We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding hotel, great location, must stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Boston Harbor Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Getaway Package
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel, great location, must stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful hotel with amazing rooms. Beds are so comfortable and the location is perfect. On the water and also an easy walk into town, shops and parks. Only downside was I found the service in the bar to be slow and really unattentive.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank DutchDiverFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome you as a guest at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. Creating a memorable experience for each of our guests is our steadfast commitment and we are thrilled to see we accomplished that with your stay. We do apologize for any lack of service experienced and we will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We hope you will return soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    251
    57
    19
    15
See reviews for
394
581
69
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a day n then we left for xv beacon hill hotel coz of the location
I loved the spacious room n the bathroom not to mention how breath taking the view was and how well equipped and modern the rooms were.
The food was superb too.
Loved everything about this place but it's location wasn't for me as I love to walk to places.
Staff were very professional but we had an issue with payment as their machine didn't accept our card so we had to take a cab to an ATM machine in the middle of the night !!!!
Didn't like that treatment.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Zaid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We do apologize that our location did not meet your needs, as many of guests thoroughly enjoy our convenient location, which provides access to quite a large amount of Boston attractions. For future reference, there is an ATM located within walking distance in our complex and we do apologize if you were not made aware of that. We hope to have the opportunity in the future to change your opinion about our hotel. Your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of our all time favorite hotels when we stay in Boston. Beautiful views of the Harbor, plush beds, unbelievable service and superb location. Also recommend the restaurant, fine wines and great seafood cuisine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BocaMaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your appreciation of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. Learning that our hotel is your favorite place to stay when in Boston makes us very happy and we are thrilled that everything from our dining options to our incredible staff make your stays memorable. We are definitely looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was my first ever visit to Boston & I chose this hotel for the look for it & the great location since we were joining the cruise ship from Boston.

From the point when I first booked over the internet I knew I made the right choice, They offered me their limo service from Boston airport which was priced at $155 which seemed right & once I saw the car they sent & the service we received it seemed cheap at the price.

The hotel itself is right on the harbor itself which is a great location & as I had booked a harbor view room I was shocked when I saw I had a large balcony it was even better!!!

The room was made up of very top end items, beds & bedding, everything was 5 star!

The staff and service we both received was nothing short of perfect & even when we left they made sure we were not ripped off by a taxi driver over luggage charges! They made us feel like they were all there just for us!

We had breakfast there on the Sunday morning & it was a very good buffet breakfast but you could order items as well if you preferred.

All in all they made our short stay in Boston so great that we are already planning a return trip but this time for longer.

Room Tip: we had a harbour view on the corner on the 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and that our staff, location and accommodations made your stay 5-star worthy. It was certainly a treat for us to be able to create such a positive experience for you and we look forward to greeting you again during your next visit to Boston. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed at the Boston Harbor hotel this past weekend while visiting Boston for leisure with my boyfriend. We stayed in a harbor view room and spent a great deal of time watching the sail boats from our window. The room was beautifully decorated with gorgeous wood furnishings that resembled antiques (very appropriate for a historic city like Boston). The hotel's location is perfect! You're in the financial district and surrounded by lots of new delicious eateries, you're near Faneuil Hall and the other tourist attractions down town, and, you're also a ten minute walk from the North End where you can find tons of authentic italian restaurants. The bed in our room was great (I slept like a baby), and every night the housekeeping staff turns down your bed and brings you fruit and fiji water which was lovely. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Your kind recommendation of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf is sincerely appreciated. Our staff is committed to taking care of our guests, so we are delighted that while on vacation in Boston, all you needed to do was relax. We would love to welcome you both back again soon and we thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel right on the harbor walk. It's an excellent location, just steps from the most delicious lobster rolls, just turn left out the front door. And steps from the whale watch boats. We felt special staying there, the staff was superb. The beds felt like heaven after a day of walking and sight seeing and we are very picky about our bed. The pillows, sheets, comforter are so luxurious. Very impressed with housekeeping who came in twice a day to clean then to turn down beds and put out slippers. Everyone was so helpful in giving us directions and suggesting what to do. This place made our 4 days even more enjoyable. We arrived at the hotel by water taxi which started our adventure in Boston in such a perfect way. I would definetly stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Flipperfluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
How wonderful that you were able to enjoy the convenience of the water taxi when arriving at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf! The personalized service you received from our staff is something they strive to provide to each and every guest and we are thrilled that your stay was made enjoyable because of it. We look forward to welcoming your return the next time you are in Boston. Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Boston Harbor this past weekend. We found it to be in an excellent location for touring the city. Our first day there we caught the end of the Red Sox World Series parade. It was just a few blocks from the hotel. The North end with all the great Italian restaurants, the Old North Church, Quincy Market, Faneuil Hall, and Paul Revere's house was a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Overall the hotel was great. The concierges were very helpful, the bell men and doormen were great and the use of the hotel's Cadillac SUV to get to and from restaurants was an enormous help. The room was very large, very well appointed with a great view of the city and very quiet. The only flaws were that the wi-Fi in our room was spotty, and the service in the bar was hit and miss. When we went in the bar the first night we sat at a table in full view of the bar. The bartender saw us but kept talking to people sitting at the bar. When one of the other patrons told her we were there she said she would go find a waitress. Why not take our order? The waitress showed up periodically. We had to track her down to get our check. Those are the only 2 things that set me off. At $400.00 plus per night I would have expected a little more, but I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoeboxrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are happy to hear that your stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf afforded you easy access to many of Boston’s most popular attractions. It is however, disappointing to hear that the service levels you received did not match our high standards of customer service. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff as this type of feedback is very important to us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we hope that it is soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,892 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing