We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, not really for young people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice hotel, not really for young people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

A very nice hotel despite a one very rude waiter. The hotel is in a nice walking distance from lots of restaurants, and a shops and even a 24 hour Seven Eleven 2 minutes away. ( I would avoid it after 11 p.m though gets kind of sketchy.) Most of all the staff seemed like they were genuinely being nice to us and were very helpful pointing us where we needed to be. The aquarium is walking distance from the hotel, you are going to need to walk everywhere because parking is nonexistent. Parking is 40.00 dollars a night but you can come and go as you please and leave your car there until five. Now I have to problem getting asked for identification I usually carry around my passport and school I.D because I know I look very young, but the waitress was so NASTY AND RUDE about it when asking for it and even made us wait for a very long time when we sat down. But I am not going to mark down the hotel or say it was bad for one bad egg, because after all I am 21. All in all if you are a younger crowd looking to just have fun and don't look a....certain way... there is a Marriot right down the road.

Room Tip: not for younger people. very nice view. parking is not cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette12322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy that the convenient location of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf worked out so well for you, but regret to read that an interaction with one staff member left you with a less-than-perfect experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff in the hopes of re-emphasizing our commitment to stellar customer service and we appreciate you alerting us to this issue. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    273
    63
    21
    18
See reviews for
450
674
76
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

It's the third time in Boston and the second time at the Boston harbour hotel. It is now officially the only hotel that I will stay at while in Boston
From the cleanliness of rooms, and lobby. The reason that brought me back was for the service. The service absolutely immaculate. The concierge service was amazing, with every restaurant recommendation dead on. I highly suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We love hearing that each time you have visited our wonderful city and the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf that your experience has been more than memorable. Your many delightful compliments for our hotel and staff are sincerely appreciated by our team and we look forward to welcoming your return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgman, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

First trip to Boston didn't know area to stay - so I chose to stay at a couple hotels during my stay (Wharf @ a high price-Boston Common Area@ a reasonable price). I made the choice to stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel a several days because of the location and reviews and 5 star service. Received early check in, a city view room and given an upgraded room at no additional cost. The room was a nice size, loved the full-length window and the seating area. I was surprised at the lack of cleanliness of the bathroom- very noticeable mold in the show that had not been addressed. The location of the hotel was great, easy walk to Faneuil Hall and North End. For the price I don’t feel the need to go back to the Boston Harbor Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PracticingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. It is critical for us to receive this kind of feedback from our guests, so that we can have the opportunity to evaluate our service and make improvements when needed. We will have our Housekeeping staff promptly look into the issues you mentioned and we appreciate you alerting us to this concern. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our stay in the city was for both business and pleasure. We stayed for just one night but wished we were there longer. You really feel special as you come through the front door and the check in process was quick and friendly. We attended a cocktail reception on that Friday night. It was very nicely done and the food was outstanding....served by a great staff. Our "harbor view room" was beautiful and very comfortable....worth the few extra bucks for the view. We had bought a "romance package" which included a delicious breakfast (also included valet parking and champagne with strawberries....a very good value). We checked out at noon but we were able to leave our vehicle with valet until 5:00 that afternoon which was very convenient as we spent the day walking in the North End and Faneuil Hall....both just a relatively short walk from the BHH. I would highly recommend the hotel if you plan on seeing the sights along the waterfront of Boston. p.s. forgot to mention that they forgot to send our champagne and strawberries to the room.....they gave us a $100 credit off our bill which was more than fair...I don't care for champagne anyway!!

Room Tip: Opt for the harbor view room....it's spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We strive to maintain the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for our guests, so we were very happy to read that your stay with us was relaxing and truly left you feeling pampered. The convenient location of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf makes it easy for our guests to fully explore the exciting city of Boston and we are pleased that your stay included a chance to do just that. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope to have you return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

BHH is indeed a very good hotel, staff and service in top class. Why go elsewhere - well only if your business is in other end of town. Good restaurants, bar and very nice fitness center and SPA with 20m pool.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view and enjoy harbour the early morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik_BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We love hearing when we have created a truly positive experience for our guests and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Taking advantage of our luxury amenities while staying at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf just makes an already wonderful stay even better and we are so glad you had that opportunity. We look forward to welcoming your return the next time you are in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is an amazing hotel. Had a beautiful view of the wharf/pier area. The beds are amazing, the service is absolutely top-notch. It's a very close walk to the train station and it's also fairly close to little italy. Downtown is a bit more of a walk (15 min) but with all the history, it goes by very quickly. The fitness area in this gym is quite possibly the best I've ever seen in a hotel. Has a great steam room and sauna. Everything you'd expect from a 5 star hotel, not a bad thing to say about it. Not sure I could stay anywhere else in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drewsntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We are delighted that your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf was one that exceeded your expectations. Your many wonderful compliments for our hotel and staff are sincerely appreciated by our team and we are thrilled to hear you had the opportunity to explore a bit of Boston while you were here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Chocolate is almost always good…so, when we heard about a chocolate party at the Boston Harbor Hotel, we were excited with visions of decadent grandeur. However, the Above and Below Chocolate "Party" was nothing like we expected.

I guess I thought it would be something like a large venue filled with a lot of different tables/chocolatiers, displays, things to buy, etc.

Instead, for $38 per person—plus a $3 fee per ticket—it was like a sleepy brunch, inside the (lovely) rotunda room at the Boston Harbor Hotel.

There were three stations of tables. Each had about five choices of dessert samples. One of the stations was gluten free with some vegan choices. (Only a couple of items were tasty in this section, sadly.)

Very quiet. Not a ‘party’ atmosphere. You could buy chocolate drinks; and milk and water were free.

But, really...meh.

(P.S. If you decided to take advantage of the ice skating after the chocolate 'party,' then it may make a difference. I was told the skate rental and skating privileges were $20 for adults.)

Room Tip: The staff at the Boston Harbor Hotel is excellent. Warm, personable, attentive and professional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bonnie314T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf during our Above and Below Chocolate Party. We are truly disappointed that the event did not meet your expectations, but appreciate your feedback, as this will give us the opportunity to improve in the future. We would love for you to consider a staycation and come and enjoy an overnight at our hotel in the future! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,063 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing