We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not dissapointed”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

BHH is indeed a very good hotel, staff and service in top class. Why go elsewhere - well only if your business is in other end of town. Good restaurants, bar and very nice fitness center and SPA with 20m pool.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view and enjoy harbour the early morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik_BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We love hearing when we have created a truly positive experience for our guests and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Taking advantage of our luxury amenities while staying at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf just makes an already wonderful stay even better and we are so glad you had that opportunity. We look forward to welcoming your return the next time you are in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,480
    278
    66
    21
    18
See reviews for
464
687
76
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is an amazing hotel. Had a beautiful view of the wharf/pier area. The beds are amazing, the service is absolutely top-notch. It's a very close walk to the train station and it's also fairly close to little italy. Downtown is a bit more of a walk (15 min) but with all the history, it goes by very quickly. The fitness area in this gym is quite possibly the best I've ever seen in a hotel. Has a great steam room and sauna. Everything you'd expect from a 5 star hotel, not a bad thing to say about it. Not sure I could stay anywhere else in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drewsntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We are delighted that your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf was one that exceeded your expectations. Your many wonderful compliments for our hotel and staff are sincerely appreciated by our team and we are thrilled to hear you had the opportunity to explore a bit of Boston while you were here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Chocolate is almost always good…so, when we heard about a chocolate party at the Boston Harbor Hotel, we were excited with visions of decadent grandeur. However, the Above and Below Chocolate "Party" was nothing like we expected.

I guess I thought it would be something like a large venue filled with a lot of different tables/chocolatiers, displays, things to buy, etc.

Instead, for $38 per person—plus a $3 fee per ticket—it was like a sleepy brunch, inside the (lovely) rotunda room at the Boston Harbor Hotel.

There were three stations of tables. Each had about five choices of dessert samples. One of the stations was gluten free with some vegan choices. (Only a couple of items were tasty in this section, sadly.)

Very quiet. Not a ‘party’ atmosphere. You could buy chocolate drinks; and milk and water were free.

But, really...meh.

(P.S. If you decided to take advantage of the ice skating after the chocolate 'party,' then it may make a difference. I was told the skate rental and skating privileges were $20 for adults.)

Room Tip: The staff at the Boston Harbor Hotel is excellent. Warm, personable, attentive and professional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bonnie314T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf during our Above and Below Chocolate Party. We are truly disappointed that the event did not meet your expectations, but appreciate your feedback, as this will give us the opportunity to improve in the future. We would love for you to consider a staycation and come and enjoy an overnight at our hotel in the future! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have visited Boston many times and have always enjoyed the various hotels, but The Boston Harbor Hotel is now at the top of my list. Staff is superb! My room was very clean and comfortable and the harbor view was so relaxing. Had a late dinner in the bar and our server Jennifer was a delight. There is always someone to advise, help or just wish you a good day. Breakfast was to die for with the freshest berries and the most luscious pastries. Dinner at the Sea Grille exceeded our expectations, both in quality of food and service. All in all a perfect hotel and the only place I will stay on future visits. Keep up the good work! We were thrilled!

Room Tip: A harbor view is always so restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
It is always nice to hear how much our guests enjoy being treated to outstanding service levels and luxurious accommodations. Our goal is to provide the most memorable experience; one that inspires a return visit each time. Thank you for your kind compliments and encouraging words. We look forward to welcoming you back time and time again to the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

yes, it's more money than I wanted to spend!! but for all you get, it's a great value compared to the less expensive hotels! great location-service-sheets-towels-bathrobe-security-choice of restaurants and bars-great fitness options-great view-quiet rooms! I could go on and on!! actually, I think the less expensive hotels are overpriced in comparison to what I received here!!

sounds crazy, but that's how I felt leaving!! spent 2 nights with my daughter and were treated like royalty in a very quiet and understated fashion!! and the views of the harbor-WOW! that's my read on this place. i'm coming back!

Room Tip: high floor with water view--1412 great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoltare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are so pleased that you had the opportunity to spend some quality time with your daughter, enjoying a little extra attention from our staff. It is wonderful to hear that you felt the value of staying at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf matched your expectations. It would be our pleasure to have you and your daughter return for another great stay in the future and we absolutely appreciate the compliments you have shared in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed for long weekend to enjoy Boston as a tourist. The location is convenient to the seaport and many new restaurants in that area as well as the North end. With a pleasant room on the 10th floor, at the level of the dome/bridge gave us a great harbor view without any overhead rooms. The room was comfortable and the turn-down was nicely done, but tow very minor missing items, no chocolates and no coffee machine for a morning or afternoon tea to enjoy our fine view. The Grill restaurant for teas and lunches were great.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the 10th, connecting the two buildings are the "top floor" without any rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
It was absolutely a treat for us at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf to have been able to create such a positive experience for you. We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy the breathtaking views from your guestroom and received a comfortable night’s sleep while here. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille is a wonderful place to sit and relax for lunch, enjoy the views and the company of friends. We are excited to welcome you back in the future and we thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Both my husband and I are always giddy about visiting the Harbor. We've been taken care of by the thoughtful and engaged staff every time. The excellent views and locations keep us coming back for more. As far as the food, we've had most excellent to just good. I'll still be back to visit! Yes, it's pricy, but you'd spend it on other things, not as enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for rates while attending business functions
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardener1Sturbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We think of our hotel as being a special place and we are thrilled that you feel the same way! Enjoying the views from any guestroom at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf is truly an amazing experience and we are so pleased that you enjoyed them. Thank you for your kind words for our staff and for your loyalty to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,696 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,236 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 83 in Boston
1,107 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing