We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rockaway, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband & I traveled to Boston with another couple over Presidents' Day weekend. The weather was frigid, with snow and 40mph winds. The Omni Parker was warm & inviting! The staff starting with the doorman, to Jen at the front desk & the concierge service were friendly & efficient. The hotel was clean, our deluxe king rooms were immaculate & well maintained. The turn down service, morning beverages delivered to our rooms, the thank you notes left in our rooms were all nice touches. Seamus met with the four of us and helped us to map out areas that we might want to visit.He has a great sense of humor & his love for Boston & the Parker House is evident! The breakfast buffet & dinner at the restaurant was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! I'm pleased to learn that we made your visit to Boston a "wonderful stay" and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,318
    2,317
    950
    391
    189
See reviews for
1,605
2,347
386
1,772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My friend and I were staying here for the weekend to visit our close friends in the Boston area. We purchased our room through priceline.com’s “name your price” feature. Upon entering the hotel I was impressed with ambiance of elegance within the lobby. The valet parking, customer service, house keeping, and bell service staff were very welcoming and greeted us with a smile each time. My friend who is a teacher was thrilled about the historical events that took place in hotel and its guests including Charles Dickens. Our room was just the right size and beds were more very comfortable. Also, the Boston Crème Pie was fantastic. Unlike most versions, this one was lighter and airy. Next time I need a hotel in Boston, I look forward to staying at the Omni Parker House

Room Tip: Rooms facing school street and Tremont street have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmurray8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ok so my wife and I stayed over the weekend, we are from Boston area and had friends in town for the weekend, we decided it was better to stay in town so we wouldn't have to worry about drinking/driving.... Anyways here is what you need to know

Great location, it is in the middle of everything, if the weather is good you could pretty much walk anywhere you want-freedom trail,Faneuil hall, theater district, downtown crossing, Boston common 5 mins, Newbury street, Copley square15 min Fenway/kenmore sq 20 min, north end, beacon hill 15 min

Classy old school Boston hotel, the ambience is really old timey, but authentic and cool, almost has a frozen in time kind of feel

Service wise everybody was great, they even upgraded our room at no charge, for really no reason without us asking which was great(free is for me)

Room wise we had a kingsize deluxe room 12th floor, a little bit of a view, it was clean and roomy, nice bathroom, flat screen hbo, keep in mind it is downtown in major city so police/ambulance sirens,traffic sounds and city noise definitely can be heard

They have a couple of bars Parker's bar is more like a lounge that serves drink, very small bar area mostly old school big comfortable chairs and tables, nothing on draft... The other bar is a whiskey and is more of a traditional classic style bar nice place to meet up and have a drink before going out both close at 12am

We had breakfast there Sunday(inc w/room) was good(open til 1130am) not spectacular but decent if it wasn't included we would have gone to brunch, there are so many places to eat in Boston and the hotel is right in the middle of all of them, so I'd skip the hotel restaurant but do get some Boston cream pie(the Parker house is where it comes from)

Valet is expensive(42$) but friendly and reliable, would recommend not renting a car if you just doing a city visit, very expensive parking/hard to drive in if your not use to it city, and its really a walkable/cabable place

Overall a really good hotel in a GREAT location, there are certainly many good hotels in Boston in this $ range, it just depends on what you like, if you want something modern, metropolitan, super chic/hip or you want a pool or something you should go somewhere else, if you like that old time classic, something out of an old movie, classic Boston type of experience this is a good place, it really fits in with all the historicalness of the city

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukrania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our family of four including two young teens stayed for two nights at the Omni on School St. this past week and were not disappointed. This hotel dates back to 1855 and Charles DIckens lived on the second floor for two years. The Omni has that old Boston regal tone to it and was a great place to return to after a long day of touring the city in the cold on foot.

The best feature is the location - so close to the Boston Commons and you are pretty close walking distance to anything else. We walked easily to the Aquarium and the Italian North End from the hotel. The Omni is also directly on the Freedom Trail.

As for the Wifi, if you just join their Select Guest Program (for Free) you get free wifi in your room as opposed to paying $9.95 for it. Plus, you get a complimentary beverage (coffee or juice) for two and a newspaper delivered to your room each morning.

Our room was big enough for two adults and two younger teens, but I would not want to try and fit four adults in one room. Ours was just right and very cozy, but a little dated.

I highly recommend this hotel and will stay again with pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelismygame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was here for a week long training for work. The location was perfect, the rooms comfortable and the meeting rooms a great learning environment. The food during the meeting was delicious! The beds were super comfortable. The gym facilities were great and although busy in the morning I never had to wait for a machine. I really enjoyed the atmosphere in the Last Hurrah bar on property. There are also a lot of great restaurants and shops with in walking distance.

Room Tip: This is a downtown location so expect some outside noise, not a lot just a little. It wasn't dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions while visiting family in the Boston area. Each and every time we have had an excellent stay and excellent service.

One time when we stayed it was raining, and the front desk offered us complimentary umbrellas for the day. They politely asked us to return them when we returned to the hotel. The umbrella was large and covered both of us. (not the 3 dollar tote) This seems like a small item but this hotel does a million little things like that to make your stay pleasant.

The beds are always very comfortable, and the rooms are always spotless and loaded with all the expected amenities.

One thing I would like to point out is this is a "historic" hotel that has modern amentites so if you are looking for a hipster place look elsewhere.

This hotel is in a excellent location to see all the local parks and historic sites of Boston and an easy walk to the North End which in my opinion may have the best Italian food on the east coast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Your comments are very much appreciated and we thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. As you point out, we're probably not the best choice for a "hipster" but rather those seeking a great location in an historic setting. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I like older city centre hotels. But this one (as they say in so many UK real estate brochures) "requires modernisation." The paint and finish are shabby. One can get away with this in old hotels to a degree -- but this one has gone too far.

Also, WIFI is dead slow -- badly needs an upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#58 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing