We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in the South End”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #68 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Rhinecliff, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good choice in the South End”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed here back in the 80s and 90s and it has had quite a renovation. New rooms are nice and the location, more than ever, is superb -- walking distance to the South End, Back Bay, Public Garden and Boston Common areas. Desk staff was friendly and helpful. It's pricier than it once was, but Boston hotels are expensive and so it remains a relative bargain.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DukeofDutchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    522
    168
    70
    35
See reviews for
115
481
142
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Well....where to begin? My husband and I just got home from our 4 night stay in the Chandler Inn. When we entered the hotel I was pleased with the appearance. Nice, modern, clean, the lobby, that is. The gentleman who checked us in was pleasant. When we stated walking down the hallway to our room we started getting a little worried. It was very small and tight. It did not look remodeled at all. When we entered our room we were horrified! It was tiny, not remodeled, and worst of all the bathroom was original to the hotel (maybe from the 1950's)! The room looked clean, but not like pictured on the website. Like I said previously the bathroom was the absolute worst. The tile looked filthy, I'm sure from years it has been there. I could stand in the middle of the bathroom with my arms out and touch the walls, and I am not a large person! Just way to small! The staff was pleasant, sometimes a little short. My biggest complaint was just the surprise of what I was getting myself into. Price was reasonalbe, but should be for what you're getting! Don't think I'll stay there again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnhedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I have stayed at the Chandler Inn many times. The hotel staff is knowledgeable and friendly. the rooms are immaculate. The small rooms keep the hotel the most affordable in the area. Only strange thing was the selection of TV channels. Heavily right wing (Fox news and the Military Channel) and no MSNBC or Comedy Central.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff521a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo,NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

My Husband and I stayed at the Chandler Inn for 2 nights..Room was SUPER...The Front Desk people were GREAT! Very Friendly. Room was very clean,stayed in one of the newer rooms on the 5th floor..We have stayed at this hotel every time we have gone to Boston and would stay here over and over again..Only 2 short block away from the " T " at back bay station,you can take the train everywhere GREAT GREAT GREAT!...thats all i can say is that this hotel is the best to stay at when staying in the City..close to everything and if not you take the train which is right there...There is a bar right down stairs from the hotel and two great food places right around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PucBuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2010

It's a small hotel in the quiet and friendly South End, not far away from subway Back Bay. You can even walk to the shopping quarter at Boylston street. The room is small but cozy and clean. The personnel is very friendly and helping a lot with Information where to go in Boston. There is no mini bar nor dining facilities belonging to the hotel but there's a lot of choices where to go for breakfast and lunch or dinner near the hotel. Above all, we love this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meinarsari79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2010

No doubt prices for Boston hotels are high. Our research showed us the Chandler Inn is one of the most reasonable. The Chandler in September of 2010 had renovated rooms on upper floor and older rooms on lower floors. We stayed in both (a complimentary upgrade thanks to management). The lower floor rooms are a challenge in their small size (e.g. no lamps at bedside for reading, electrical outlets difficult to access), no place to put the luggage for two travelers. While the upper renovated room are the same square footage, space use is improved dramatically not to mention decor improvements. The staff is friendly and the neighborhood (southside) is walkable to the Commons, Copley Square and local restaurants. The hotel was quiet enough with the windows closed to street noise. The owners of the little coffee shop/cafe around the corner the Chandler on Berkeley Street were most accommodating and packed up large sandwiches for a reasonable price, separating our onions in one container, our tomatoes in another, simply to keep our sandwiches from getting soggy and smelly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blessed0580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsford, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Very convenient location, about a five minute walk to the Back Bay Station. Nice neighborhood with very good restaurants, not a lot of traffic. Very easy to walk to nearly every neighborhood around Boston. Clean, comfortable rooms (we stayed on the sixth floor). Bathroom is very small, but that didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
951 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
690 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,092 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Groupon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing