We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History all around you”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“History all around you”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

What a great hotel this was. American history all around you in your hotel as well as within walking distance. This hotel was an old Kennedy Haunt, no pun intended. Looking for ghosts? The Omni has them. (5th floor)
Its the oldest operating hotel in the united states. Very nice rooms, but very small, to get into my shower you have to close the bathroom door. Very nice beds, flat screen TV. Paper every morning and with the Omni club, coffee left at my door at whatever time I specified.
The best of all was the service. Outstanding staff!

Two spooky 200 year old graveyards on two sides of hotel. Right on the freedom trail.
I walked a short distance to Little Italy 5 times in the week I was at the hotel.
Some of the best food you will ever have. Close to water front and great seafood places to eat.
People of Boston very friendly and helpful as we asked many times on the streets directions and were always given help.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,318
    2,318
    950
    392
    189
See reviews for
1,605
2,347
386
1,774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed for one night in July on our drive back to NJ from Maine. Location of hotel is great, about 2 blocks from Boston Commens and the Freedom Trail goes right past the hotel!

Lobby is beautiful, with ornate chandilers and carved wood beams. Bellmen and valet parking attendents were very helpful and friendly, and were hailed a taxi right away when we needed it. The room was very small (but it's a city), but clean and the bed was like a cloud. We were on an end wall, and the plaster was flaking off and bubbling on the wall. The small room and plaster was my only complaint really. We weren't in the room much, meeting friends when we arrived, and walking the freedom trail the next day.

We chose this hotel b/c of the lower AAA rate they offered. All other hotels in the area were almost $100 more per night. For price and location, this hotel is perfect! Parking is an issue in all of Boston, so we were happy with the hotel valet service. This cost $42 per day, and an additional $12 if you keep your car there after 1pm the day you check out. This was worth it for us, since we walked everywhere, and didn't have to worry about our car the whole time. The parking cost is the same for other hotels that offer valet service, and you're going to pay about the same if you self park.

We were very happy with our hotel choice and the location was perfect for walking the freedom trail. We also reccommend this-you will see most of Boston in an afternoon, and all the historic Revolution sights as well!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ_TravelBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed 4 nights with my grown daughters. No complaints. Booked by hotels.com no problems.Would stay there again . Great Location with alot of charm!

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
Thank drumsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

First the basics:
The room was large and very quiet.
The beds were luxuriously comfortable.
The climate control was perfect - very important for Boston.
We had a great stay. The concierge was always right on the mark with our questions. The bell staff was friendly, helpful and always available. The desk was helpful and knowledgable. The lobby and restaurants had great atmosphere and kept the spirit of an historic place. The location is perfect. Subway stops a block or two away. Top restaurants a short walk away. Boston Commons and a few interesting cemeteries are practically next door.
The bathrooms were not enlarged with the renovation which is unfortunate. One adjusts.
The workout room is quite adequate and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfgreg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, fl
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Booked on Priceline in April, call Parker House reservations to request room with two beds as we were traveling in late July with our teenager and hoped for the best. Arrived exhausted (flight delays) and was greeted with warmth and courtesy from the front door to the front desk. Quickly had the key packet in hand, and as I opened the door to our 10th floor room my jaw nearly dropped: not only did we have a elegantly decorated room with two beds, the view-oh my, the view! Thinking how lucky we were to have two beds, I never expected to be overlooking the historic church, and on to the plaza! I took other's advise and joined their hotel program and sure enough, we enjoyed complimentary water, internet and newspaper. I cannot thank the Omni Parker House staff and management for such a delightful stay. We will be back!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank floridatravfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1856, Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
We are so pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay in Boston as well as with the Omni Parker House. Our location can't be beat, and no matter what direction you turn, you will have something to see and something to do. Thank you for taking the time to post you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

This flea-bag is way overrated. It is in a good location, but the rooms are very small and most of them have a single double-bed. Our first room was so small that a crib would not fit next to the double bed. We had to ask for two cribs to get mattresses for our children and it took from 10:00 until midnight to get them. There are better views from most prison cells. The rooms have loud window air conditioners, so you better have ear plugs. Worst of all, I had a serious bug bite two nights in a row and my daughter had a bad bite also.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GardenerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1856, General Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Without knowing the author of this posting, it is impossible for us to respond to the room size issue. Many times guests do not provide full information about the number of people that will be occupying a room and, as such, may not be satisfied with the initial room. It appears that we did move them when we were given the opportunity to do so and, had we known about the need for cribs, would have had them ready upon arrival. However, the delay in getting them to the guest certainly deserves an apology. All of our rooms feature identical air conditioning units of the same type found in hotels across the country. Lastly,. assuming that this guest stayed with us in the recent past, we can say that no complaints regarding a bug infestation has reached us whatsoever. Were we ever notified of such a possibility, our reaction would have been instantaneous and thorough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My wife and I got married in Boston a few weeks ago! It was fantastic! We probably would've had a great time no matter what,but the Omni really went out of their way to make it special for us. It was just the two of us, no big ceremony or reception. They were so friendly and nice. When they found out we were getting married, they were so excited for us. We came back to our room that night and found that they had decorated our bed with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. They gave us a late check out even though they were booked the next day and needed the room . Overall,one of the best hotel experiences Ive ever had! Also,it's close to everything and we walked everywhere

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crashed427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing