We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for three nights, 12 August to 15 August. We were in two deluxe rooms which were the largest hotel room(s) I have ever stayed in, although the bathroom was tiny with little storage space.

The king size bed was huge with plenty of pillows; best three night's sleep in a hotel for a long time.

The location of the hotel is perfect, being on the freedom trail and close to a T station (Boston Common) and Faneuil Hall (where you can eat reasonably). We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant on the last morning as it was raining heavily, but it was a nice finish to our stay there.

The hotel reception area, restaurants and bar areas are really traditional and make you feel like you've walked into somewhere very special. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

We registered as select guests on their website before we travelled and as such enjoyed complimentary turn down service, hot drinks in the morning and a surprise of chocolate covered strawberries as it had been my birthday a couple of days before.

Highly recommended and we will stay at the Omni Parker on visits to Boston in the future.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Register as select guest
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JDP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,266
    2,282
    934
    382
    185
See reviews for
1,578
2,315
381
1,729
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2006

Excellent hotel - very central position - 5 minutes walk from the Common, City Hall and Quincy market.
Old fashioned décor – generally in clean and good condition – but a piece of wallpaper was loose in the bathroom.
We had Room 1462 - a big spacious corner room - not very good views but quiet.
The Front desk was very helpful when our plane was delayed (by over 24 hours) – they did not charge us for room even though we were outside the defined time when we notified them. They were also very helpful and knowledgeable with our queries.
Breakfast was extra, but there was an excellent choice and a good cold buffet.
An excellent hotel in an excellent town.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a corner room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GOMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

I stayed here with a friend as our last hurrah :-) (you have to go to Omni Parker to get the joke!) after a road trip which included hiking and biking in Acadia Park, Maine. Check-in was a breeze - excellent attention to us. Rich, elegant lobby. The birthplace of Parker rolls and Boston Creme Pie!

Rooms small but luxurious. Beds and the 7 pillows very comfortable. Can't beat the location for running through the Boston Commons to Charles river and the Esplanade, Newbury street, Quincy square, catching the T to Harvard, Macy's and Filene's basement of course!

Not cheap, but also not overly expensive considering it was high season.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank RuthAnn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2006

My wife and 9 year old son stayed at the Omni Parker House for three nights from August 19. This is a beautiful hotel. We ate one dinner and all our breakfasts in the hotel restaurant and the food was superb and the dining staff friendly, attentive and efficient.

The location is excellent-walking distance from Faneuil Hall, Boston common and lots of shopping.

As others have mentioned the room was small, but very clean and the beds were so comfortable-lots of pillows! We are used to larger rooms but the amount of space was adequate for the three of us. Larger families would probably have a problem. But ultimately we spent very little time inside the room other than to sleep and the beds as mentioned are very comfy. Would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — size of rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank batz328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights before a trip to Cape Cod. The hotel is fantastic with a beautiful lobby. Bed rooms a decent size for a city and beautifully appointed. Staff were very helpful and ideally situated in the Boston area for sightseeing. Would recommend to anybody.

  • Liked — Omni Parker is the oldest hotel in the US that has been run continually as a hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Walk the red route and go to Quincys market
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Hounslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

The room had two double beds, one small chair. There was no desk. There was no room to move around. The bathroom was tiny as well. The closet was tiny. There were luggage racks in the closet, but no place to open them up -- yes, that's how tiny the room was. I had to iron while kneeling on the bed! No room to stand. This was room 316 -- careful! The tv remote didn't work. With two kids, this is important.

The hotel is very well-located. It's right near the State House, the Boston Common, the Park Street "T" station, a five minute walk to Faneuil Hall, etc.

So weigh what you need. If you don't rest during the day, this is a good place to go. If your room is important, it's not.

With two kids, I wouldn't consider going back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — tiny room
  • Tips/Secrets — impossible if you're not alone
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2006

I might feel differently if I were paying the $400 plus rate they show during the week, but the well under $200 weekend rate for a room (Expedia) with two Queen beds did just fine for my family of four. No, the room is not huge, but it is more than nice for what you will probably need. Most of our time was spent outside, so the late evening and sleep use of the room was fine. A great location in a beautiful historical hotel. Great staff. Remember, this is Boston. Parking stinks no matter what hotel you stay in, and its pricey.
This was my second stay at this place, and I would return, no question!

Helpful?
4 Thank hownav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing