We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #68 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Atlanta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed September 22, 2010

PROS:
1) Location Location Location
2) Price
3) Friendly staff

CONS:
1) Lack of breakfast options during the week
2) All the rooms are not remodeled
3) Small TV
4) Small bathroom sinks

If you have looked for a hotel in downtown boston, you will have a sticker shock of $250+ night rooms. The Chandler Inn is very convenent location and a great price. The subway is 2 blooks away and you are about 6 blocks from Newbery street. 6 blocks sounds like a lot, but in Boston the blocks are not that big.

There are 2 sets of rooms. Ones that have been totally remodeled,and ones that have been 1/2 remodeled. The remodeled rooms are chic and cool. The 1/2 remodeled are more of a historic hotel feel. Both rooms have very confortable beds. The TV was a 19" flat screen, and the bathroom sink was so small you really could only keep a tiny bar of soap on the sink. There was really no room to put tootbrush on the sink or on a shelf.

If you are looking for a resort hotel, this is NOT it. I was in town to visit friends and site see, so I was not in the room that much. My only big issue with the Chandler Inn was they have coffee in the morning, but not much else. The neighborhood does not have breakfast options near by during the week. The bar that is in the hotel has a great breakfast, but it is only on the weekends. Now there are a LOT of cool dinner options a few blocks to the left and right of the hotel.

Overall, if you want to stay in town and be close to the subway and close to cool dinner options and most importantly do not want to pay your house mortgage to say for a weekend, the Chandler Inn is the spot for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubincave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    521
    168
    68
    35
See reviews for
114
481
142
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed here in Sept 2010 and was very pleased with our level 5 room - clean, modern paint, great photo on the wall of the Boston skyline, comfortable beds and large LCD tv with cable. The room was on the small side but cleverly designed to fit in all of the necessities without feeling too small. The shower was a double with a folding door and unfortunately it leaked substantially on the floor each time we showered so we went through a lot of towels trying to keep the floor dry. Also, the street is a little noisy at night due to people and traffic on the cross street, but there is a great iHome ipod dock alarm clock in the room so we docked the ipod, put on some nature sounds and slept well. Front desk staff are ever helpful and a bonus is the coffee making facilities at the front desk. I'd recommend this place to anyone staying in Boston and interested in being in the South End close to back bay station.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I would like to personally thank the General manager and all the staff at the front desk for their excellent and friendly approach. I shall never forget their assistance and cooperation. It has been a wonderful experience for me to be in such a beautiful place like Boston. I had a very comfortable and cozy stay the Chandler Inn. I would certainly recommend it to my friends. I look forward to visiting Boston again and to stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leela_avula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in may. The rooms were clean and tidy which for me is always the most important. The location wasn't great as it is around 8 blocks from the nearest sightseeing but the T station is only 2 blocks away. There are plenty of restaurants just 2 blocks away and a 7/11 just around the corner. The staff were friendly but when we arrived there was one stressed guy trying to serve everyone at once. He checked us in hurriedly at the same time as dealing with a complaining customer and giving directions to a passerby who came in. I would rather have waited and been given some attention as he hardly spoke or even looked at us during check in. Also the reception area is just a small desk at the foot of the stairs. There are no coffee making facilities in room but there is in reception along with an ice box. There is free wi-fi but no computers so if you don't have any device with you like us you can go to the YMCA opposite and use theirs for a dollar. Overall though the rooms were nice and quiet and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

A brlilliantly located hotel, with a simple, winning formula - Comfy, city accomodation at an affordable price with friendly, informal service. There are so many good places to eat in the vicinity that the absence of a restaurant is not noticed - and never mind the lack of a gym , pick up your heels and walk around those marvelous south Boston and Back Bay streets

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptownsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Do not be fooled by their fancy website and quite friendly "prior-to-your-arrival" service. They promise that ALL guest rooms are "cozy and comfortable" and (according to Boston guides) re-furbished. Perhaps some of the rooms have indeed been renovated, but I stayed in one of the Economy Twins and it was a mistake. Dump, smelly, with dirty carpet, greasy stains on the walls and towels worse than the cloths used to wipe dogs feet after a walk on a rainy day. I must admit that the staff is very friendly and helpful, but that's all as regards recommendation for this hotel. And the room price included an "energy surcharge", which reminded me of hotels in Eastern Europe in 1970s...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PlainTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were very happy with our stay at the Chandler Inn in Boston, which is very excellently located (1 1/2 blocks from train station and 3 blocks from lots of fantastic restaurants). It's a no-frills hotel, so there aren't many extras (like a gym, pool, room service, etc.) The rooms are a little on the small side, but they're very comfortable, clean and newly refurbished. The free wi-fi came in very handy when I needed to do some work projects. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJKaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#53 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelClick, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing