We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel - great concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK hotel - great concierge”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for a few nights with my father on a sightseeing trip.
Overall the hotel was fine - a great location for sightseeing. My main concern was that the renovation appears to have been done slightly on the cheap. The bulky air-conditioning unit in the room was noisy and appeared old. Whilst I'm sure replacing to a more modern air-con system is expensive it did let the room down.

On a positive note, the concierge (whose name I wrote down but managed to lose on the way home) was fantastic. His range of recommendations on 2 nights gave us plenty of choice and both places we selected were spot on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK-James72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,949
    1,225
    407
    113
    70
See reviews for
1,029
1,188
123
695
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our whole family enjoyed this place. It was convenient to get around the city, and had great amenities and employees. It's a quick walk to Boston Common and about 5-10 minutes to two different T stations.

At check-in the adults in our group were given a glass of champagne. We arrived around 1:00 p.m. and they had a room ready, which we appreciated. The front desk staff were helpful if my husband was scouting out directions or seeking advice on restaurants.

The room was decent-sized with two queen beds. Some reviews mention the beds are Sleep Number; however, I found the bed too firm for my taste, and I never did see a control of any kind so I could change it. The bathroom was small, but functional, and had lots of nice amenities that many other hotels don't have such as q-tips, cotton balls, and a lighted make-up mirror. The room also had a balcony and free wifi. The only thing our room lacked was a small fridge, but I think some rooms have them according to the hotel website. The safe was large enough to hold our ipad, kindles, etc. but couldn't fit a laptop. Another thing we liked about the room was the moveable reading lights on the side of the bed.

We had one breakfast and also a light meal at Rustic, which is attached to the hotel. The service was fine, but the food was just OK. As far as restaurants in the immediate area, there is a Legal Seafoods which we ate at and wouldn't recommend. There is also a California Pizza Kitchen and Dunkin Donuts on the next block. There is also a 7-11 nearby to get waters and snacks to keep in the room.

The kids used the pool once and enjoyed it, even though they reported it was pretty cold. Overall, we would stay here again if visiting Boston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wink123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Walking distance to many restaurants and also stop #19 for the trolley. My only complaint about the hotel was the room service. We tried ordering a bottle of wine one night and placed our order via phone with the room service attendant. She called back 10 minutes later asking what wine we wanted again. She then called back 10 minutes later saying they were out of the wine we wanted. By the end of our conversation, we cancelled our bottle as it wasn't worth the 30 minute wait. The next night, we attempted again, but with a different bottle of wine. Still took 30 minutes to bring up to our room and the pumpkin cheesecake tasted nothing like pumpkin. I would recommend stopping at a convenience store or grocery store if you will be needing any snacks into the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My colleague and I were greeted at check in with a glass of champagne (as were all the other guests). The rooms were terrific, hip, and comfortable. The staff, from check in to housekeeping, were friendly and helpful. The location is terrific with great restaurants around the corner and across the street. I look forward to my next trip to Boston and my stay at The Revere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni V, Guest Relations Manager at Revere Hotel Boston Common, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Ann O, thank you so much for your 5 Star Review! We love to read about how much our guests have enjoyed their time with us! I welcome you back to the Revere Hotel soon! Please feel free to contact me directly with any special requests you may have! It will be my pleasure to assist!

Warm Regards,

Jenni Vingi
VIP & Audience Relations Manager
jvingi@reverehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very modern and clean. The roof terrace and pool is very pleasant as well, there is a bar and you are able to get some light snacks there too, whilst looking over into back bay. The only slight ache I had was that the pool was indoors. Nethertheless, the doors opened wide and it is covered by glass, so it doesn't have that indoor pool feel. The rooms are absolutely huge! And the balconies offer fantastic views. I got a fantastic nights sleep in the plush large bed. The television has many channels, so you are not short of entertainment. There is a BBC service so I was not deprived! The coffee machine makes very nice coffee and the room comes with a desk and a chez longue chair. There was also an iPod dock which would have been fantastic if I still had my old iPhone with the 30 pin connector, but it wouldn't work with my iPhone 5's lightning connector. However it is helpful if you oh brought one adapter (if you are not from the US) and you can charge your devices at the same time. The location is good too, near the park and swan lake. It is also near Legal Seafoods which is and absolutely amazing seafood restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyer19348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni V, Guest Relations Manager at Revere Hotel Boston Common, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Will H, thank you so much for your review! We hope you return soon! In regards to your iPhone 5 charging station; we understand technology is always changing and we pride ourselves with our ability to anticipate our guests needs. So in addition to each guest room having an iHome compatible with the iPhone 4/4S, our Front Desk conveniently has an assortment of chargers and adapters available to purchase (to use during their travel and to take home after) if a guest has an iPhone 5 or any other type of cellular device! Again thank you so much for your review and hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Jenni Vingi
VIP & Audience Relations Manager
jvingi@reverehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here from Fri to Sat and found the rate to be reasonable. The hotel itself is fairly modern and the location is center to everything. Tons of bars and clubs downstairs if you are into that. All rooms had balconies and we were lucky eenough to get the 18th floor - the view was great. The room is not huge but enough space for two couples. The balcony made up for it. Some negatives: horrible water pressure in the shower, no fridge in the room, and the AC was broken. Another negative, hotel guests still have to pay a daily rate for parking. Which in my opinion should be included in the room price. There is also no complimentary breakfast. But you do get a glass of champagne when checking in. awesome local bar nearby - Intemission. PJ the bartender is great and the food is delish.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel was to be the last on a two and half week tour around New York New England and Canada.We deliberately choose what we hoped would be a good hotel as we knew we had red eye flights home. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived at 2.30 so we went for a walk and came back at three. we were travelling with friends whose rooms were ready but ours still wasn't. we sat for over an hour waiting whilst other clients were given champagne and shown to their rooms. Eventually my husband asked and found our rooms were ready but no one had told us. We were not offered an apology or the champagne! After an hour and shower I went and spoke to the Concierge about the service we had received., He was mortified and within an hour had come and given us complementary coupons for breakfast which was very good.The hotel itself looks great and has lovely bathrooms with very good toiletries and superb beds. There is an iphone dock which has great sound. If there had been no trouble with the check in this would have been a five star review. The answer is, I expect, to see the concierge the minute something goes wrong rather than waiting. Thank you Richard for rescuing the situation for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaStraaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
1,634 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,899 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 83 in Boston
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Revere Hotel Boston Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revere Hotel Boston Common

Property: Revere Hotel Boston Common
Address: 200 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-5442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Revere Hotel Boston Common 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! Discover a destination that redefines luxury and puts its own spin on the Boston experience. Just a stone's throw away from the Commons, our boutique hotel takes inspiration from the city's rich history while reveling in the unpredictable. Each space at Revere complements the next, allowing you to create your own unique and original Boston experience. Our spacious guestrooms will be your hub from which to experience the rest of Revere. Stage a groundbreaking production in one of our innovative venues. Propose a toast to the nights you'll never forget in The Emerald Lounge. Explore a completely new side of Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Revere Hotel Boston Common reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing