We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

read some bad review but booked base on location. very helpful staff. we were there at 11am, and even though check in time was 3pm they placed into a hotel room right away. we got lucky because i hear most of the hotel rooms are small, but we got a nice large room! great location downtown!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKM0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,374
    2,340
    964
    399
    192
See reviews for
1,636
2,379
390
1,796
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Omni Parker House hotel for four nights in late September 2012. It pains me to give this hotel three stars given its gorgeous lobby and fantastic history (including the haunted ghost stories!). I have to be honest though - the room left much to be desired. My fiance upgraded our room by two categories, so we had a king size room on the sixth floor. I anticipated that the rooms would be small based on reading previous TripAdvisor reviews, so the tiny size of the room did not particularly shock me.

Oddly, the toilet in our bathroom was not straight. The lid slanted towards the wall in about a 20-degree angle. I'm trying not to put too many details here, but let's just say there was no way a normal-sized person could sit properly. I do not know want to know how my 6'5" fiance utilized the facilities. Also, forget about sharing the bathroom while getting ready or brushing your teeth - it's strictly a one-person room due to the small size.

Additionally, the air conditioning was incredibly out of whack. If we didn't have the air conditioning on at night, the room would be unbearably stuffy. When the air conditioning was on, however, we became frozen popsicles. We used the spare blanket in the closet in an attempt to keep warm, but it was an uncomfortable stay temperature-wise.

We also became quite familiar with our room neighbors given the paper-thin walls. There was no need for us to turn on the tv on in the morning - we could hear the Today Show through the wall quite well. If your neighbor receives a phone call, you will certainly hear it. And I know it wasn't our phone ringing, as neither phone worked in our room.

On the plus side, this hotel is in a fantastic location. We loved walking all over Boston - from the North End to Fenway, we walked everywhere and felt incredibly safe. Plus, the hotel has an amazing history from U.S. presidents' stays to haunted rooms and elevators. The bar also provides tasty food and great cocktails.

Overall, I really wish I could give this hotel a five-star hotel given its storied past and warm staff. The next time we visit Boston, however, we're going to have to look for another hotel that provides us with a straight toilet and thicker walls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B.G._Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

An excellent place to stay right in downtown Boston. Very convenient to all the sights and pleasures of this lovely city. The hotel restaurant has fantastic meals ! Only two minor complaints - for the hefty tariff, I would have expected free wifi to be included & the air-conditioning is antiquated & rather noisy. Will definitely stay there again next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory_Sansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights at the end of September. A great hotel with superb staff especially the concierge Joseph whose knowledge of Boston was second to none, polite and so helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was a little on the small side but we didn't spend much time in there so wasn't too bothered. The bar "The Last Last Hurrah" is great with complementary warm nuts...yummy! Bar menu is excellent. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on small side with no real choice unless you upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

30 years ago we stayed at the Parker House only a month after we met. We decided to go back to celebrate 30 years. It's just as beautiful & impeccable as it was 30 years ago. There's still a table in the lobby with beautiful fresh flowers. The paneled ceilings in the lobby area are spectacular. The room was slightly smaller than newer hotels but they don't have King's Chapel across from the front door. We had a view of the Park Church & could hear the Westminster chimes. At the reception desk I was asked if it was a special occassion. When I told them about the anniversary, they sent champagne & chocolate covered strawberries to the room. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: 902 has a nice view of the Park St Church steeple & a walk-in closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueF671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights at the end of September. This is a great location to explore Boston the service from Joseph the concierge was superb he recommended some great restaurants locally if you stay there worth asking him for steer on where are the best places to eat.

Our room was okay a little small and not very well cleaned when we arrived but the management corrected this. All in all I have stayed in a few Omni hotels this one is the best for location is the room size is not an issue for you then stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeepakUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay for 2 nights in Boston at the end of our trip around New England, and could not find a hotel within budget that seemed OK. We then decided to up the budget as this hotel was so central.
Excellent location, with the freedom trail going right past the door of the hotel, and less than a mile walk to harbour
Room big, bed very comfy. If you join their guest programme you get free wi-fi, a drink delivered each morning and other things.
So glad we spent a bit more as it really was one of the best.

Room Tip: It is on the main street so expect some noise, we were on floor 8 and didn't suffer too much
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,899 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,557 reviews
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing