We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy, but a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Many other review sites seem to give this place a bad rap. We stayed there for 2 nights in early February and you can't beat the location. Close to everything (Boston Symphony Orchestra, Quincy Market, Copley Square),T-stop one block away, many great restaurants right across the street (you can't go wrong with Legal Sea foods). The room, while not large, was suitable for our needs and very quiet. And, it was very easy to take our dog with us, which saved a bunch on boarding, not to mention he was much happier being with us. There was a nice little park across the street to walk him in, and then of course the other direction a block is the beautiful Boston Garden. All in all, for the price, it was a great hotel in the perfect spot.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We are delighted that you found our location to be so convenient during your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, and we are pleased to hear that your pooch also enjoyed his stay! It is always our goal to create a pleasant and comfortable stay for all of our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

Last stop in our New England college tour with our 3 kids. After a week of more downscale hotels, this was a perfect way to end our trip. Service was top notch, cookies and milk for the kids in the afternoon, terrific workout room (though very busy and perhaps some of the gear and toys could be culled a bit--it's a little crowded with gear as well). Very comfortable and spacious rooms. We had 2 adjoining rooms in a suite like arrangement which was perfect-enough space for them, enough privacy for my husband and me, but still, we could congregate as a family, too. Easy walk to Quincy Market and Aquarium and Chinatown. T stop just 2 blocks away. Got to satisfy my lobster roll craving at James Hook 1 block away, too. Yum. Can't beat that!! Didn't have the wi-fi problems mentioned below. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swuwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

What a great way to end a family getaway! We are so pleased to hear that everyone had a memorable time at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and we hope your visits to area colleges were just as enjoyable. Thank you for mentioning how convenient our hotel is in comparison to many wonderful Boston attractions! We hope to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

During a recent tour of the US I spent three nights in this hotel, I used the express train to travel from New York city and walked from the station to the hotel. The train wasn't as 'express' as I was expecting but the views were stunning. I stayed in a harbour view deluxe room and the views were great, I am a fan of the Rizzoli & Isles TV programme and can actually see my room during the title sequence.

The room was spacious and the bed comfortable most of the downtown areas are within an easy walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kik38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

We are certainly quite honored to have been a memorable part of your tour of the United States! Thank you for taking the time to share your enjoyment of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We strive to provide the utmost in care and comfort to our guests and it seems we met that goal with you. It would be our pleasure to have you return in the future and we are grateful for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

During a recent tour of the US we spent 3 nights here. We arrived in Boston on the Acela Express. The distance from Boston South Station to the hotel is walkable, if you are not carrying large amounts of luggage.

Check in was efficient and easy. We had pre-paid for a Harborview Deluxe Room with king bed and that is exactly what they had for us.

We were at the far north end of the hotel, which is a reasonable walk from the Lift to your room. The room was spacious and comfortable & the bed was good with no problems sleeping. The lounge area with its separate TV was large, with sufficient room to both curl up on the sofa and watch TV.

The view from the room was outstanding, a superb vista across the bay, with the airport in the distance. One of the best hotel views we have had within a major city.

The room was very clean and housekeeping did a good job keeping it tidy. We were a little disappointed to return one snowy cold day at 15:00 hours to find the room hadn’t been sorted. Strangely they didn’t have any way to indicate that they could service the room, which we normally hang out / switch on when we head out.

Wireless was free but ultimately useless, signal was strong but you could only occasionally log in and would not be connected for long. Perhaps it is the room’s location in the building (as I said at the far north end) but given the signal was strong the intermittent issue would seem to lie elsewhere. Mentioned this to the hotel who said they would look into it but it wasn’t resolved by the time we left.

Overall the staff were great, always helpful and polite. Concierge booked a show for us and made a number of very good recommendations regarding places to eat.

We used the spa facilities, the pool was excellent and perfect for getting some lengths done.

Overall a minor wireless niggle but overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

How wonderful that the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf provided you with a comfortable and relaxing place to stay during your tour. We hope that you enjoyed the United States while here and are pleased that you felt your stay with us was one of the best. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience of spotty Internet service. We are aware that issues were occurring at the time of your stay, and we have now corrected the problem. Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our dedicated staff and for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I came here with my husband to celebrate my 40th birthday dec 2013, our room was upgraded to kingsize deluxe harbour view suite and was simply wonderful. I have never encountered such attention to details/comfort/service. My husband developed dental pain and the help we received ensured he was dealt with very quickly.
The views, the food, facilities (amazing jacuzzi pool) are nothing without the awesome staff the BHH is fortunate to employ.

I will be returning and recommending this Hotel to everyone, it simply made my Birthday so wonderful. Thank you X

Room Tip: Call ahead if it's a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canna1076982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Your review has certainly made us smile! We are so pleased to hear that your stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf contributed to an extra-special birthday celebration for you and we appreciate your recommendation and kind compliments for our staff. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another exceptional stay very soon and we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The concierge was wonderful, making dinner reservations, getting us train schedules, and giving us all sorts of tips to see what we wanted with our limited time. The room was beautiful and appointed with lovely furnishings.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the top floor - a city view that was beautiful. It was quiet and serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

The staff at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf is committed to providing attentive service to all of our guests, and we are pleased that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our Concierge services. It was our pleasure to welcome you as a guest and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

There is something quintessentially Bostonian about this place. I has a view over Boston Harbour and enjoyed the infrequent, regular sounds of the tugs as they made their way across the bay. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Service lovely and food good. If I had one minor moan it was a lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room! The gym was also good with a very helpful attendant and reasonably sized pool. But I'll be back,

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

It was our pleasure to welcome you as a guest at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and to create an enjoyable experience for you. Please note that coffee service is available every morning in our lobby and can also be provided through Room Service. We are pleased that you had an opportunity to utilize our fitness center and pool and hope that you will return soon for another great stay very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
4,995 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 86 in Boston
2,432 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#37 of 86 in Boston
2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $315 - $890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing