We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful,historic building great location!!”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful,historic building great location!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a double deluxe room,beds very comfortable had geat nights sleep at times i could hear my neighbours talking as it seemed the walls were thin but it was very minamal, the hotels decor is in keeping with its history of the late 1800's early 1900's, if you are looking for a modern hotel then this is not the one for you but if you want something steeped in history this is the place, it's even on the tour bus route!!! if you choose to stay check out the hunted mirror and eat some of it's famous boston cream pie in The last hurrah bar, if you want a cheeky cocktail try the Omni Sparkler!! Location is key you are in walking distance to the Boston common and to Faneuil Hall and the freedom trail if you are looking for designer shops that are located in Copley square you will need to take the T from Boston common.
If you are looking for a hotel with friendly,helpful staff that is in a central location steeped in history from Dickins to JFK then this is the one for you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We agree with your observation that our hotel is better suited to travelers seeking an authentic sense of history and not just another contemporary, cookie-cutter hotel. Thanks for your good review and for mentioning one of our house specials, the "Omni Sparkler"!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,423
    2,380
    988
    414
    205
See reviews for
1,680
2,415
396
1,836
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely hotel, excellent service and friendly staff. Its located ideally with easy access to the financial district, transport and key attractions as well as the business district. The rooms were clean and well decorated. I loved the lobby and the hotel has done well to keep up the old charm going without looking run down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Many thanks for your great review and we look forward to your return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a great stay. Hotel was very classy with a charm from times past. My room was the traditional, it was small, but good enough. Service was great, restuarant on premises was terrific and convenient (didnt want to leave the warm toasty area) It was nicely situated in a part of town where you could walk to most historical sites. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We appreciate you mentioning our central location for visiting many of Boston's historical sites, as well as your positive comments about our services. Thanks very much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Family vacation in Aug. 2011 for one week - me, my wife, and our toddler. Had stayed at an Omni in San Antonio before and loved it so booked the Parker House Omni in Boston without hestiation. Stay was good overall after a bit of a bumpy start. Room didn't have the mini-fridge or child's portable sleeper I had requested well in advance. They forgot the complimentary child's milk & cookie first night as part of their preferred guest program (sign up...it's free and totally worth it). Was very hectic checking in and baggage manager (not sure what to call him but he was wearing a suit) disappeared on us after we asked for our bags that were off to the side roped off with many others to clear some room for everyone checking in. We went up to our room and my wife went back down for our bags -- luckily since it seems we were supposed to be given a claim ticket and weren't when we first arrived so no one knew which bags were ours. Hotel is very well kept, clearly a bit older but nice.....fits the historical nature of a lot of downtown Boston. Get a King suite if you can, more space....but will say that no matter what room you get, bathrooms are just small....way they were back in the day, so just prepare for that mentally and you'll manage. Friendly staff, no issues there after check in apart from not getting turn down a few nights, part of the preferred member thing again....a perk, so more minor bummer than big deal. Hotel location is AWESOME.....you can walk just about everywhere, Fanueil Hall, Freedom Trail, the Aquarium, Boston Common, North End for great Italian, most attractions, etc. The only times we were further out was taking their MBTA (rail transit) to Sam Adams Brewery for a tour (ok, I said we, that was just for dad) , a Fenway tour, and to do a day in Salem (fun, recommend it). You do not need a car if you stay here to see most of the attractions. The duck boat harbour tour was fun, visits to Cheers and Fenway were fun, and the Aquarium is a blast for kids. Everyone in Boston was very very friendly -- only issue there was the one classless genius who tore through the side streets the morning it was raining and drenched our toddler are tearing through a puddle while we walked to the Aquarium. Lines are long and we had to go back and get her changed but still got in before the line was too out of hand....in part because we used a Go Select Boston pass that lets you skip some lines -- recommend it, saves you money if you intend to see a number of attractions. An Upper Deck tour bus is a good way to see a lot of the attaction sites scattered around the city in one shot. Food wise -- standouts are Union Oyster House, places around Quincy Market and some of the Italian places in the North End. Quincy market has a lot of good variety and good quality for a 'fast food' type feel....get the seafood chowder in the bread bowl if you get there early enough, they run out fast! The food at the Parker House itself was 'ok'.....had dinner, was solid, just that nothing seemed to stand out as memorable. Bit pricey but you're paying for the history too, right? Had the obligatory Boston Creme Pie there since it originated there....underwhelming, kind of dry. Off day or I'm just not into Boston Creme Pie, I guess. Same view of the 'original' Parker House rolls.....could have come from any supermarket and I wouldn't have known the difference. Service staff was super, though, and breakfast was great. They also gave us some free wings on arrival because there was a delay getting the room ready, so I respected that. Also to the Omni's credit, I did voice my opinion to them later about some of the 'hiccup's with the room readiness, the hit and miss on some of the preferred member perks, etc. and they gave me a voucher for a free one night stay in the future.....really appreciated that. Nothing was 'oh, I'll never stay here again', just some off points vs. the Omni I'd been at before, and they recognized that. Would recommend staying here.....hotel is very nice looking, staff is very good overall and the location just cannot be beat. And even if I wasn't a huge fan of their Creme pie or rolls, I can still say I went to Boston and stayed where they were born.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better for less noise, and a room with a King bed is a decent size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We apologize for the service issues you experienced when you stayed with us but thank you for your overall nice comments about our hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I'll be brief - the hotel has a superb location, located right in the heart of Boston's downtown.

The rooms are clean and nice in a classy, old-school kind of way.

The staff is friendly and helpful, but for some reason there were police wandering around the lobby while we were there. It was kind of weird and uncomfortable.

I took off a star because the hotel charges $12 for WiFi. I can't understand this. There is a starbucks LITERALLY across the street that gives free WiFi, and the LOBBY of the hotel has free WiFi, but a PAYING GUEST has to be billed for it in their room? Are they really so hard up for cash that they have to nickle and dime us this way? It just felt cheap, and I felt like I was being hustled. Very annoying. $8 bottles of water in the room was just the cherry on top.

The Hotel also tries to snag you with "Valet" parking for $40 a night, but what they don't tell you is that there is MUCH cheaper parking around the block. It didn't sit right with me, especially combined with the WiFi.

I recommend the hotel quite highly, but I think they should focus on keeping customers happy instead of trying to shake them down for every last dollar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments and for the opportunity to clarify a few things. As to the police detail, we had groups in house when you were here that requested this additional service. WiFi is complimentary for those who enroll in our Select Guest loyalty program and this is pointed out when you go to log onto our network. Lastly, we offer the second lowest overnight valet parking fee of any downtown Boston hotel. The simple fact is that parking in Boston is expensive, no matter how you do it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in august 2012 (this is a late review) and we had a great experience. The hotel couldn't be better located for tourists. We booked via the hotel website and ended up paying the same price as on the other website we found but had the valet parking and breakfast included so it was worth it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had the best service at check in. The valet parking is very efficient at arrival and departures. You can even call ahead so that the car is ready when you arrive. The room we had nice but was small and could have had a better view (we had a view on a brick wall) but we didn't mind. A room is pretty much to sleep in. We would gladly return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for the great review and we look forward to having you back from Montreal very soon! Dont' forget to try the Omni in Montreal, too. It's a great hotel!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel. The rooms may be small but the service and general ambience is superb. All staff were so helpful. The public areas are wood panelled and delightful to spend time in. Every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful.

We will definitely return on our next visit to Boston

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I think you hit it on the head with regard to our "old word charm". We're not like modern hotels (so probably not for everyone) but our staff and service levels are top notch! Thanks very much for your positive review....it's much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#19 of 83 in Boston
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,576 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,994 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#34 of 83 in Boston
3,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing