We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed July 6, 2005

Overall the Omni is nice. Small room, but not as small as some in New York City... great location. Generally expensive room rates. Free internet in room (ethernet, not wireless) but it is a bit slow. Better than dial-up, but slower than DSL at home, but at least there is no charge. My only real complaint is there is no desk in the room! Makes it hard to work. I am using my laptop in bed now since there really isn't another place to work. Bathroom has shower only (no tub). TV is small (20" max). Nice linens, comfortable bed. Walls are a bit thin (can hear people talking next door).

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,423
    2,380
    988
    414
    205
See reviews for
1,680
2,415
396
1,836
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2005

We stayed here for one night on our way out of the Boston area. The location is great and is within walking distance to the North End and other local attractions. The common areas of the hotel are gorgeous, with many architectural details. Not sure if we were given our room because it was a Sunday or because we happened to stay during the Boston Universities commencement weekend, but the room we had was a corner room, small in general in size, and smelled of old cigarette smoke. The size of the rooms is understandable since this is an old building/hotel, but it was a let down after sitting in the reception area downstairs which is spacious and gorgeous. We also had a handicap accessible room, which may have been the reason why the room itself was smaller (to allow for a larger bathroom). The larger bathroom was a plus, but all the mirrors, sink, and shower designed for handicapped people, so everything was lower and the shower was an open stall w/ support handles, etc. I liked the location but I probably wouldn't stay here again for an extended stay.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2005

This hotel has real character and personality. We holidayed in boston from the 16th June to the 25th June 2005. During our holiday, we stayed in two hotels, Nine Zero and the Omni Parker around the corner. The two couldn't be more different. Nine Zero is your sterotypical 'modern' hotel. Very clinical and lacking in character. However the Omni Parker was old world with a good atmosphere. The omni parker was better value aswell. Rooms in both hotels were on the small size but to be expected in a city centre hotel. I would recommend staying in the omni parker for its character, value for money and great location.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2005

The bed linens are white with beautiful cherry wood furniture and great window treatments. Room was quiet, a haven in the large city. Our favorite was the bathroom with stand alone sink and deep tub. Great towels. Join the Select Guest and get a good morning beverage tray, turn down service at night, robes and the daily paper. If you air gives you any trouble, call maintenance there is a quick solution (moving sensor away from curtains).

A little trip planning: The hotel is right on the Freedom Trail near Park St. and Govt Station on the "T" in the heart of downtown. National Park Service tour at 2 on weekdays and 10, 11 (?), 2 on weekends. Filene's basesment bargain is right around the corner (make a left out of the side door and then first left and you'll see it up about a block). It takes about 45 mins to an hour on the T to get to JFK library museum (9-4, need about 2-3 hours there) and about 30 mins to get to Fenway Park (on non-game day). Be sure to ride over to Harvard, quaint place. In summary, the hotel is within walking distance (very easily) of Filene's Basement, Freedom Trail, Boston Commons Park, Swan Boats, Esplanade, Quincy Market, Fanueil Hall, Blue Man Group (go see it).

Great restaurants in Boston, we loved SkipJack's and Legal Seafood (get reservations for both). One of us loved Giacomos' in the North End (go up that way -follow Freedom Trail). Stay away from the Improv Asylum-not funny. Mike's Pastry was a classic.

I took a Brush Hill tour to Cape Cod-it was a bus tour, harbor ride, incessant driver talking giving many details about the area and a stop for lunch.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2005

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were well appointed and very clean.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Parker House June 3-6 for a weekend getaway in Boston. The location is fantastic -- right on the Freedom Trail and a 5 minute walk to Faneuil Hall. The staff was very polite and the room was clean and well appointed. Rooms are on the small side, but we were barely in it so it didn't really matter. The bathroom was clean and the bed was quite comfortable.

I highly recommend the Omni Parker House. The rate of $179 was very competitive with other nicer hotels in Boston and the location is unsurpassed.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 5, 2005

My husband and I travelled to the northeast with another couple and spent a few days in Boston. We used this website to determine where we were going to stay and I'm so glad we did. Not only is the Omni Parker house a historical building, but the customer service was incredible! Any time we had a question, the people at the front desk went above and beyond to assist us. The bellman was wonderful. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. I loved how old everything was, it was beautiful. It is in a great location and the little bar in the hotel is quite nice as well. We appreciated the service so much, that we gave our Boston Red Sox tickets to the bellman (the game was rained out the night we were supposed to go and we were leaving the next day). My whole party felt the same way. We've have all travelled quite a bit, and we were very impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#19 of 83 in Boston
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,576 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,994 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#34 of 83 in Boston
3,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing