We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Service and Views...but noisy! I preferred the Four Seasons for the price...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Service and Views...but noisy! I preferred the Four Seasons for the price...”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Management has evidently done a superb job of teaching its employees to offer exemplary, friendly, efficient service in this hotel on the waterfront. Views to the harbor with its yachts, schooners and ferries were beautiful... Shannon, at the reception desk, was hugely helpful to us and Concierge Rob Fournier was ever-ready to assist; even the late-night room service delivery was handled with gracious sincerity! They couldn't do enough for us and every request was met with care. But...we heard every skipping child and closing door in the hallway from our relatively small room, and I preferred the Back Bay neighborhood with its Public Garden and the serene, luxurious comfort at the Four Seasons for the same price. My husband enjoyed the boats so much that he disagreed, so we will have something to discuss when returning to Boston!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aLITTLESpoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,470
    277
    64
    21
    18
See reviews for
460
681
76
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I spent four nights during the 4th of July here and I am so happy we chose this hotel. From the moment you arrive you are greeted like you are king and queen! Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful. I was born and raised in R.I. so I am not a stranger to Boston, but after being away for so many years (43), we decided to be complete "tourists" and did ALL of Boston including - North End, Chinatown, Back Bay, Beacon Hill, Financial District, Waterfront - and even walked the whole Freedom Trail. In four days we walked 31 miles, even walking to the U.S. Constitution and up the 294 steps of the Bunker Hill Monument., Boston is a great walkiing city and so easy to get around, especially with the T which took us to Harvard. The there is the Harbor Cruise we took (90 minutes) to the outer islands and around the bay.

Back to the hotel, we are light sleepers and NEVER heard a sound in our room. A big plus. Room was nice, not much different in size from any other nice hotel (smallish bathroom) and decorating was very pleasing. The room was always spotless.

There are so many awesome restaurants in Boston that we chose not to eat at the hotel but we did spend our first night eating a small meal outside on the dock while listeniing to their blues band play. I had the Ipswich clams and they were a bit off. Only ate 1/4 of them. Waiter didn't seem to care. Only other thing we didn't like was in their bar which is inside the restaurant. The head bartender was full of himself and even berated and chastised two of the waiters right in front of us. (Only 6 stools at the bar.) I had to ask for water three times before I finally got some from a different bartender. It was about 5:00pm and three bartenders were setting up the bar and taking inventory They were constantly talking to each other and never tried to be friendly with anyone at the bar. It was like we were in the way. Being such a small bar, it was very distracting and not relaxing at all, so we left to find a quieter place to sit.

Apart from that one incident, the stay was perfect. Oh, and the health club was awesome. The hot tub was almost as big as a small livingroom! My husband would go down every morning to get his workout in and they had a room set up with coffee, juice, TV, etc. So at least he could bring coffee up to the room without using room service. The spa was immaculate, including the locker room, which was huge. The pool was Olympic size.

Perfect location to walk to Quincey Market for a bite to eat and close to the North End where we ate at Giacomo's for dinner. Long wait but worth it. Lots of fun.

Ate great steamers at Rusty Dog at Quincey Market and had a wonderful lobster roll at the restaurant at the Marriott Long Wharf, the way a lobster roll should be (chunks of lobster, a bit of mayo and a bit of celery stuffed inside a hot dog bun that is toasted).

Oh, and THE VIEW! !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caliey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This is a hotel that knows how to welcome and take care of its guests. The staff was friendly, attentive and helpful throughout our stay. We had a room with a harbor view and it was simply spectacular -- sitting in the room was its own tourist attraction. The room itself was spacious and well appointed, and had the usual niceties such as robe, slippers, upscale bedding, etc. Another nice touch: free internet access (think of how many hotels in this price range take the occasion to ding you another $10-15 for internet service). The health club and large pool were also first-rate and, again, the staff really made a difference. Location was good for walking around, and Boston has to be one of the best cities in the USA for walking. Another extra -- at least until mid-September -- is the free outdoor entertainment dockside in the evenings. I am generally wary of hotel restaurants, but the Rowes Wharf Sea Grille was certainly an exception to my rule. The food was delicious. Also -- if you have a few extra minutes (and luggage you can easily schlep), take the water taxi ($10) to Logan airport from the hotel. Hotel to terminal check-in line took us 45 minutes, and that included a detour to pick up another passenger at a wharf about 10 minutes away. Nice view of the waterfront and it beats a crappy taxi through the tunnels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel. I live in Boston, but was staying here as part of an awards ceremony for 4 nights for work (6/15-6/19). I stayed in room 1018 (I was upgraded upon arrival to a Harborfront room). Personally I didn't think the room was that small for a room in Boston as other reviewers have indicated. It was immaculately clean. If anything was on the smallish side it was the bathroom. The bed was large and very comfortable and the view was outstanding. The service was good without being "in your face" (I personally hate "in your face" service at upper class hotels). The breakfast was served in the Meritage room but was a private buffet for our work function. I personally thought it was decent (esp. the fresh squeezed OJ), but have no idea what my employer was paying for it. So why not 4 stars? I separately researched what my room would have cost had I paid for it out of pocket at this time of year - including taxes easily around $600 per night. To me that is quite exorbitant for what you get. Again, this is a beautiful hotel, but I genuinely feel lik e you should be able to get a much better deal at nearby hotels. It's almost as if this place is priced for businesses where the travellers aren't paying out of pocket to stay there. I am thrilled my company paid for me to have the opportunity to stay there, but I never would stay there again at that price. Therefore I have said I would recommend the hotel to a friend IF they could get a great deal or if business were paying for it, but if you are paying for it out of pocket, my STRONG recommendation is to research a bit first.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boots123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The Boston Harbor Hotel is beautiful and everything about it is pristine and stylish. When we first walked in the front desk staff was falling all over himself to make us fell welcome it was really really amazing. At 3:20 every day there was a Cookies and milk delivered to your room and apples and candies in the hall.

Nightly during the summer there are concerts on the water. They are really really great the two nights that we were there both groups were excellent. Everything is walkable. The north end with the best Italian food that I have ever had was just 4 blocks down the water. There is a water taxi from Logan Airport that drops off right at the hotel. It's very very close to everything. Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, Quincy market and most things are very walkable.

The pool and spa are amazing! The tile needs replacing but everything is clean and well maintained.

Overall, An unbelievable experience in the very best location in Boston. You really can't go wrong!!

I welcome all your questions if you want to know anything specific just contact me!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewtscheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Hotel is within walking distance of financial center for meetings. Walking to Chinatown and the Back Bay area is also possible if you have time. Shopping in area is not as good as the Back Bay.

Only one meal at the hotel (Sea Grille) for breakfast which was excellent. Sea Grille eggs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gambit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We just spent the weekend at the Boston Harbor Hotel, and loved every moment of it. The location is superb, as there is so much in walking distance. The North End, Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market, and even the Aquarium are right next door. The Aquarium T stop was also in the immediate vicinity, which made travel quite easy.

We walked all over, had lunch at the Union Oyster House, dinners in North End and also on Charles Street - just terrific!

The rooms are spacious and modern with lovely decor, the staff is friendly and helpful. Self parking on the premises is easy and far cheaper than valet, and there is a lower weekend rate.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,634 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing