We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, beautiful views, lovely accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautiful views, lovely accomodations”
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We just spent the weekend at the Boston Harbor Hotel, and loved every moment of it. The location is superb, as there is so much in walking distance. The North End, Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market, and even the Aquarium are right next door. The Aquarium T stop was also in the immediate vicinity, which made travel quite easy.

We walked all over, had lunch at the Union Oyster House, dinners in North End and also on Charles Street - just terrific!

The rooms are spacious and modern with lovely decor, the staff is friendly and helpful. Self parking on the premises is easy and far cheaper than valet, and there is a lower weekend rate.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    276
    64
    21
    18
See reviews for
454
679
76
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
557 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 803 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

I stayed here for one night attending a business event (held at the hotel's Wharf Room overlooking Boston Harbor). My room was average size with traditional decor. It faced the city. The window opened (part-way) - the weather was gorgeous so I let the warm air in. The bed was large and comfortable - I want to buy their pillows! I also liked the bathrobes and slippers. The room had a DVD player, a flat screen TV, and a minibar, as well as a desk, a couple of chairs, and a small table. The bathroom was not large but comfortable with nice amenities.
I had room service twice - the food arrived on time and was reasonably priced and delicious. I had their crabmeat and avocado salad for dinner one night and crabmeat omelet the next morning. Everyone was friendly and polite. I wish I had enough time to try their spa.
One thing I did not like is that their gym closes at 9pm. I got back from my event and wanted to work out a bit before doing more work, but could not... I don't think the gym needs to stay open all night, but at least until 10pm would have been much more convenient.
I had a good stay and would return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Tremendous property overlooking Boston's waterfront - rooms have been recently renovated, luxurious beds and the usual amenities associated with a 4/5 star property. Staff is attentive; but, not overbearing.

On this trip we decided to use room service as much as possible and had previously eaten at this hotel's restaurants. Unfortunately, the quality of the room service food did not match the quality of the food delivered to your room. Food was often cold, stale bread and croutons in salads and side dishes, and overly ripe fruit. To the credit of the hotel they refunded all of our room service charges; but, there is a serious disconnect between the restaurants on the property and the ability to deliver an adequate product to one's room.

Spa service was above average when compared to similar properties.

All in all - one of the best in Boston if you're not using in-room dining...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

This one of the three five star hotels in Boston and I really cannot fault the hotel. This time I got a suite looking over the ferry piers and out toward Logan. I just like the way that everything works, with plugs in the right place, tv remotes that work and the basics that even many five star hotels get wrong.

People very nice and quite frankly one of the few hotels that does what it is meant to do and does not leave you annoyed over one aspect or another. Excellent.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jolly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed three nights in the Boston Harbor Hotel. We absolutely loved it, and it was our favourite of the three hotels we stayed in during our trip to Boston and New York. The staff were extremely helpful and the attention to detail was very good.

Our room was stunning. We had a harbour view room, which was well worth paying the supplement for as the view across the harbour towards the airport is spectacular, seen through floor-to-ceiling windows. The room was very big, with a large seating area in front of the window, and a separate dressing area, as well as a great bathroom with Penhaligon's toiletries. The turndown service always left us each a bottle of Fiji water.

One of our favourite features of the hotel was the breakfast. The serving staff were great, and couldn't do enough for you. For instance, one day I hadn't finished my orange juice and instead of leaving it, they gave it to me in a sealed plastic cup to take away, and filled the cup up to the top as a bonus! When we were leaving breakfast each day, they always offered us a coffee to take away. And the breakfast, which we had on an inclusive rate, was always too large to finish. On the Saturday, they offered a buffet-style breakfast, rather than a la carte, but the buffet offered a very varied selection and we liked it just as much.

We also loved the swimming pool and spa. Gym clothes are provided for you if required, and the pool is around 20m long, so ideal for swimming lengths. The spa had a calming atmosphere and I had a fantastic massage one day.

If we were to find (slight) fault with the hotel at all, it would be to point out that its location is not right in the centre of things. It's around a fifteen minute walk from the Freedom Trail, for example, and 5-10 minutes from the subway. But it's hardly out of town either, and there are plenty of taxis available.

We cannot wait to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T&P&Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night to see the 2010 Winter Classic at Fenway Park. I got upgraded to a junior suite and couldn’t have been happier with the room. The room was very spacious and included a large bathroom, large bedroom, and separate sitting area with a desk. We arrived at the hotel on the morning of the Winter Classic and we were able to get a ride in the hotels car to the game at Fenway. The service at this hotel is definitely top notch as they are very much willing to cater to your every need. The bed was very large and comfortable and the room included 2 HDTV's which was great so that you could either watch TV in bed or in the separate sitting area. The hotel also had free wifi which is also an added bonus.

Overall, I was very pleased with my short stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again on my next visit. Preferably the next time I visit Boston the weather will be a bit warmer so that I can enjoy the harbor right outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We generally stay in moderate or bargain places but decided to splurge during the holidays. We stayed one night on the way from DC to Maine and bought the family package with cocoa, aquirium tickets, and valet parking. The whole experience was great. The room had a great view of the harbor and was a short hike to the North End. The staff treated us very well. With parking and aquirium tickets the overall price was a good value. For once I didn't feel like a cheap Dad cutting corners, nor did I feel ripped off at a pretentious place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindinmoskva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,565 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,167 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing