We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
HOLLYWOOD,FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it...”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is one of my husband's favorite hotels. He and I stayed two nights in March 2014. I don't remember if we were upgraded but our room was wonderful. It was one big long room divided into sleeping area w/tv and sitting area w/tv, couch, chair, desk. The bed and bedding was what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The room had lots of storage for your clothes. The bathrooms were nice. Unlike another reviewer, it was very quiet on our floor: the 10th. They provided a coffee maker in the room and complimentary coffee downstairs in the cafe in the mornings. Also, there is a Starbucks next door is that is your favorite. The bar is beautiful with dark wood - what you would expect in historic Boston. The bartenders were terrific. We did not eat in the hotel. The Boston Harbor Hotel is located on the Harbor and you can take a water taxi to the airport. We didn't do this because it was unseasonably cold when we were there. The location is wonderful with great Harbor views. All staff were pleasant and helpful. We will be returning soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a couch and chair. You will get a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAKOTA39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Learning that our hotel is your husband’s favorite place to stay makes us smile! Thank you for sharing your experience at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf with us! We are very happy that your stay was relaxing and that the breathtaking views from your room made it even better. Please visit us again soon for another exceptional stay and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,470
    277
    64
    21
    18
See reviews for
460
681
76
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I don't know if I happened to stay in the noisiest room in the noisiest four days, and my colleagues also stayed in the noisiest rooms, but we could not sleep without earplugs.

The doors to the rooms don't fit the frame closely, and noise from the corridor is not shut out at all. I packed towels around the gaps and put in ear plugs, but every sound from the corridor still came in.

It appears this is a known problem - when I mentioned it at the front desk they said they were planning a renovation and would be fixing this.

Apart from this, everything else about this hotel is magnificent. If you can get a room at the end of a floor, away from the lifts, you'll have a great night's sleep. If you're close to the lifts, and have staff and guests making noise as they walk past your room, prepare to sleep badly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairButHarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
While we are happy to read that for the most part, your stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf was enjoyable, we do regret that your sleeping hours were impacted by noise. We will have our Maintenance Engineers look into any issues with door to your room and see if there are any fixes that will reduce outside noise. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is the quintessential 5-star hotel, complete with hotel room details, exemplary guest service, & satisfying amenities. We stayed one night to enjoy Boston on a cold, rainy night in March, & our experience at this hotel made us forget how chilly & wet we were when we returned. The views of the harbor are beautiful & abrupt, & worth whatever the extra amount is if you have any appreciation for water views. The quality overall was fantastic & I hope to have a chance to stay here again.

Room Tip: Simply book a harbor view room. It won't matter after that, but I guess the higher the better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We genuinely feel privileged to be one of your favorite places to stay in Boston. It is always our goal to deliver exceptional quality and service to all of our guests, and we appreciate you sharing how much your stay was impacted by the excellent service levels you received. We would be so pleased to have you as a guest again in the future and we hope that it is soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our third annual trip to the Boston Harbor Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the time we got out of our car until we checked out, everyone seemed to know our name. The concierge recommended two great restaurants and was able to squeeze us in when reservations were "unavailable." The room was outstanding, the service memorable. My wife loves this hotel and would move in if she could.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
It means a lot to us to learn that you choose to return to the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf year after year to celebrate such a special time in your life as your wedding anniversary. Thank you for providing such generous praise of our staff; we will be sure to pass your comments along. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we sincerely appreciate your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaconsfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Overall a great experience. Outstanding service, particularly from the concierges, and from a very knowledgeable barman in the Meritage. Harbor view room had great view but was a bit small at the price. also a squeaky safe and faulty window catch. Position great for all attractions in the city.

Room Tip: Harbor view is terrific, but 10th floor has a ledge which obscures it slightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mactazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that the interactions with our staff fully impressed you! We appreciate you letting us know about the concerns you had in relation to your guestroom and we will promptly have our Maintenance Engineers look into fixing both. We hope you had fun exploring the area surrounding the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and we look forward to greeting you again in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here April 4th and 5th in a Queen Harbor view Corner room. There was a small army working the front doors on our arrival who were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We arrived early at 11 AM and checkin is @ 15:00 hrs, so our room was not ready. The concierge searched his inventory and asked if we would like a Queen room instead of the King we had reserved. I wasn't took keen on this until he said it was a corner room. Great room with big windows on 2 sides. There was absolutely no noise heard during our stay in this room. The staff were always ready to help out or answer any questions and all were very professional. The WiFi in the room was fast and the beds comfy. The last morning I went down to the front desk to ask for a late checkout and was told that I could check out anytime I required with no additional cost. First time I've not been charged for this so was I was quite happy. There is nothing I can say but this hotel is first class and we will be back this summer.

Room Tip: We were in room 1002 which gave a great view of the harbor as well as a view to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankie1Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review about your experience at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. Our staff genuinely cares about providing thoughtful care of our guests, and your account precisely describes who we strive to be for our guests. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a restful night’s sleep and were able to fully enjoy the outstanding views from our corner rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Spent six nights at this hotel during a spate of rainy, snowy spring weather and still had a blast. The room was large, quiet, clean and well-appointed. Free WiFi, turndown service, and staff knew my name. Concierge consistently provided great ideas and suggestions. Hotel bartenders were friendly and willing to mix up my favorite bourbon and Bailey's nightcap. The basement gym has plenty of space, equipment and helpful staff. Pick your newspaper and it'll be on your doorknob in the morning.

The on-site business center helped me ship an enormous box and never batted an eye.

The hotel is on the water so close to many urban eateries, the T station, and great running/walking paths. You can't swing a dead cat and not hit a friendly Irish pub. It's an easy trip on the Silver Line from the airport to South Station and a few blocks up the street to the hotel.

I'll return for business and pleasure as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Free morning coffee is available at the fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeets_miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
While the weather just could not make its mind, we are so happy that you decided to stay with us at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf! We are delighted you decided to enlist the help of our business center and Concierge in making your stay even more convenient. Thank you for your gracious compliments for both our staff and property. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,630 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,206 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing