We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice historic hotel in awesome location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,808 reviews
248 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 896 helpful votes
“Nice historic hotel in awesome location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Rooms are small, but consider the age of the hotel-if you want a large room, stay elsewhere. Bathroom similarly small which is too bad, but again we expected it. Beds were extremely comfortable. Elevators didn't take very long. Staff were able to let us check in early-very much appreciated. Omni club members can have coffee, tea or juice delivered free to room each morning, and have access to free wifi-just for joining. There's a cafe off the lobby with Boston Cream Pie to go if you'd like to enjoy it in your room (instead of via the restaurant or room service). The location can't be beat! We will stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Many thanks for the thoughtful remarks about your experience of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and wish you a very Happy New Year. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,208
    2,263
    922
    374
    178
See reviews for
1,546
2,283
379
1,700
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I had such an unpleasant stay here. My room was like a dungeon. It was dark and drab. There was only one tiny window which was further darkened by having thick glass with what looked like chicken wire embedded in it and part of the window was covered with a board on the outside to hide the horrible view of the roof and the HVAC system. And this hotel was $500+ per night!!! Then every little add-on was so expensive. There was nothing complimentary. I paid so much extra for items in the fridge, using the wi-fi, valet parking, room service. I mean I know there is always a charge for these things, but everything seemed exorbitant. The only good things were that my bed was very comfortable and the location in Boston Common was very convenient. But other than that, I cannot say I was happy about anything. The staff was cold and seemed uncaring as well. I think my expectations were that it would be wonderful because it was so expensive, and maybe that set the bar really high for me. But anyway, I certainly did not feel that this was anywhere near a 5 star hotel in appearance, comfort, amenities or service. I would never go here again, nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13ellezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDM53, Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We regret that this guest was dissatisfied with their stay back in October and would have appreciated knowing about the circumstances at that time so that we could be proactive in restoring their value perception before they departed. October is an extremely busy time of the year in Boston and, admittedly, prices are higher. Also, we do charge extra for items like the mini-bar, wifi, valet parking, etc, because not all guests require these services and it would be inappropriate to increase room rates for everyone to cover such fees. We notice from other hotel surveys completed by this particular guest that the value proposition is prominent in their minds. We would urge them to give us another try during a less-busy time of the year so that they may have the type of Omni Parker House experience that the vast majority of our guests appreciate and at a reduced cost to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Omni Park House is the place to stay for an affordable room, in possibly the best location. Its old Boston Charm is part of the experience. If you are looking for swanky or modern, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a cozy, ornate, beautifully maintained hotel you will not do better than the Omni. The Boston creme pie has been on every 'must eat in Boston' list I've ever seen (if it isn't it shouldn't be).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOLEKNEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed her for 8 nights at the end of November. The room was tiny but very comfortable - beds are amazing!

Room service was a bit hit and miss - mugs, toiletries, towels, etc were not alway replaced by housekeeping but always rectified quickly if we called down.

One day the bath was not cleaned but as we didnt get back until 10pm we did not wish to be waiting for a cleaner to come up so we didnt request this - on check out we mentioned this and the front desk were horrified and offered us free breakfast as we hadnt yet eaten. we also received an email from the front desk manager and housekeeping manager to apologise for this so i believe the hotel do take this seriously and this is not usual.

Lovely hotel and a great location which makes all the Boston sights easily accessible; freedom trail, shopping on newbury street, theatres

Room Tip: if you intned to sight see then buy the City pass (NOT Go Boston) the pass is valid for 9 days so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We live in the Boston suburbs but occasionally we will stay in Boston to just eat, shop and site see, the Boston Omni Parker House is the perfect location to all of Boston and just steps away from Fanueil Hall. It is "Old" Boston, dark wood, posh furniture but the room are great and the bedding is the best! They run specials which are great buys and when I hear of them we take advantage of a great price at a great location. The hotel is within walking distance of the North End, Boston Common, Downtown Crossing, Newbury Street, Boston Harbor, the Aquarium and so so much more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UmassMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Omni Parker House Hotel is as advertised, an old historic hotel, in a great downtown location.
Since it is an old hotel, the rooms are quite small. We stayed two nights in a regular queen room, and the size of the room wasn't a problem. Maybe if you were staying longer it could be an issue. The bathroom was QUITE small though, with little to no counter space. The room was nicely furnished, the bed was extremely comfortable and the chair and desk were comfortable as well. Large flat screen TV was a plus too.
We have stayed at other Boston hotels and one thing made that the Parker House stand out is the service. The front desk assured us the an early check in would not be a problem, and they came through when we arrived. There was a problem with the Ice machine on our floor and the housekeeper went out of her way to get us some ice. That personal service is severely lacking at some other Boston hotels, where they act like you are imposing on them when you make a small request.
The only negatives were the fact that the ice machine on our floor did not work the entire weekend, and we had to go up or down floor to get ice. They other negative was breakfast in the restaurant. While the food and selection were adequate, and the service was excellent, it was overpriced. There are plenty of other breakfast options in the surrounding area.
Ruth's Chris Steakhouse across the street is an incredible restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T-LEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you want to enjoy desert in the best Historical ambience..this is the place. U need to do reservation but they accept walk-in if its not that crowded. Food is ok...not that good just fancy. Service is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jassimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing