We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, charming, and elegant”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Old, charming, and elegant”
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We only stayed one night, however we were extremely satisfied with our experience. We usually love these older elegant properties, and this one was no exception. Our room was very large - we even had a sitting area and a little dressing room! (Hint to hotel managers: put a mirror and a little table in there, it would be very helpful). The bathroom was very small, which I read in many of the other reviews, but it was very nicely decorated, beautiful marble and all the expected amenities. The room service was fast and delicious, and yes, it was expensive. However we expected it - room service is always expensive! We really liked this property and because travel to Boston often, we'll definitely try to stay at the Parker House.

  • Liked — Old world charm, upscale elegance
  • Disliked — We liked everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,318
    2,317
    950
    391
    189
See reviews for
1,605
2,347
386
1,772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Capistrano Beach, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

The hotel is within walking distance to everything with a great staff. We had a junior suite which was spacious and not much more money. Hotel restaurants and bars were fine but the key was how close you are to walking to the great restaurants in Boston. I'll come back to the Omni and use it in othe cities.

  • Liked — Close to eveything; great staff; superb fitness center.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jsh35715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Have recently enjoyed a 4 night break at the Omni Parker Boston. We were lucky to have had a corner room which was actually quite spacious for a standard dobule room and the bed well..!! you had to take a running jump at to get in, it was very comfy and cosy with lovely quality linen. The bathroom was a little tired, however it was very clean.

The bars in the Omni were quite expensive and the food was perhaps above average.

The highlight of our stay was the great location for the Whale Watching trip (spectacular) most certainly not to be missed. So very sad though that due to the pollution caused of us humans that they are in danger!

We also took the ferry from the harbour to Provincetown which is so very beautiful with it's clapboard houses and quality ecclectic shops.. Would loved to have had our stay there and it's much cheaper, still the Omni is lovely and found the staff very willing and well mannered.

  • Liked — Has to be the Bed!!
  • Disliked — Drinks in the bar quite expensive.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank majuahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

The Omni is a beautiful, elegant hotel. My husband and I stayed there for a business event that also took place at the Omni.

The feel of the hotel is old world elegance. It was clean, the staff members, in general, were professional.

The room itself was the smallest room I have ever stayed in at a hotel. On the other hand, it was clean, abundantly stocked, and elegant in it's decor. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Because we had somewhat different schedules during our stay, my husband and I were frequently not in the room together so the small size was not an issue. However, I don't feel I would have been comfortable having a child, however young, stay in that particular size room. A crib or pack-and-play would have made moving about quite challenging.

The room for the event was ample in size and fairly standard in decor. It was definitely appropriate for the audience which included among others, the Boston mayor.

We were able to have breakfast in the restaurant and enjoyed all aspects of the dining: the food, staff, room, etc.

The location of the hotel was wonderful; close to historic trails, shopping, and if need be, personal extras such as nail salons.

The only area with which I was slightly disappointed was the concierge/information staff. They definitely did their job; however, considering the excellence the hotel had shown in other areas, this was just standard fare.

Overall, the Omni Park House is a gorgeous and elegant hotel, situated in a perfect part of Boston. It is one of my favorite places to stay when I travel without my young child.

  • Liked — Beautiful decor
  • Disliked — Standard quality staff - did their job but the quality of concierge service didn't match quality of hotel
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TuliUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2008

The Parker House offered comfortable accomodations in a central location of Boston. The city hotels seem to be relatively expensive, so I wasn't shocked by the price. Parker House is located within walking distance of many areas of Boston, plus the main "T" station is across the street. That might be helpful to some, especially during the cold winters.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank world_traveler30301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We have just returned from spending 3 nights at the Omni. We were greeted with smiles and a friendly helpful staff.The lobby is inviting and warmly decorated with an elegant charm.
Bring your appetite because the food is not only delicious but the portions are very generous.
The rooms are quiet, clean, the beds very comfortable, and the complimentary robes are a nice touch.
The Hotel couldn't be more conveniently located. We spent 3 days walking everywhere. It is within walking distance of many of Boston's great attractions, shopping, dining and entertainment. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here again.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmjaybee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

If you like dark brown and dirty fawn walls and carpets, this is the place for you. But that is not the worst thing. The room I stayed in was the smallest hotel room I can remember staying (and I have done some serious consideration on this point). Apparently recently refurbished but don't look to carefully to the finish.

The front desk staff were indicative of American service. Lots of platitudes but no desire to help, in fact often the opposite.

Its not all bad, the breakfast was quite nice but my recommendation is find a park bench or a cover bus stop as they would be more homely.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The tiny rooms, the dark brown or dirty fawn carpets and walls, the perfunctory service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank emmjaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTheWorld12, Management at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, July 11, 2008
Dear Guest.

My sincere apologies that your stay with us was not up to your standards. The Omni Parker House strives to give every guest the best hotel experience possible. I hope that you brought any of your concerns to our management staff so that they would have made your visit more pleasurable. Please do not ever hesitate to connect with management if you feel you are not being provided the best customer service possible. We set our standards high, and any experience below that is simply unacceptable. We hope that you may join us again one day so that we can meet all your expectations and give you the experience you deserve.

Thank you for your comments,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#58 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing