We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in every detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My son got married at the Boston a Harbor Hotel last fall, and I admit this review is overdue, but I am posting this mostly to once again express my thanks and compliments to the management and staff of this fine hotel for their excellent service and attention to detail. We had several rooms for family members and friends and spent three nights, enjoyed the hotels amenities, the restaurant, the catering (wow!) and more. Everything was excellent. I can't say enough about how nice this hotel is, how welcome they made us feel, how much they helped a family friend who stayed at the hotel and is handicapped, how every staff member addressed me by name, even when I had not introduced myself, the milk and cookies left with turn down service, super pet friendly, fabulous food, If I start to list the ways this review it will get tediously long, so let me say:
Catering and venue 5 stars
Rooms 5 stars
Dining 5 stars
Service 5 stars +

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view. Spectacular! But if you get a city view, you won't be disappointed!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Weddings have a special place in our hearts at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and we are extremely pleased to hear that your celebration was made exceptional by our property and the efforts of our dedicated staff. We are very happy that our service levels, accommodations and dining options made your stay 5-star worthy and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is our hope to welcome you back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,909)
There are newer reviews for Boston Harbor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from the end of May for 5 nights. We arrived in our hired car to be greet by staff who looked after our parked car while we checked in and had been shown to our upgrade room. Returned to the car and took it to the car hire along the road. What a fabulous welcome and organisation. This excellent service continued throughout the remainder of our stay, from reception, room, pool and resturant staff. We ate in the Rowes Wharf Sea Grille for breakfast (outside at the Wharf Front) and evening meal on 3 occasions. The standard of of food was excellent and on the last night we thought of having the lobster, but unsure of the quantity which would be offered we asked the reception at the sea grille, without hesitation the staff member went off and brought the chef who explained fully how the lobster would be prepared. The meal was excellent and on two occasion Phil Huber the restaurant manager enquired about the standard of meal etc.
The situation of the hotel is good for access to the Wharf front, Faneuil Hall (do not forget to go upstairs), Freedom Trail out to Bunker Hill.
Without doubt the most outstanding hotel we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRAVELBUGGalashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Creating an exceptional experience for each and every one of our guests is our steadfast commitment and we are thrilled to see we accomplished that with you. It was our pleasure to assist you in any way we could and we will be sure to share your high praise of our staff with everyone. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your meals and the service levels you received from our staff. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Amazing location superb service and we loved it. The hotel is a short walk to all the main attractions. Breakfast on the rear patio overlooking the water.... Great way to start the day. Not a cheap stay but if you want somewhere special this is the place.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank 1468VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

We are delighted that your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf was one that exceeded your expectations. Your compliments for our central location are sincerely appreciated and we look forward to welcoming your return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We enjoyed 2 nights at the Boston Harbor Hotel. The service was very good, and we enjoyed seeing all of the weddings that took place over the weekend. The restaurant was also very tasty, with lots of fresh seafood.
I would highly recommend the location, which is just steps from the aquarium and many other tourist type activities.

We stayed in a rotunda suite, which was outfitted nicely but could use a bit of an update. Hotels should know by now that we cannot stand those clingy shower curtains-;)! The doors squeaked quite a bit between the living area and the bedroom. This was only a problem in that we had a child sleeping in the other room. All around, a friendly city destination.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissamce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

We strive to maintain the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort to our guests, so we are happy to read that so many aspects of your stay were enjoyable. We do appreciate your suggestions and will have our Maintenance Engineers look into any issues with the doors in your room. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back to the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf the next time you are in Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Very high standard hotel. Luxurious room with all the facilities you would expect. Nice restaurant overlooking the water. Pleasant staff throughout. Front desk recommendations for restaurants in Boston were excellent as were the tips for shopping, trip to Harvard, JFK Library, etc. Seemed to be a mix of clientele with families & business types.

We had a late night flight & were welcome to use the spa facilities even after we'd checked out. This was a nice way to freshen up before the long journey home.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: They charge more for a harbour view vrs a city view. I guess you would have plenty to look at either...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_Aston_N420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

It always makes us happy to learn when our valued guests thoroughly enjoy their stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. Hearing that you had the opportunity to relax, as well as take some time to explore our wonderful city is wonderful. Thank you for taking a moment to post your review and let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. The pleasure would be ours to have you return and we hope it is soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had been staying on Cape Cod and decided to spend an extra night away so chose to revisit Boston. I had made the reservations a couple of weeks in advance. We checked in to find we had been upgraded to a Rotunda suite with a partial harbor view - a very pleasant surprise. The suite was nicely decorated and appeared to have been recently renovated. The king-sized bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in - if we could have found a way to get it into our car I'd have wanted to bring it home with us! We had a great night's sleep and I enjoyed the updated bathroom fixtures.
We had room service the first night. The food arrived very promptly, even though the hotel was very busy. I have a cobb salad, which was very well prepared, and my husband had a steak that he declared to be 'delicious'. Next morning we had breakfast next to the harbor - opted for the buffet, which was a tad pricey but a fine selection. And, of course, the view....
I note that some reviewers fault this hotel as not being hip or modern enough. But I think that it is reliably of high quality (we've stayed here before), and yes, the location is amazing. But, in my opinion, so is the hotel.

Room Tip: Obviously, a room with harbor view is very desirable. Higher floor probably better, also.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

What a truly relaxing and enjoyable experience you have described! Thank you so much for sharing your enjoyment of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We are so pleased to hear that all aspects of your stay, from your luxurious accommodations to your dining choices, were absolutely exceptional. Please come and visit us again soon and we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon and we cannot fault our stay. The room was exquisite and the bed and pillows are the best! Very clean and excellent size rooms. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Thank you for a lovely stay and we would definitely come again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank carlotahughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Congratulations from all of us here at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We are honored that you chose to stay with us during such an important time in your lives and pleased that we were able to make it so memorable. Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our staff. It would be our pleasure to have you return in the near future and we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,862 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,314 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 84 in Boston
1,122 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $364 - $942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing