We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but nothing really special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, but nothing really special”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed on Saturday to Sunday in December. I made the reservations through SniqueAway and the rate, with a AAA discount, was $250 plus $25 for parking. Because I "liked" them on FB, we got a free room upgrade. The choice was free dry cleaning and extended check out or a Jr Suite. We took the suite. It was a long hallway that opened into a sitting area with a pull out sofa, desk and TV. There is a balcony, but it overlooked rooftops below us. The king bedroom was separated from that area by a curtain. The mattress was uncomfortable, it sagged in the middle. We were in room 1401, which was next the the elevator and we heard that all night and in the morning. The bathroom is very narrow but it was clean and I like the idea of refillable pump bottles on the walls with a variety of lotions, soaps, shampoos and conditioners. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. They treated us like VIPs and we appreciate that kind of service. The lobby is very contemporary and uncluttered. I didn't see a seating area anywhere in the hotel and although there is a restaurant, we got in on Saturday night at midnight and it was closed. There wasn't anyplace around to get a cup of coffee and the coffee maker in the room had only powdered creamer, so we skipped it. It's not a hotel that I will rave about, but it served the purpose for us.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators. We thought it was the subway at first, but we were on the 14th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowleyinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,025
    1,279
    428
    118
    75
See reviews for
1,081
1,228
124
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We loved our recent stay at the Revere near Boston Common. The price was reasonable, the accommodations were clean and posh and the location was fantastic and central.

Quite pleased and would stay here again...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FyreStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was the first time we'd stayed at the Revere since it changed from the Radisson, this was our fifth trip to Boston, the lobby and rooms had undergone massive refurbishment, although the very modern, minimalist lobby seemed to have lost some of the atmosphere it used to have, possibly my personal preference here. The rooms are clean and well appointed with absolutely scrumptious beds and pillows, not sure why the chaise- lounge is there, it's rock hard, a nice armchair may have been a better choice?
But - the toiletries are superb, and it saves space and weight from taking your own, and you will not be disappointed, also the dressing gowns are a welcome addition as are the really decent size bath towels.

The biggest strength of the Revere is the staff who, are as ever, are really helpful, and friendly especially the three concierges, for whom nothing is too much trouble. I did notice that the wardrobe had odd-sized doors on it - someone obviously hadn't picked this up during the snagging after the refurb. not that it made a scrap of difference, but if I'd spent all that money I'd want a top job done. The lifts were fine and the whole hotel smelled really beautiful. Once again we used Thorntons down at Huntingdon behind the Prudential Centre for a really reasonable and huge breakfast, not to be missed. Remingtons right opposite Boston Common cannot be beaten for pub grub and good company, through the transport plaza opposite the hotel, up the alley and turn right. For a special meal Rustic Kitchen fits the bill, good service and superb food. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Revere, it's good for all the shops and the 'T' a quick trip from Logan, and it's a really friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Good: The lobby is stylish and well appointed, front desk staff at check in and check out were friendly and very helpful. The rooms are average size for Boston, the bed was comfortable and the linens and toiletries are lush. We had drinks in the evening at the Rustic Kitchen and breakfast there in the morning. Bartender was very friendly and personable and the breakfast was very good -- lots of choices for both the healthy diners and the not-so-healthy diners too.

The Bad: It went from excellent to good for two reasons. #1 - the fire alarm went off at 1:30 am and we were awoken by an alarm and instructed to exit via the stairs...22 flights of stairs! When we got to the lobby there was absolutely no one from the hotel directing or informing us of what to do. We asked the desk staff what the issue was and they were dismissive and frankly seemed put out by us. They instructed us (rather offhandedly) to go back to our rooms. No attempt to explain or even an apology for being woken from a dead sleep and marched down 22 flights of stairs. #2 - the walls are very thin so every time our neighbor's shower ran or toilet flushed it sounded like it was in bed with us. Another guest complained to us at breakfast about the the thin walls -- the people in the room next to him keeping him awake partying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We only stayed here for the night but were treated like VIP! We were able to check-in early and even got a free room upgrade and a late check-out. The hotel is nice, clean and very modern. Customer service was top notch! I notated on my reservation that I was celebrating my b-day, and after a day of sight-seeing, there was a tray with a little cake and bottled spring water waiting for me in our room. What a nice surpise!

The location is great - it's only a short walk to Boston Common, and it's across the MA Transportation Building which has fast food eateries and restaurants. The subway station is also a short walk away from the hotel but since the hotel location is great, we did not use at all. We just walked to Faneuill Hall/Quincy Market, the North End and even walked back after finishing the Freedom Trail.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I booked one night at this location this past weekend through Hotwire for a pretty decent price. A few days after checkout, I checked my credit card statement and noticeda charge for $47. Not knowing what this was for, I called the hotel and asked for some clarification. After being shuffled around to three different people, I was told that it was for minibar items. For clarification, I live in hotels 4/5 nights a week as I travel for business and I never once have used anything from a minibar due to the ridiculous prices of the items that are offered.

The employees whom I spoke to were very accusatory and seemed to truly believe that I took these items (a bottle of wine and a bag of nuts according to them). According to the employees I spoke too, I have some kind of big elaborate scheme to stay at hotels, raid the minibar and then proceed to call and say that I didn't actually take anything....right.

The final employee whom I spoke to seemed to have better things to do than help me with my situation, so he took my phone number and said that he would "look into it". I have since called my credit card company and had the charge reversed, but this hotel put me through unnecessary hassle and treated me as though I am a criminal. Needless to say, I will never be staying at this hotel again.

Beware of "4 Star - Boston Common" hotels on Hotwire for unusually low prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at Revere Hotel Boston Common, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Revere Hotel Boston Common. We do offer mini bars in our suites as a convenience for our guests, and certainly not to charge you for items that were never used. We have never had any issues with this previously and I am sorry to hear about your experience. I would personally like to follow up with you, if you could call me directly at 617-457-2656.

Sincerely,

Simon Mais
General Manager
Revere Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location was so good! There are two subway stations within 5 mininutes' walk: Arlington and Bolyston. Both are green line. There were plenty of good restaurants nearby. It is also within 5 minutes' walk from Chinatown. The hotel is in theatre district, which was a plus. Very clean hotel. Good size for Boston. Service was good as well. It was a nice stay.

However, the perfume smell in the lobby was unbearable for me. It gives me a headache every time I walked in the hotel. Also, the free internet was so bad. It logged me off constantly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KayWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
1,673 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#59 of 83 in Boston
2,082 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 83 in Boston
2,775 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#34 of 83 in Boston
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Revere Hotel Boston Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revere Hotel Boston Common

Property: Revere Hotel Boston Common
Address: 200 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-5442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Revere Hotel Boston Common 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just undergone a $28M transformation! Discover a destination that redefines luxury and puts its own spin on the Boston experience. Just steps away from the Boston Common, our hotel takes inspiration from the city's rich history while reveling in the unpredictable. Each space at Revere complements the next, allowing you to create your own unique and original Boston experience. Our spacious newly transformed guestrooms will be your hub from which to experience Boston. Stage a groundbreaking production in one of our innovative venues. Propose a toast to the nights you'll never forget in The Emerald Lounge or relax and unwind at Rooftop at Revere. Come and explore a completely new side of Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Revere Hotel Boston Common reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing