We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, service & amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent location, service & amenities!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

I stayed here in May for three nights to attend a wedding held at the hotel. Overall it was very comfortable, with an excellent location, and great service as expected from a Four Seasons hotel. I wouldn’t hesitate to return!

Highlights:
• Location – Amazing location facing the Public Garden and Boston Common, easy walking distance to the Back Bay and the Freedom Trail
• Clean, comfortable rooms – Our 3rd-floor city-view room with King bed was quiet and spacious, with a large desk, small sitting area (armchair), and plenty of storage in the closet and dresser
• Great service – Everyone was extremely friendly, from the front of house, to room service, to cleaning staff; I was warmly greeted everywhere I went
• Nice amenities – Our room was equipped with a DVD player, safe, large umbrella, hair dryer, makeup mirror in the bathroom, L’Occitane toiletries, robes & slippers
• Thoughtful small touches – A newspaper of choice delivered to the room daily, free internet and printing at the business centre, complimentary green apples (handy as an afternoon snack!); with turndown service I even had a bookmark placed in my book!

The only minor complaint was that we did not receive turndown one of the nights. I also heard from guests in our party (consistent with other reviews) that the pool was somewhat overrun with kids.

All in all a very enjoyable stay! The wedding rate provided was US $400 a night so definitely a splurge -- if you reserve directly through the Four Seasons website, I believe there are often multiple-night stay packages that provide better value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    222
    66
    30
    17
See reviews for
489
388
69
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

We live outside Boston and often visit the Four Seasons for drinks, dining, or afternoon tea. We'd never actually stayed at the hotel, so when my wife's birthday rolled around in March, we decided to stay for a quick weekend getaway. Our stay exceeded our high expectations.

I contacted David, the concierge, earlier in the week before our stay to arrange for a floral arrangement, a birthday snack and dinner advice. He came through wonderfully on all fronts and reserved us a free ride to dinner in the house car, which is a Mercedes S class. The flowers and chocolate surprise delighted my wife and we both got a kick out of being driven around in the Benz!

We spent the afternoon at the hotel pool/spa, which was great - very relaxing. The room was nicely decorated and felt rather large even though it was a standard room. I used the workout facilities, which were fairly spacious though nothing extraordinary. We had Sunday brunch in the Bristol, which is one of our favorite dining spots from an ambience perspective. They gave us a free slice of birthday cake after the meal, which was a nice touch.

Overall, we really enjoyed the property. It was our first time staying at a city Four Seasons after staying at various FS resorts in AZ and HI. The service, location and overall experience were all terrific. It made for a really special b-day weekend for my wife. We look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldie_Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

I had the good fortune of staying at the Four Seasons in Boston. It's first class all the way, as one might expect.

Location is outstanding, right across the street from the Public Garden and the Common.

Service was top notch. From the cold water they offer at the front door after a morning run to the front desk attendant hunting down a cup of coffee after I missed the morning freebie I was never disappointed.

The room was comfortable and quiet. And large, with a nice work space and small sitting area.

Really there is nothing bad to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spamstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

Upgraded to a small suite. Very friendly staff, excellent service and great location. Made use of the exercise facility and car service (Mercedes s550). Concierge suggested great restaurants and we used the car service at no charge. Excellent, clean, uncrowded exercise facility, pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaleighNCSkiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

We managed to get a heavily discounted rate for our 4 night stay at the four seasons in boston, but even paying only $300 a night this place simply didn't represent value for money. It felt like an anonymous four star business hotel rather than a proper member of the four seasons brand, and we've stayed at much better 4 star business hotels in both boston and other US cities.

good points:
friendly, efficient concierge - helped out with lost contact lenses, local cinema listings,
restaurants recommendations.
hotel bar - great ambience and some excellent house cocktails, a fun place to kill a couple of hours (although obviously available to non-guests too)
location - just in front of the beautiful boston gardens, a few minutes walk from most of the major sites and shopping areas

bad points:
rooms - first one we were given stank of stale cigarette smoke and had a dirty bathroom. We asked to move and second room was better, but still very small with an outdated bathroom. Both rooms certainly much smaller than the Hilton boston airport we stayed at. There was also nothing in the rooms that set them apart from any 4 star business hotel.
pool and gym area - extremely disappointing, looks like a penthouse pool with city views in the photos, but turned out to be squalid with dirty floor and towels strewn everywhere, screaming kids treating it as a paddling pool (with staff looking on) and jacuzzi tub that was out of order and had been so for two months!
staff at front entrance - these guys were more focused on tips than on providing a useful service. They would all get involved in the most minor task (eg, picking car up from valet), and we'd be left feeling uncomfortable because we felt pressured to tip all of them, even though it should only have taken one of them to help us each time. On the last day, one of them actually went as far as saying "make sure you thank my colleagues" when a total of 4 guys got involved in bringing our car round and putting one bag in it!
housekeeping - room never got restocked with enough toiletries...felt like we were being rationed and even a note left clearly visible with the daily tip for the maid, asking for more, was ignored. The tip was taken though!

There are several better hotels in the city to be had for a third the price, think Jury's, Marriott or Hilton. Factor in the $700 dollar rack rate and this hotel becomes a joke. Offers nothing for the extra money and does not deserve to be part of the four seasons family

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Okie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Stayed here for one night during a trip to Boston. Fantastic experience. Great location overlooking the Public Gardens and Boston Common.

Very friendly greeting on arrival, although it was nearly over-the-top at times. We had left our bags in the hotel early in the morning while we spent the day skiing, and bags came to our room very promptly after arriving that evening.

Room was very comfortable, king size bed and lots of room. Very large en-suite.

Used the leisure centre after arriving that evening at about 7pm. However, there were about 7 young kids in the pool, unsupervised, and made it impossible to swim as they were jumping from lane to lane. Jacuzzi was nice and relaxing. Disappointed that it was not possible to use the steamroom or sauna with my wife, as these are located in their respective changing rooms. Used the pool again the following morning and it was a bit better. However, I feel that if kids are not behaving in a pool, they should be asked to leave, it ruins everyone else's enjoyment of it.

We had dinner in the downstairs lounge that night. Lovely window table looking our over the Public Gardens. Service by Keith was very prompt and friendly, as well as being very professional. Wine that I had ordered ($45) was not available, so I received an alternative worth $65 and was charged $45, which was good service. Food was of a very good quality and very enjoyable.

Overall, was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expect_quality_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

Stayed here for my wife's birthday (one ending in a "0"). Each and every staff person wished her a happy birthday, there was a nice welcome presentation and just impeccable manners and service from the staff at every turn. It's hard to describe how much better the service is at this hotel over others. Each staff member "gets it", whether a bellman, housekeeper or maintenance worker - everyone knew how to properly read the situation and make the right move or say the right thing. Amazing. Some asian hotels have service of this caliber and also some of the high end cruise lines, but few hotels. Location, rooms, food service are all of the highest quality, but service is their strongest suit among perfection in all that they do.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiveoclockcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in Bristol Restaurant and Bar, Boston's favorite destination for dining and drinks, featuring New England seafood, steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and special, seasonal events. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing