We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location, pool is a fantasic bonus, would return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning location, pool is a fantasic bonus, would return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. The fitness centre & swimming pool are great. The rooms are really nice but not amazing & the bathroom very ordinary. Room service is just ridiculously expensive. The staff & concierge were charming & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyroadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    222
    66
    30
    17
See reviews for
480
388
68
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed at FS Boston for 7 days for vacation. Not impressed.

Room was spacious but extremely dark with only one small window overlooking back of the hotel. Can't even open the curtains as the room was ridiculously overlooked by other bedrooms.

No coffee maker in the room. Nearest Starbucks/cafe is two long blocks away (I will not pay $20 for coffee even when money is no object). Complimentary coffee by the reception till 8am but the coffee pot was empty when I went. Asked the lady at the reception politely for refill and received 'huff and puff' though I was bothering her. No apologies just attitudes.

Bathroom - very small bathtub. No separate shower. Only provides three bath towels. So if you're a couple you'll be fighting over the last clean towel.

Bottom line: Nothing special about this hotel. Just a room with ordinary bed, TV and bathroom. Unremarkable hotel staff.

Stayed at Mandarin Oriental and Westin Copley in my previous stay at Boston. I would definitely choose Mandarin or Westin (for value) for my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank remifentanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are dismayed to learn that your recent stay with us was unimpressive, and we extend a sincere apology from our entire staff. This is very atypical feedback for us to receive - we are known for, and take great pride in, our passionate staff and exceptional service and offerings. With that in mind, we take your comments with the utmost seriousness. If you are amenable to - and comfortable with - connecting with us directly, we would very much like to do so, to make certain we are following up on each aspect of your stay with thoughtful concern and care (please email pr.boston@fourseasons.com). Please do be assured we will do everything we can to make certain an experience of this nature never happens again. We want each experience at our hotel to be special and memorable for all the right reasons, always. Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to connect with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

First, I'll start with what is good about this hotel - it is beautiful on the inside, really gorgeous. Second, the staff we dealt with were superb. Room service is nice, a bit intrusive, but nice. Concierge was very efficient - got us a reservation at a resturant that was one of best meals we've ever eaten. We did not eat in the hotel for any meal. The location is one of the reasons why we chose this particular hotel - right across the street from the park with the beautiful gardens. Easy to walk around the historical parts of the city from the hotel, if you are willing to walk a lot - this means a mile, mile and a half, minimum, each way.
The negatives - the outside of the hotel is quite plain and does not stand out. the only way we knew we were getting to the hotel is by seeing the flags outside and knowing where the park was. We looked into ordering room service for breakfast and quickly decided against it - no prices at all on the room service menu. We did order coffee one day - we were charged $20. Never, ever again. Yes, they are running a special right now, of paying for 2 nights, and if you stay a 3rd night, it is "free". Breakfast is not included. So to sum it up, I'd say if a guest is on an expense account and money is absolutely no object, stay here. A lot of business types. Othewise, look somewhere else for better value. Boston is chock full of hotels - I realize now we did not have to worry about the location - we just didn't know it before. But, because we walked everywhere we went, several times a day, we now know we can stay somehwere else, and it will be fine. We are planning to return to Boston in the future with at least 1 of our children, but we will stay in a hotel closer to the wharfs next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasbutterfly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to know that the staff you encountered during the visit was superb; we do strive to provide warm, passionate guest service always, delivered by employees who take great pride in what we do. We are proud as well of our beautiful location across from the Public Garden. Thank you also for your feedback on Room Service; we appreciate less than stellar feedback as much as we appreciate glowing feedback, as that what ensures we continually enhance - and advance - the guest experience. We have a wonderful Kid-Kation package that features great value (including the second room at 50% off, a $30 breakfast credit in The Bristol Lounge, a visit from the Ice Cream Man, and more); we hope that when planning a next Boston visit with your children you will perhaps give the Hotel another opportunity to provide that "wow" experience...we are confident we can. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were there for a board meeting and a couple of extra days to enjoy the City of Boston. At check in we were upgraded to a Suite and offered a cold beverage, which was very nice on a day that the Temperature was 99 degrees. The Room was exceptionally large and the Bed was very comfortable. Lots of Closet space and drawers were plenty.

There was a very nice sitting room attached to the bedroom, with a 42 inch flat screen TV and a nice sized work space.

Turn down service takes place quite early in the evening, about 4:30 PM during each day our four day visit.

The Maid service was excellent and prompt.

One day we ordered room service and it was on time, hot and delicious. The Coffee was great and the Orange Juice was fresh squeezed. A very nice way to wake up. I had breakfast in the Grille another day and the service was wonderful and my Eggs Benedict dish was perfect.

The only fault I could find with this Hotel is the lack of a coffee maker in the room. There is a coffee and latte/cappuccino service in the lobby early in the morning, but that meant I had to go to the lobby and bring my coffee back to the room to enjoy while reading the morning paper... only a slight pain.

The location of the Hotel is perfect for a visitor to Boston. Within walking distance to most historic sites, including the Theatre District, Boston Common and Public Garden and right across the street. Shopping on Newbury Street is a 3 minute walk. Beacon Hill and some great restaurants are across the Common, about a 10 minute stroll. And, for those Baseball Fans, the Arlington Street Subway station is 3 minutes up Boylston, and for $2 you can get to Fenway in about 15 minutes and enjoy a sporting event in one of the few remaining sporting Shrines.

We enjoyed a great trip to Boston and a great Hotel experience at the Four Seasons Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daytripp-r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed in a park view room which was very nice. However the bathroom was small and in need of a renovation. Come on, a tub that also is a shower should not be at a Four Seasons. These days it should be a standard that Four Seasons bathrooms should have a separate tub and shower. Besides that, the hotel itself is nice, not spectacular. They do have a very nice gym with all the most updated equipment such as weight machines, elliptical and treadmills with iPod access, etc. The location is perfect because it's right next to Boston Garden and also near all the great historical sights. The staff was great. The concierge was very helpful, and room service was delicious andcalways on time. Besides the need for an extensive renovation of the bathrooms, I would still go back and stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usopenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moodus, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Nice hotel.great location good service. Fair price

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

For a city like Boston this room was almost too big for 1 person, but who's complaining. I guess the regular rooms were booked so this upgrade was appreciated. The location is incredible - park views and everything you would expect from Four Seasons as far as service and details. This was a business trip but I would certainly use this hotel for a couples weekend or family getaway. You can pretty much walk to everything, great restaurants, shopping, historical sites, parks etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agpklp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,505 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in Bristol Restaurant and Bar, Boston's favorite destination for dining and drinks, featuring New England seafood, steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and special, seasonal events. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing