We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
168 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here while I was in town for a weekend long event (US Figure Skating Championships) at the TD Garden. We had a wonderful stay and had excellent service from the moment we pulled up to the hotel. We had a great view of the harbor. The room was fantastic. Very quite and close to attractions. Valet was quick when I called to retrieve my car. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkateGirl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
It is a guarantee that we would love to have you return, as well! Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We are pleased that our convenient location made it easy for you to enjoy the USFS Championships and provided you with easy access to the best that Boston has to offer. We would love to have you as a guest again in the future and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    271
    63
    22
    18
See reviews for
445
668
76
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Spent three nights in chilly Jan 14. Staff courteous and helpful. Sea Grill(e) restaurant excellent if you are a fish lover like me. My standard room was huge and very comfortable - though this is a chintz experience not boutique. Only gripes are that my room was too near the elevators - will be careful next time and that the internet connection was slow - I was in room 949. Will definitely book again though.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We are delighted that your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf was comfortable and met your expectations. Your compliments for our staff and dining options are sincerely appreciated and we will be sure to pass them along. We do apologize for any noise disturbances you encountered and would be please to assist you in finding the perfect room for any future stays. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This characterful hotel occupies an excellent location. All the sights of Boston are within easy walking distance. The Hotel itself is in a very old building and the conversion has been carried out so that the old stone walls are visible in many places. High speed internet was excellent, very comfy bed. We were impressed with the size of the room, the only negative would be that the bathroom could be better maintained. Some flaking paint was not enough to spoilt my stay however. Staff very friendly and cocktail hour in the bar every night!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
It was our pleasure to welcome you as guests at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and we are very happy to see that we were able to create a pleasurable experience for you. Thank you for alerting us to your concerns regarding the bathroom in your guestroom. We will have our Maintenance Engineers promptly address the situation and make repairs. We look forward to your return for another exceptional stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a prime location, right on Rowe's wharf. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and the spa/fitness center very well-equipped. This has become our go-to place in boston if we can get a reasonable rate. Lovely property.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank charlietrisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are delighted to hear that the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf is your favorite place to stay while in Boston! Our convenient location makes it easy for our guests to make the most out of their stay and we are thrilled it added such value to yours. We look forward to welcoming your return and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has lots of charm and is in a great location. I have stayed here probably 7-10 times in the last few years, and although the hotel is perfectly located for my commute to work,I don't think I'll be staying again because I rate the standard of the rooms better at other hotels in Boston. In particular the bathrooms need to be updated, while some of the rooms are exposed to noise from generators which can be white loud and disrupt sleep - which happened to me and even though I complained no compensation was offered for a ruined nights sleep! If you want to stay near the BHH though, BHH is better than the intercon next door, no doubt.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kapasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
It is certainly disappointing to hear that your most recent stay with us was challenging. We encourage our guests to reach out to us when they have any problems at all, so that we may immediately assist to correct any issues and make their stay comfortable. We certainly do apologize for any noise disruptions that you encountered and will have our Maintenance Engineers check into what may have been the problem. It would be our hope that you will continue to make the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf your home when in the area and we thank you for sharing your concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Generally, Boston Harbor Hotel is a good hotel and has great service. There are just a couple of things that really need to be addressed by the management. The maintenance and repairs at this hotel is bring the rating down.
Grout work in the bathroom is pretty bad. It looks bad and it is poorly done.
The mattress pad for the sofa bed is in bad shape - ripped and torn. I don't know why the housekeeping staff put the pad on when they made the bed when the rip is quite obvious.
These are issues that can be addressed without a lot of cost. The hotel is by no mean a bad hotel. They need to manage the maintenance and repair issues more carefully. Otherwise, it is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hpmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are thrilled that the service levels you received while here met your expectations however, we thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. Our Maintenance staff will promptly look into improving the issues you mentioned within the bathroom and your comments will be shared with our Housekeeping staff in order to pre-empt any further occurrences such as the one you describe. You are correct; there are times that simple fixes make the biggest difference. We welcome your return to the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this excellent hotel. Just pulling up to the front entrance makes you smile. The service is excellent. ( although maybe a few less bellmen) the room well appointed and the view wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildwood2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Just reading your review makes us smile! Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another exceptional stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,445 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing