We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay - would definitely return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - would definitely return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

My stay at the Boston Harbor was 5-star all the way. From the moment we checked in, we were treated like VIPs. Room was gorgeous, with incredible views. Service couldn't have been better. Location of this hotel is perfect, within walking distance to Faneuil Hall and many great restaurants - including the ones at the hotel. Had the best lobster roll of my life at the seafood shack a few steps away. Bar at the hotel was handsome and bustling late into the evening, unlike many... I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We are pleased to hear that your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf was enjoyable. It sounds like you had the opportunity to discover the many great dining establishments that surround our hotel, along with the amazing attractions that make Boston a great place to visit. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    271
    63
    22
    18
See reviews for
445
668
76
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have stayed in many luxury hotels. While this is not the absolute most luxurious of them, the Boston Harbor Hotel met or exceeded my expectations in every area. The hotel is lovely without being pretentious and has an old, genteel feel even though it is relatively new. Our room was spacious and cozy. There were lots of outlets--a whole suite of them in the desk alone--I mention this because a previous reviewer had complained of their scarcity. The wifi was fast. Everything was clean and in good condition. We had a city view with just a slice of the harbor, but it was beautiful.

What stood out the most for me, though, and the reason I will return without hesitation, was the impeccable service. Most luxury hotels provide special amenities, but the service at the BHH matched and often exceeded that of any other hotel where I've stayed. It was warm, friendly, and most of all sincere while still being impeccably professional. We had excellent food thorough room service and exceptional service all around. Everyone seemed happy to work there and genuine in wanting to ensure our comfort. I have stayed in a few Boston hotels, but will return to this one any time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: We had a city view corner suite. I'm sure the harbor views are spectacular, but the city view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We are flattered to be your new favorite hotel in Boston! The staff at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf genuinely cares about providing thoughtful care of our guests, and your comments precisely describe who we strive to be for our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spectacular city views from your guestroom and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Starting with our reservations, I felt the staff bent over backwards asking us if we had all that we needed. Everything you can say in terms of luxury and excellent service applies.
We swam at the spa and the staff there was most accommodating. We had two kids and no one frowned, or made us feel unwelcome. People were very friendly, chatty and helpful.
We stayed the days following the 2013 Boston Marathon so it was an unusual time to visit.
The only negative was we had two kids, and although there was to be cookies and milk for two, they kept delivering it for one. We had them share and it was not an issue, just a funny thing for them to miss.
However, we felt very comfortable, and very welcome. I would stay again and yes, I would also recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alh_boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
At the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, we always look forward to welcoming our younger guests with service and amenities that cater to their needs and interests, and we certainly do apologize that we missed an opportunity to make your children’s stay absolutely perfect. We are happy though, to read that the remainder of your stay was enjoyable and that you and your family were able to spend some quality time together. It would be our pleasure to have your family as guests again in the future and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I won a trip at work this year for achieving certain corporate goals. The prize was a trip to any city and any 5 star hotel in the US. My wife and I chose Boston as it was a place we both had never been. After some research on this site and others we chose the Boston Harbor Hotel. We were not disappointed. The room was great with a spectacular view of the harbor. The location was perfect with access to many types of transportation including water taxis that picked you up right in back of the hotel. Many things including some great Irish pubs were within walking distance. The entire staff bent over backwards at any request we made. All in all a truly great experience. Highly recommended if you can afford.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_T64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Congratulations on your success at work! We are truly honored to have been the location you and your wife chose to visit during your trip and we appreciate your kind recommendation. Thank you for your gracious compliments for our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back when you have the opportunity to visit Boston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, fantastic location, right on the Boston Harbor, just steps from Faniel Hall. Take a walk out back and down the walkway along the water, there was a wedding being set up which added to the beauty of the back terrace as we took a walk down the wharf. Get a water view room its well worth it, and what a view! Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel and all amenities appeared to be well updated, looked like everything was brand new, rooms are a very good size.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We just love the vibrant location of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and we absolutely love hearing from our guests that they adore it too! It is a guarantee that we would be thrilled to have you stay with us again and we thank you for sharing your positive experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

beautiful room, heat was blowing cold but fixed right away. first time in a deluxe room, well worth the extra money. had ice skating rink set up below arch-fun to watch.had a Christmas special rate great deal get on the e-mail list!

Room Tip: go for the deluxe-not much more but a LOT more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
It was our pleasure to welcome you as a guest at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We are pleased to see that our staff quickly assisted to fix any problems and helped to create an enjoyable experience for you. We look forward to your return for another exceptional stay and we appreciate your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

A last minute decision to take in the Christmas sights in Boston was made fantastic by our choice of hotel. Got a good deal booking at the last moment, but were treated like VIP's, even upgraded. The staff were great and friendly, remembered my wife's birthday at checkout. The room was stylish, no sign of tiredness. Large seating area in our room with a great city view. The water views must be great in summer. With its proximity to the Faneuil Hall district, the Aquarium and the North End it's a perfect base for exploring much of Boston. At full rate or discounted rate well worth it. The hotel was impeccable, fulfilling a long time wish of my wife to stay at this landmark hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Creating a memorable experience for each and every one of our guests at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf is our steadfast commitment and we are thrilled to see we accomplished that with you. We are pleased that your impromptu trip to the Boston area was made memorable by your stay at our hotel. Thank you for your kind compliments and we look forward to your return for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing