We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Service with a smile, and its Skoah, not Skoal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Revere Hotel Boston Common

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service with a smile, and its Skoah, not Skoal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great location, great staff, great rooms and despite being a man who rarely, if ever, would consider "moisturizing," I really liked the Skoah products in the bathroom. I would have purchased them for my daughters, but wasn't quite sure where they were sold.

The staff here are fantatsic and the service is friendly, helpful and immediate. I wil not be paying the freight at the big name hotels on the common - this one is a block away, closer to the theaters, equal or beeter in service and ambiance, and value for your money.

To quote the governator, "i'll be back."

Room Tip: Higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at Revere Hotel Boston Common, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Revere Hotel Boston Common. It is great to hear how wonderful your stay was with us and how much you enjoyed our Skoah products. For next time you visit us, you can purchase the Skoah products at the front desk or at their location in the South End on Tremont Street. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,797
    1,086
    361
    90
    58
See reviews for
919
1,079
115
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Kent, Uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Revere Hotel is fairly centrally located just south of Boston Common (Arlington Subway Station 2 minutes walk) within easy reach of the Amtrak South Station (less than ten minutes walk away). Big comfortable modern room with balcony, large flatscreen TV and cable channels, iPod dock, games controller and tea/coffee making facilities. Easy walking distance from "Cheers" bar) northside of Boston Common) and "Freedom Trail" to Bunker Hill. Would certainly stay again and recommend it. If in Boston with time available I would certainly recommend visiting the original "Cheers" bar, walking the "Freedom Trail" to the USS Constitution Museum ("Old Ironsides") and Bunker Hill Monument. Also (short) trips on the MBTA subway to Fenway Park for the Boston Redsox Tour, Harvard University, the Samuel Adams Brewery Tour (free) and even the 30 minute train-ride from the Amtrak North Station to Salem (for historical interest but NOT for the tawdry "witch" entertainment museum(s)!)

Room Tip: Certainly sounds like a good idea to avaid the top floor machinery noises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at Revere Hotel Boston Common, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Revere Hotel Boston Common. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our guestrooms and it sure sounds like you took advantage of our central location and were able to see many different attractions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Everytime I stay at the Revere hotel I am astonished at how super the customer service is.
The valet service and the the front desk staff upon checking in are awsome. every aspect of this hotel's custmer service cannot be beat. Even when hotel staff randomly passes a guest in the hall way they inquire if you have any needs they can assist you with.

The staff at this hotel are truly the Best of any hotel in Boston!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at Revere Hotel Boston Common, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Revere Hotel Boston Common and for being a returning guest. We appreciate your comments about how wonderful our cast is. I am glad we are able to consistently provide you with four diamond services and make you feel comfortable while staying here. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We travel to Boston a couple times a year for pleasure and I've always shopped for the best rates. That changed when we started staying at the Revere Hotel. The Revere sits in a perfect location for entertainment, restuarants, and shopping. Recently renovated , the hotel is situated 2 blocks from "The Common" and is in easy walking distance to many places guests would choose to see when in Boston. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and all rooms have balconies that allow fresh air for sleeping and great views of the city. To my knowledge it's the only hotel in the city that offers that convenience. In additon to the hotel itself, the staff is second to none for friendly service and attention to detail. This starts at the front desk and can be seen in the restaurant and even the housekeepers. I no longer waste time shopping for special rates, I simply make our reservation at the Revere knowing our stay will be terrific.
GO BRUINS!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at Revere Hotel Boston Common, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Revere Hotel Boston Common and for taking the time for your wonderful comments. Make sure to check out our website when booking your next reservation for special offers and promotions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Revere for a parent's getaway night (deal through living social). Overall, I'm very happy that we paid what we did as I would probably have been more disappointed if it had been much more expensive. But it was a very nice location and after all - it was our getaway overnight so that right there makes it enjoyable!

I had read the other reviews so was on guard for the "strong scent," the "loud and slow elevators," etc. But I kept an open mind.

We arrived early (noon for a 3:00 check in) and our room wasn't ready yet - I wasn't surprised and I asked the very nice young woman behind the desk not to worry about it as we were planning to explore the city anyways. She let us check our suitcase and we were off to do the tourist thing.

We returned around 2:30 and our room was ready (by the way both my husband and I thought the notorious scent in the lobby was nice. I really liked it, he said it wasn't that bad). We were on the 24th floor, so after receiving our complimentary champagne toast upon arrival we headed up in the elevators. Never during the time we were there, did we have a long wait for the elevator. And we were on the top floor.

The room was beautiful. Not our style as we are more family, cozy types but we can appreciate an attractive decor. Clean lines - it does help if you know the hotel theme of theater inspiration (i.e. sign for door says "talent at rest"). The room was spotless, balcony overlooked the city with beautiful views. I found the bed comfortable, my husband wasn't a huge fan. But that kind of thing is so subjective. There is a "pillow menu" and I am at fault myself for not choosing a different pillow - the feather style pillows that were on the bed were too squishy for my but that's my fault for not asking for a different one.

We had tickets to blue man group (highly recommended) at 8:00, so we went down to the concierge to ask for suggestions in the area for dinner. This was our first disappointment - the concierge (I'll leave him name out) seemed annoyed that either we had not made reservations or that we were pestering him for help with a restaurant. We actually didn't want him to call around to get us a table (although we appreciated him doing that) - we just wanted some names of places. Oh well. Sorry that we bothered you?

We had a wonderful time at the show and returned to our room - this was an odd part - we had taken a nap before going out and had left the bed disheveled. But when we returned at 10:30 the bed had been remade and my clothes had been folded on the bed. Kind of the opposite of turn down service which we would have expected. We're not regular customers at 5 star hotels so I'm not sure if that was what they were going for but it seemed peculiar to us.

Once we turned the lights out we experienced what many reviewers have mentioned - the noise! The noise! THE NOISE! I have never heard so much noise from the hallway as we did here. I would strongly recommend to the hotel that they install sweeps under the doors because the "entranceway" of the room is laminate / hard floor. Most hotels are fully carpeted, causing the doorway to be more sealed. But here there is a significant gap under the door - so much so that we didn't need a nightlight, the room was lit with the light shining under the door. And if the light can get under, the sound can too. The next room was having trouble with their key and we lived through the experience. The saving grace was that we were at the end of the hall so there weren't a lot of people coming by thankfully. And with it being winter there weren't a lot of customers getting ice at the machine next to our door. We did hear noise from the elevators all night long - I can only imagine if we had been next to the elevators themselves. Perhaps because we were on the top floor we got more noise from the equipment being right above us?

The next morning we had a nice breakfast in the Rustic Kitchen restaurant attached to the hotel. Nothing amazing, but convenient and average taste.

So I would give the Revere points for location (lots of points for that!), points for the amazing Skoah skin products (lots of points for that too!), and the staff were very friendly (with the exception of concierge) and helpful. Cons included the NOISE and the NOISE. And the concierge was so - so.

Would we return? Perhaps. But there are so many other places in the area that it would have to be a really good deal to return. I did love the skoah products so much that I plan to order some online for myself (couldn't figure out if we could buy them at the hotel and if so, how to?).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCodders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NH
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We are in Boston often and have stayed in more than 10 hotels in this area. The revere is a new remodeled hotel with great style and a location central to the park, back bay, theater district and the south end. Given the name we thought it might be in Revere, but it wasn't. There are many good restaurants nearby. Rooms were clean, views from the top floor great, beds very comfortable. In all the rooms are similar to many other more expensive hotels in the area. The gym is better than most and has new equipment. The pool does not seem to updated since this was a Radisson .

Only complaint was lack of signs either in the elevator or rooms as to where things were in the hotel. Sometimes the elevator was slow. Some people were offered champagne on arrival, we and many others were not. Not sure if it is random or based on your room rate.

My husband and I liked it and will return as long as they continue to offer good values.

Room Tip: Top floors have better views but take longer on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had been to this hotel before it's new ownership. Was a sudden shock to see how the lobby had been so ultramodernized when we entered. The room and amenities were fantastic. Everything was so modern, tho the electric outlet in the bathroom didn't work.

Room Tip: The Rustic Kitchen restaurant next door is very handy and always a gourmet tasty meal. Always come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#26 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#33 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#28 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Revere Hotel Boston Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revere Hotel Boston Common

Property: Revere Hotel Boston Common
Address: 200 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-5442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Revere Hotel Boston Common 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A key figure in the birth of a nation inspires the re-birth of a legendary hotel. A New Revere: Coming Spring 2017. Please excuse our appearance while our craftsmen are at work, beginning in November 2016. Discover a destination that redefines luxury and puts its own spin on the Boston experience. Just a stone's throw away from the Commons, our boutique hotel takes inspiration from the city's rich history while reveling in the unpredictable. Each space at Revere complements the next, allowing you to create your own unique and original Boston experience. Our spacious guestrooms will be your hub from which to experience the rest of Revere. Stage a groundbreaking production in one of our innovative venues. Propose a toast to the nights you'll never forget in The Emerald Lounge. Indulge in the true taste of New England with one of Rustic Kitchen's authentic entrees. Explore a completely new side of Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Revere Hotel Boston Common reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing