We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

Before you stay here, you must sign up to the Omni Select Guest loyalty programme on their website - this gives you numerous benefits for absolutely nothing such as free internet access and 2 free drinks delivered to your room each morning.
Staff here are very courteous (the level of service is outstanding) and the hotel location is superb - just around the corner is Boston Common / Beacon Hill / Fanehuil Hall and Washington Street (shopping).
My room was a deluxe room with 2 double beds so space was not an issue - beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was pretty small.
The only slight issue was noise levels - as this is an old hotel I can understand that soundproofing is not great, but one thing which was irritating was the bell of the lift - my room was very close to the lifts, so at night when trying to sleep, every few mins the bell on the lift would ring when it arrived - I would advise anyone staying here to ask for a room away from the lifts.
Overall, a very nice hotel with no major issues.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellfire500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,261
    2,282
    933
    382
    185
See reviews for
1,577
2,311
381
1,729
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

From the moment we stepped into the doors of this beautiful and historic hotel, we felt welcomed and special. All of the staff we encountered were incredibly friendly and helpful. The front desk made special accommodations for us because we were there on our honeymoon and the room we were able to stay in was so much more than we were expecting. We had views of the Freedom Trail and much more space than we thought we would have.

The Last Hurrah and Parker House restaurant/bar were top notch and the concierge desk staff were especially helpful to us in finding our way to Fenway and the Theater district.

The Parker House is within close distance of the Freedom Trail and many pubs/restaurants that we were able to walk to. The "T" subway is also nearby at the Boston Common.

We can't wait until we can come back and stay at the Parker House again-it was a fantastic experience that we will never forget!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggs219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate - New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Nice decorating, lobby was atttractive, only offered Valet parking or nearby " public parking for a fee. Main entrance on School street was difficult getting to, and once you arrived the street was fairly narrow not allowing much room to pull over if you drove a car also did not have a canopy in case of inclement weather. Rooms were VERY small but did have" in room safe", internet available but only for a fee- down the block across the street from Borders book store was a cafe with wi-fi for free . Biggest advantage was Hotel is located on Boston's "Freedom Trail" for sightseers, and public transportation is very convenient. Would not stay there again when traveling to Boston.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bnthere4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Disappointing stay on the first night of our trip in Boston at the Omni Parker. Tiny room, as you entered it was a narrow corridor with the bathroom to the right, the room 'opened out' and was just about big enough for a queen bed. We'd booked a traditional room so if you can I would upgrade to get space enough to think about swinging a cat. The room was also at the far end of a long corridor with two steps up halfway along, not very useful with luggage.

The best thing about this hotel is the location, very central near to Government Plaza on School Street. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

We have stayed in Boston a few times in various locations - such as Westin Copley Square and others.
The Parker House is in the best location by far. It is near to every place we wanted to visit.It is an easy walk to : North end to all the Little Italy restaurants; to Feneuil Hall; the waterfront.

My husband attended meetings while I enjoyed exploring. The hotel is in a safe area. I walked everywhere and felt safe whilst on my own.

The hotel is located directly ON the Freedom Trail.You walk out the front or side door and you are right on the painted red path. This is such an enjoyable undertaking - walking to as few or as many of the points on the trail. Get a free photo copy at the consierge or buy a Freedom Trail booklet ( 4-7 usd) at the Public Gardens info booth. Go left out the front door - 5 mins to booth in Public Gardens-the trail starts here. Read the booklet and start walking. It is delightful to check off the places that you see. I found it to be a good educational pastime.One can read a bit in the hotel room, walk to a few, read some more, explore some more. I did one or several -depending on time/mood over several days. One could do them all in a day but given the perfect location of the hotel,you can chose the pace that works best for your schedule.

In addition to the great location, the hotel is from the glorious days of the big grand hotels. It is enjoyable to sit in the lobby and soak in the details of this historic building.
It is the best of history and modern ammenities. The recent complete renovation was done beautifully to restore it to a grandness of another era.....with all the conveiences of modernity.

Our room was well decorated and had a regal feel to it. Nicely furnished and great linens. While it was not large in size, it was not too small either. Not to worry given all the reviews in this regard. We found it to be well-laid out with lots of storage space. The only unfortunate comment about the room was that the air conditioner blocked any view out the window. Here is where modernity meets an historic building. So no problem. There was still lots of light coming in to the room and given the 90 degree heat outside, we were glad for the A/c rather than the view.Overall we were most pleased with the room. Due to the older building, there are many different layouts. So discuss your preferences on your reservation or at check in time. Then enjoy your stay.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halifaxduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

Well maintained with a beautiful lobby. Rooms were small with basic tub/shower (grout needed a good clearning but rest of the room and bathroom seemed quite clean). Beds were comfortable with nice linens. Fantastic location for sightseeing in Boston. Loved the Boston cream pie - their specialty.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RR2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

We went to Boston for the Chicago White Sox/ Red Sox game and chose to stay in the city. We did not have a car, and this location was perfect for public transportation, and walking distance to many of the things we wanted to do. I booked on Priceline, and it did not mention the one double bed, so I contacted the hotel manager, and she offered me a king-sized bed for a small fee per night. After reading other reviews, I am so glad we upgraded...our room was fine, not as small as people seem to say.The bathroom was small without a vanity to spread your stuff out, but we managed fine.
The staff was very helpful with directions and friendly when we walked in the lobby. There is a very quaint feel to this hotel and it was a wonderful experience for us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyjeannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing