We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hotel less than stellar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, hotel less than stellar”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location of the hotel is wonderful, just across from Boston gardens in Back Bay. Plenty of shops and restaurants in walking distance. The hotel is nice but for the price ($700+/night), I expected better. We stayed in a suite which was roomy for a downtown hotel. The bathroom was rather outdated with one sink and a small tub/shower combo with a shower curtain. The toilet was so low to the ground, I would almost fall to the ground every time--forgetting how low it was (and I'm only 5'2"). The sleeper sofa was not suitable for sleeping for my two young girls as the mattress was so thin they only felt the coil springs when they would lie down. Housekeeping did set up one roll away bed. The swimming pool/hot tub overlooking the garden was very nice. I just wished I had access to women's locker room so that I could use the sauna/steam room. Found out after check-in it was out of order and we would not be able to use it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our guest’s feedback is very valuable to us and we extend our appreciation for taking the time to comment on your stay. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations during your visit to Boston including providing information about our locker room repairs; however, we're delighted to inform you that we will be enhancing areas of our property in the near future including our guestroom bathrooms, which we hope will be well received by our guests. We take great pride in our staff and in the high level of service we provide - and we're all hopeful that we'll have an opportunity to host you again in the future, to showcase just how phenomenal a stay at Four Seasons Boston can be! Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,404
    241
    77
    30
    18
See reviews for
544
411
75
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Boston is an incredible city and the Four Seasons helps to keep it that way. I've been to several FS and FS-Boston is definitely more of a city hotel as opposed to a resort. The rooms are much smaller than say Istanbul, Jackson, Whistler, or Santa Fe. However, when it comes to service, hands down they have it. Someone very important to me was unable to arrive to the city and they helped me to arrange a flight for them. I left my laptop charger in the room and they had it sent to me FedEx. When I asked for a coffee it came immediately, when I asked for a larger robe, they brought it to me. The complimentary car service was very nice and I had a great conversation with the drivers who were friendly and knowledgeable.
Hands down the location is second to none! Right in the middle of the city, close to Newbury, the wharfs, you're in front of City Park and Boston Commons, great restaurants are within walking distance, it just doesn't get any better than that.

Room Tip: Views of the park are not really that spectacular as you might expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tareq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We’re honored that you chose to visit our city and enjoyed your luxurious accommodations and the location of the Hotel in Boston’s Back Bay. We’re so glad that you experienced the complimentary house car and other Hotel amenities! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

When you visit a major city you don't expect to have a relaxing holiday. Four seasons, Boston made our stay memorable. The room was beautiful, a haven of every comfort but what I loved most was the fresh fruit delivered to the room daily, fresh fruit in the corridors and strawberry skewers at the fantastic swimming pool. Its the little touches that enhanced our stay, plenty of bottle water liberally available, wifi, tea, coffee and warm buns in the foyer from 5am, ideal for jet laggers and newspapers in abundance. The restaurant is iconic and staff wonderfully warm.
I would love to go back to Boston some day and definitely my stay would be here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eibhlin031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re over the moon that you enjoyed your time spent at our luxurious Boston Hotel this summer. We believe that the little touches truly do make a difference from the complimentary basic internet and local newspapers to the delicious morning coffee in the lobby and the fruit infused water in the Spa. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your service and culinary experience at The Bristol Lounge – our staff prides themselves in the highest quality of both. Thank you again for this wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back if/when you visit Boston in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Joisey
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Always an anticipated stay, I look for Four Seasons properties wherever I travel. From the minute you check in to the minute you leave, the unexepected subtle things they do make your stay memorable.

.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepino_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Four Seasons Boston for your visit to our city! We’re delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our Hotel and we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okoboji, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Excellent!!! like every four seasons hotel i have ever been to this facility is stellar. First and foremost the service is impeccable. Seems more like you are staying at a friend's very nice house, rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterofMulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It makes us so happy knowing that you received first class service -- that is what we hope all of our guests experience as well! Thank you very much for all of these wonderful compliments and for your review of our Boston Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

From the reservation process to checking in we were super welcomed.
The suite was exceptional, spacious and spotless. The room service was of the highest quality and timeliness.
A great family trip. This is clearly the best Boston has to offer

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pspappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing our family friendly Boston Hotel for your stay. We’re over the moon that you had a flawless experience beginning from your reservation process, to check-in and throughout your entire stay. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your beautiful suite and your Room Service experience. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed the weekend at Four Seasons Boston to celebrate an important family milestone birthday. As always the Four Seasons sets itself apart from the average, mid tier hotel with consistent service and quality.

From the time you pull up to the valet or walk down a hall corridor the staff are friendly and helpful. The valet guys work hard and treat everyone like they are "rock stars". They pull out the red carpet. Staff check in and concierge were also professional and courteous. Our suite was spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable. Our kids were also treated with respect from hotel staff. The hotel is child friendly offering kids menus, evening popcorn and treat area, special bath amenities and choose your own stuffed animal to make them feel right at home.

The location cannot be beat across from the Boston Common, steps to the infamous Swan Boats, Newbury Street, excellent restaurants and the theater district are right around the corner. Charles Street Beacon Hill area is a short walk. The indoor pool was small, but it was not busy all the times we visited. If you are visiting Boston for business (quick walk to financial district or MGH) or as a tourist with or without children the Four Seasons is a solid choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing the details of your stay at our Boston Hotel with us. We’re delighted that you chose Four Seasons Boston to celebrate such a fun milestone birthday! We’re so glad that your children enjoyed the many activities that we offer from choosing a toy from the toy wagon upon arrival to “Raid the Fridge” on Saturday evenings and the delicious children's menu at The Bristol Lounge. We hope that all of our guests experience a memorable time when staying at the Hotel and we believe that the little touches truly do make a difference. Thank you again for this wonderful review. We hope to welcome your family back to our Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,890 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 83 in Boston
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,324 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-3916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in Bristol Restaurant and Bar, Boston's favorite destination for dining and drinks, featuring New England seafood, steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and special, seasonal events. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing