We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A most luxurious and relaxing retreat In classic downtown Boston...spent at the one and only " Boston harbor hotel".” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A most luxurious and relaxing retreat In classic downtown Boston...spent at the one and only " Boston harbor hotel".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Over the past ten years my husband and I have been fortunate enough to spend some much needed relaxation time at this fabulous hotel. It all begins with the exceptional service from the bellman/valet and always a speedy check in with the front desk. The rooms are so well appointed and the beds could not be any more comfortable. We always take advantage of the spa/work out facility...
Mrytha gives an outstanding massage!
The amazing location cannot be beat...just a short walk to the northend where we had some exceptional Italian
Food. Speaking from the point of view of a true Bostonian...there is nothing quite like the Boston harbor hotel experience.
We will continue to enjoy this magnificent hotel for years to come...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It is so nice to hear from our loyal, return guests and hear that each and every time they have visited us it has been exceptional! Creating a memorable experience for each and every one of our guests is our steadfast commitment and we are thrilled to see that our efforts have inspired you to return time and time again. We will be sure to share your kind comments with our staff and we look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for your review of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,336
    257
    62
    20
    15
See reviews for
412
616
72
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This place has one of the best views of the Boston harbor ! It's a short ride to the many neighborhoods Boston is famous for. Spend the extra $ for a harbor view! The service was good and everything we ate was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knicpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
The Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf is absolutely a special place where every room offers a magnificent view, but we are excited to learn that you enjoyed the breathtaking views of the harbor while here. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I recently stayed at the Boston Harbor Hotel and just can't say enough about the hotel- absolutely stunning and every single staff member I interacted with were extremely friendly and professional! The room was absolutely gorgoues overlooking Boston Harbor- and Gary, the Director of Rooms, was so very helpful and kind in particular- treated me like pure royalty! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the area and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It is such a compliment when a guest has enjoyed their stay so much that they felt compelled to write a review. We love to receive feedback from our guests, and we will be certain to pass along your kind praise to our staff. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and we are happy that your weekend was so memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spotted this hotel on our previous trip to Boston a few years back, and decided we would try and stay there if we returned. So we booked five nights to end our trip, which started in New York and Chicago. Lovely public spaces, and friendly, professional service. We were in room 1607 with a city view. Lovely room, comfortable bed and plenty of space.

We used the Sea Grille restaurant for breakfast and dinner as well as the bar for dinner on one evening. Food was generally good and service as high quality as you would expect from this hotel. Our only criticism would be that the waffles for breakfast were dry and chewy.

We are quite casual, down to earth people, and in some other top-end hotels have found the service a bit condescending, but here it was friendly, helpful and faultless.

The concierge team are outstanding and always keen to help. We were lucky enough to be taken by Rafik to the airport in one of the hotel cars. He took us for a quick trip through the Italian quarter as we had not had the chance to visit.

When we return to Boston, there can be no other hotel to go to.

Room Tip: Suspect all are excellent. We had the basic city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartinMW1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf for the conclusion of your trip. We are extremely happy to learn that you had the opportunity to enjoy so many of the aspects of our hotel that make it a truly special place to stay, from our dedicated staff to our delicious dining options. We certainly will mention to our Chef that an item on our menu needs attention and we thank you for pointing it out to us. Please come and visit with us soon and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm something of a fitness center connoisseur when traveling, and the Boston Harbor has a great one. But that's just one feature. The service was all around excellent. The staff generally was quite friendly and helpful. I needed a shoe shine, and they not only handled it gratis but got them back to me very quickly. The room was luxurious and clean, and the facilities were as well.

The only drawback was that internet wifi was spotty. There were a number of times when it slowed to virtually unworkable speeds, so no pages would load or would take painfully long to load, even with just email.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sir-Loin-of-Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are delighted to read that our Fitness Center added such enjoyment to your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. It was certainly our pleasure to assist you with anything that you needed and feedback like yours is valued by all of us at the hotel. We do apologize for any inconvenience you encountered due to Internet access and our IT Technicians will look into what may have been problem. Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Rooms, service, food, bar... etc. Get a room with water view if you can, order some lobster in, you can choose from a great selection of wines. Service is the best, but be prepared to show you ID no matter how old you look, staff can card you if you decide to dine in the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aleevskidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We love hearing from our guests and very much appreciate your gracious remarks regarding our service levels and dining options. Our restaurant’s outstanding wine list is something that the Boston Harbor Hotel is known for, and specifically how wine selections are designed to complement the cuisine. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have stayed at Boston Harbor a number of times over the past several years and it is always superb - even traveling with toddlers was great at BHH! The food is terrific, the service is helpful and you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMmcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
There is certainly no greater compliment than to hear from our loyal return guests that their stays are exceptional time and time again. We are happy to hear that you and your family had such a pleasant stay while enjoying our convenient location and savory dining choices. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for your gracious review of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 4,096 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing