We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the heap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Rarely am I as impressed with a hotel staff as I was with the Four Seasons this trip. They are remarkably pro active. For example when I checked in, they escorted me to the elevators. When I asked for information about a local site, they had walking instructions prepared for me when I came to the lobby. There is a professionalism, interest and level of caring that is wonderfully old school and, sadly for this calibre of hotel, very rare indeed.

The hotel itself is noting special for this category of lodging, but the staff make it stand out. The beds are such that if you could fit them into a suitcase and bring them home along with the shampoo you would. Very comfortable.

My one beef...the Internet speed and connectivity, at least in my room, was sub par. I paid for the upgraded speed but it was still not acceptable. The hotel tried hard to fix it, but it was never at, let alone above, par.

Food is crazy expensive even for this category of hotel. Pancakes and juice came to $60 plus when served it the room. Not unusual I suppose, but the fleecing is obvious!

That does it take away from the incredible service and overall quality of the experience. Bravo!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChillyAlbertans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kudos about our service (and comfy beds!) – as well as also your comments about areas where improvements can be made. We know how important Wi-Fi is and want to ensure we always get it right for our guests across the board. Our goal is to make each guest stay seamless – and memorable - and we hope to do just that should your travels return you to Four Seasons Boston in the future.
-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,801)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Hotel Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

My one night stay at this hotel was excellent. The staff are very attentive and offered superior service. It's truly a top notch hotel. I recommend it highly. The rooms are spacious and top notch. The location was great. It made it easy to get in and out for various business meetings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your pleasant review. We're always delighted to know when our guests receive exceptional service. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel’s central Back Bay location and hope that future visits to Boston will bring you back to our Hotel once again.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

While we are from Boston area, my wife and I took a weekend getaway to Boston to celebrate our anniversary. From the moment we pulled in to valet park, the service was impeccable. Everyone is courteous, addresses guests personally and strives to make your stay amazing. The room was spacious and well-appointed. Sabrina at the concierge desk was simply unbelievable. She was able to get us a dinner reservation at a great restaurant even on Boston College parent's day weekend. In addition, she had a bottle of champagne and a fantastic chocolate dessert sent to our room to recognize our anniversary. The hotel's close proximity to Newbury Street made for a great weekend. Thanks again to all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossT2283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We're honored that you chose our Boston hotel to celebrate your anniversary. It's a special day on the calendar each year, and we're thrilled we could mark the occasion with proper fanfare. I've relayed your kudos to Sabrina on our Concierge team; thank you for mentioning her assistance. We look forward to welcoming you back for future anniversary celebrations and getaways, and from all of us here, thank you for your business.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I find that there are two types of Four Seasons hotels, of which I love the first type and I detest the second. The first type has a beautiful setting and building, and a refreshingly down-to-earth and relaxed staff. The second type has the same setting and building, but an attitude of elitism and entitlement with which I for one am very uncomfortable. According to my recent stay at this property, the Four Seasons Boston unfortunately falls into the second category. Here are two examples. My wife called to speak with me during my stay. She asked to speak with me and gave the receptionist my surname and room number. Did that enable her to get through? No. She was then grilled about what her relationship was to me. It apparently took several attempts at persuasion before she was "allowed" to be put through to my room. OK, I understand that occasionally the Beckhams come to town and maybe this sort of routine makes sense for them. But this Alcatraz approach to routine phone calls is absurd for the business traveller. Another example: I decided to leave my cell phone in the room during one of the business meetings downstairs, and when I was down there had to make a quick call. I approached the coat check attendant to ask where I might find a pay phone. She asked if I meant a house phone. I said no, a phone on which I can make an outgoing call. She looked at me like I had leprosy and explained that there are no such telephones in the hotel. I don't even know whether she's right about that, but the condescension was unbelievable.

Anyhow, you get the drift. Yes, it's a beautiful building and the location right on Boston Common is lovely. But I'd rather give my patronage to a property that doesn't make me feel like a second class citizen just because I didn't pull up in my Bentley. Not every Four Seasons does that, but unfortunately this is one that (for me) falls into the dreaded second type.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank West_Van_Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your review and candor. We aspire that all of our guests enjoy the warm, caring service that we pride ourselves on. Thus, it's a great disappointment to us when a guest's visit is anything less than exceptional. I assure you that your experience is not indicative of what other guests have encountered, and we can only hope that you'll give us another chance to create a memorable stay. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at awet.sium@fourseasons.com if/when your travels do bring you back to Boston.
-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was here for one night in October for a business conference. The hotel was very nice, the rooms were spacious and the linens were soft. The bathroom was nice and more than adequate. I think what sets this hotel apart was the staff. Everyone was very friendly and ready to please. Turndown service was nice and everyone at the front desk and valet were attentive and friendly. I would stay here again. The location is great right on Boston Common and it is a quick walk to various sites in Boston. 15 minute cab ride to Logan Airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed the Hotel’s central Boston location and many amenities. But what delights us most is that you experienced exceptional service. There is no better compliment for our team. We appreciate your business and endorsement and hope to always deliver the best of Boston hospitality upon each return stay.
-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at Four. Seasons Hotel for a long weekend. Everything is fantastic! Just to walk in the lobby is enjoyable. The ambiance that the hotel projects is felt everywhere. Rooms are spacious and all details considered. Food is excellent and dining room and bar are always busy and enjoyable. Being in the heart of Boston, close enough to walk to historical sights, theater,waterfront,shopping etc. any time f year is great in Boston and the Four Seasons is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience at our Back Bay hotel. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our central location and are glad that you had a chance to dine and drink at The Bristol Lounge. We hope you had an opportunity to experience one of the restaurant's weekly events such as Burgers & Burgundy Wednesdays, serving up our award-winning Bristol Burger. Thank you again for your endorsement; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Was only here for two nights. Am a regular Four Seasons guest. Found the valet and front desk staff to be excellent. Bed was extremely comfortable, room large, bathroom adequate. Attended a conference and the food, beverages and service at the conference was great. Also ate at the Bristol Lounge multiple times and found the service and food to be good. Only one thing would have made the stay better-- Outlets in the room-- there are not enough and none near the bed. Marriott in this sense does a better job of catering to a business traveler. Having said that, I'd recommend the hotel, price not withstanding, and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your review and Four Seasons loyalty. It means a great deal to us that you enjoy our brand – and our Boston property specifically. It’s our goal to make business travel as seamless and stress free as possible, thus we appreciate your feedback regarding outlets in the room. It’s something we will address as we continue to seek ways to enhance the guest experience. Please don’t hesitate to contact me via email at awet.sium@fourseasons.com to connect further. Thank you again for your comments.
-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,909 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 84 in Boston
1,122 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-3916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Boston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $560 - $1,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in Bristol Restaurant and Bar, Boston's favorite destination for dining and drinks, featuring New England seafood, steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and special, seasonal events. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing