been nicer and more friendly and welcoming. The location of this hotel cannot be beat. I would strongly recommend a stay here for anyone wanting a calm lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park across the street. It is beautiful both night and day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgirltoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,467 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 86 in Boston
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,767 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Family Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $208 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing