We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a very fine hotel. Location is a bit away from the center of things, but an easy walk to the Financial District, the North End, South Station, and the T. I had a deluxe king room on the 12th floor. Most hotels would call this room a junior suite, as it has a separate sitting area with a full size sofa and a very large closet/dressing area between the bedroom and the bathroom.

The amenities are excellent, including ample plush towels and top quality English toiletries. Service is really excellent - polished and friendly. The maids did a great job keeping the room clean and well-stocked with towels, etc. The health club was awesome, and included a large well-maintained pool and jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, and an unusually well equipped work-out room - all free of charge to hotel guests.

I was here for the marathon. The hotel provided a complimentary shuttle to the bus loading zone at the Common - a really nice touch.

A few negatives. The free internet is virtually worthless due to lack of bandwidth. There was quite a bit of noise from the hallway, especially from the service area adjacent to my room. Staff did not seem to realize how much noise they were making repeatedly slamming the door throughout the day. Finally, the front desk clerk who checked me in deliberately gave me the wrong type of room (Superior vs. Deluxe). This disturbing error was quickly rectified when I called to complain.

I've stayed at many Boston hotels over the years and would rank the Boston Harbor at the top level. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is really a junior suite and definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We strive to create an enjoyable visit for each of our guests and while we are thrilled that our luxury amenities made your stay more comfortable, we do regret that you encountered any inconveniences while here. Addressing the items mentioned within your review will be foremost on our list and we thank you for reaching out to us. We look forward to your next visit with us and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    273
    63
    22
    18
See reviews for
450
674
76
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff and facilities were at the Boston Harbor Hotel during my 5 day stay for the Boston Marathon. We arrived a little early for check-in on Thursday and were upgraded to a junior suite on the top floor which had an amazing city view. The suite was spacious and very comfortable. The health club facilities and pool were top-notch and I especially enjoyed the salt water pool. We had one of my most memorable meals ever at the Meritage restaurant and another excellent meal at the Rowe's Wharf Sea Grille. On marathon morning, I requested something quick to take with us for the race for breakfast and were prepared a wonderful carry-out of hot oatmeal and fruit. When my friend and I finally made it back to the hotel after the tragic bombing, they were so kind and helpful. They brought up buckets of ice for my friend's ice bath and hot chocolate for us. I was overwhelmed with how wonderful everyone was. Thank you Boston Harbor Hotel for making us feel so cared for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriDiMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
In the wake of the unbelievable events that occurred in our city, our guests became our central focus. It was certainly our pleasure to provide you and your friend the necessary means to prepare for race day and to find a little peace of mind post-race. Thank you for thinking of us and taking the time to post your kind review. We will be sure to share your review with our entire staff as we know it will brighten their day. It was an honor to have you and your friend stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Boston Harbour Hotel is a gem. I was blown away by their customer service, and to say that it was impeccable is an understatement. The staff at Boston Harbour Hotel not only help you when asked but they anticipate your needs. A special mention about the gentleman at the concierge during the day shift - he was extraordinary, everyone behind the desk was great but he was outstanding – he even got us an excellent deal for a Red Sox game! Also, they had an excellent fitness facility and a gigantic pool, I didn’t have to veer off from my gym routine. The restaurant and bar were wonderful; the rooms were well-appointed. I would highly recommend this hotel, it is truly a 5 star establishment!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are delighted that your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf was one that exceeded your expectations. Your many wonderful compliments for our hotel staff are sincerely appreciated and we are thrilled that your experience with our Concierge services was so helpful. We hope you enjoyed the game and make plans soon to join us again for another memorable stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night last weekend and we were pleased with the room (we were upgraded to a corner room, albeit a handicapped accessible room, but we were told it had more space). 180-degree views of the harbor and a nice walk down to the North End. Staff is professional and courteous; however, the maid walked into our room after only one knock in the afternoon for the purpose of filling the ice bucket. It was a good thing there was a partition between the bed and the living room area of the room as it could have been pretty embarrassing to all. Note to self: always use the deadbolt.

It was pricey, but it was very quiet at night since we were down a separate short hallway. Soundproofing between room and hall wasn't great but unlike another unnamed luxury hotel in Boston, there weren't a bunch of drunk 20-something's roaming the halls at all hours, nor were there any noisy children running rampant.

We would definitely stay here again. The feel was very much like The Waldorf in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaotcgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
How kind of you to compare the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf to such an outstanding and iconic hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular views from our harbor side rooms and took advantage of our convenient location. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered and thank you very much for your understanding. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here multiple days for a symposium. The facility is beautiful; the public areas, the fitness center/spa, the hallways and especially my room. There were so many nice touches everywhere, but the real specialness of my stay was interactions with the staff. From checking in, to questions to the Concierge, the porter, the doormen and the staff at the business center & gift shop. The maid service is also outstanding - returning late at night to a room that had been nicely prepared for the evening. The staff was professional, knowledgeable, attentive and kind. Every interaction with staff was positive - and they are proactive and attentive. They don't 'look past you'; they are actively and appropriately helpful - and just so kind. The view was great, especially from the restaurant. The location was very convenient with restaurants and cafes to walk to and lovely places around the harbor to stroll and enjoy. It made my long days comfortable - a pleasure to go back to the hotel and be really comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome you as a guest at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We genuinely feel privileged to receive such accolades from our guests as it is our goal to deliver exceptional quality and service to all of our guests. Making the most out of our convenient location is easy, with our hotel being just steps away from some of the best attractions, eateries and shopping in Boston. Thank you for your kind compliments and generous acknowledgement of our staff. We certainly look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We recently stayed here and found it difficult to find fault with. All the staff were very polite and helpful. The views of Boston harbour were excellent and south station is only a few minutes walk away so a good base for sightseeing. Having got engaged whilst there we were very impressed with the thoughtfulness and generosity of the hotel staff and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
First, let us offer our sincerest congratulations on your recent engagement! It was an honor for the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf to have you stay with us and to be part of such a memorable time in your life. We are pleased that our convenient location and dedicated staff fully impressed you and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a great hotel. The room was spacious, cozy and e view was spectacular. The amenities were nice, Housekeeping staff did a great job every day and at turn down. I love that housekeeping left us water in the evening. Unlike every single other hotel I've been to where we either die of thirst or pay $9 for a bottle of water. They even had a fully made crib for our baby and amenities for him as well. Big Plus!! ...and what a surprise. Thank You!!!

Room Service really put forth a grerat effort to exceed our expectations. Lobster on the room service menu was delicious. We had it 4 out of 5 nights.

The movie selection on t.v. was vast and offered at various prices.

The mini bar had a acceptable selection.

The location of the hotel was close in proximity to the Freedom Trail, Tea Party Museum & Aquarium where you can hop a boat to whale watch.

The bell staff were very friendly and always at hand to assist and greet you upon departing and arriving throughout the day.

The Concierge was very knowledgable and friendly. The female concierge was a teeny bit opinionated about some places we inquired about & could have given better information as to how to get directly to the freedom trail and to inform us to wear walking shoes. However this was minor and ey were exceptionally friendly.

The gift shop had the random items we needed on occasion as well as some pleasant 5 minute shopping.

The bar was accomodating to us with a stroller and they made great margaritas & martinis. No changing table in the restrooms though. (that was tough)

Meritage has great clam chowder & friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kognyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you were left with a great impression of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and appreciate the time you took fully describe your experience. Even our littlest of guests should get to enjoy a little pampering once in a while and providing amenities for them is part of the personal touches we are happy to supply. For your next visit, our in-house babysitting service is a convenient help for parents who would like some time to themselves and our staff would be happy to help you arrange it. We do regret that there were minor inconveniences during your stay, but hope that during your next stay we can fully impress you. Thank you for your kind review and come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,049 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing