We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super convenient, yikes small room!”
Review of Oasis Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oasis Guest House
Ranked #8 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

First, this place is perfect for its location, ease of use, cleanliness and staff. We came into Boston for a Sox game, and it's a short walk from here to Fenway, the shops on Newbury, bars, restaurants, everything. And the price is far, far less than what you'd pay nearby. Just come with a sense of humor. The room we had was itty, itty bitty. The twin bed barely fit, and the bathroom is in the hall, shared. No worries if you're in town to have fun, sack out and get back out there. But if you're coming for business and want a workspace or something ... this isn't you. Also, no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, say so when reserving. Also, we came without a car, but if you do come with a car, parking is going to be a challenge. Take the T, the green line is very close and connects to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ChaseSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 401 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great location convenient to Boylston/Newbury Streets and a nice park on the Charles River, continental breakfast included with stay, close to public transportation (the T green and orange lines). Staff was responsive and helpful in email communications. For Boston, cheaper than other hotels in the surrounding area. Hotel attempts to be "green" through its selection of certain products, which is appreciated.

Something is seriously wrong with the plumbing: flushing the toilet causes the bathroom to groan and shake as the water pump physically strains to refill. This can be heard coming from adjacent rooms as well. While eating breakfast on the first floor, the sound literally sounded like a jackhammer, and could be heard by staff, who didn't seem concerned (so maybe that's normal?).

Showers are extremely tight and I am short, small, and flexible person: for others it could be very uncomfortable, so be warned!

The decor could use some work. Everything is clean, and seems to be going for an "old lady chic" look, but tends towards cluttered bric-a-brac.

Room Tip: We were fine with the stairs, but for anyone who is not as mobile, ask for a room on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMoveALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Located between 2 Green Line T stops, countless universities, The Symphony, walking distance to Newbury St or Boylston, HOW could the location be any better. Each room I stayed in was cozy and efficient. Great little breakfast each morning like clockwork. Excellent staff (esp. Keith, Steve, Joe, Victor and the rest). A bargain in every aspect!!! The Oasis is the ONLY place I will stay in Boston! That's why everybody knows me :).

Room Tip: Even if they put me in the basement I would be happy here!!! But the rooms run the gamut between sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLeongnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. At first the room seemed small but we easily adapted. The entire building - a completely renovated row house in Back Bay area - was excellently clean and so was our room. If I had one complaint it would be that the shower stall was a little tight but that would be it - and it shouldn't be a deal-breaker. The building is in a clean, quiet neighborhood with limited parking in the back alley. THAT was a squeeze. Oasis is right in the heart of Berklee School of Music's area. We were attending an event at the Sheraton and this place was a 5 minute walk to that hotel, the attached Mall and Convention Center. We saved about $180 for lodging over the 3 days and didn't mind the walk at all. There are fast foods and a less than 3 minutes away and interesting parts of Boston all around to explore. We only met one staff member - Keith - at the desk and he was great. Very calm and well-informed. A very good experience we will probably repeat.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street may be quieter than rooms overlooking the back alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, and it is such great find! Location is ideal for exploring Boston. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was brilliant. Rooms were a bit small, but very clean and had everything you needed. Definitely great place to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

For our first visit to Boston we were quite shocked to discover how expensive the hotels are. Friends advised us to stay either in the Back Bay or Cambridge. We opted for Back Bay in order to be in the city, but if it wasn't for Oasis we probably would've opted for Cambridge. This B&B is cozy and cute. No frills, but the location can't be beat. Just a 5-10 minute walk to the green and orange lines and to tons of restaurants and shops in the Back Bay. We also got tickets to Boston Pops (an attraction we would highly recommend), so were very pleased to have the Boston Symphony just a few blocks away. We did not get a chance to catch a Sox game, but Fenway Park is also close by.

Our only "complaint" was the lack of curtains in our room. The simple blinds were not enough to keep the early morning light out, so we found ourselves waking up at 5 and 6 a.m. Not exactly what you want on a vacation! Other than that, it's worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with curtains or on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Americamba37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This isn't really a guesthouse, more a small hotel. The room was not much for the $170 we had to pay for it. Supersmall and with shared bathroom. It was also very noisy and a curtain would have been nice.
Location is great though! Newbury street is fantastic and it's easy to get around with the T. We did get some helpfull tips at the reception!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,242 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,744 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#52 of 84 in Boston
2,418 reviews
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 84 in Boston
3,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Guest House

Address: 22 Edgerly Rd, Fenway Kenmore, Boston, MA 02115-3007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $107 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oasis Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an unbeatable location in the heart of Boston, America's most walkable city, Oasis Guest House and Adams Bed & Breakfast offer a great value and 31 rooms in a historic neighborhood. Take a stroll to nearby shops or restaurants, or ride the subway to historic sites throughout the city. We offer very comfortable rooms, a free daily continental breakfast, free satellite TV, free Wi-Fi throughout our properties, outdoor lounge space, central air conditioning, affordable parking, and complimentary use of a guest computer. We are a short walk from the shops on Newbury Street, Fenway Park, the Hynes Convention Center, Prudential Center, the Public Garden, and Boston Common. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Oasis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Guest House b&b
Oasis Guest House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing