We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #68 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Felt more like a hostel than a hotel. Cosmetically the rooms were very nice but it didn't go farther than that. No closet, no iron or board, no luggage rack(wouldn't have been room for one anyway), the supposedly clean towels were covered in small hairs and upon further inspection we found the bathroom door and wall also covered in these same hairs. When we arrived their room key computer was broken so every time we needed to enter the room someone had to take us up and unlock the door, very inconvenient especially if we forgot something and had to go all the way down 7 floors to have them come back up to let us in. We might have been able to endure through all the above except for when we arrived the room was 80 degrees. We turned the heater off and went to dinner but when we came back the room was still 80. We couldn't figure out how to turn the AC on so we called the front desk and that when they told us they turn off all the AC units in the winter and we needed to open the window for it to cool off. We did this and proceeded to toss and turn through the night as the temp never went down. We couldn't understand it, it was 30 degrees outside and the room never cooled off by more than 3-4 degrees. They told us it might be because of the side the building we were on. We also asked for a fan and were told no. At this point we realized we couldn't endure an entire week of this. We rebooked at Copley Square Hotel for $25 more a night and it was WAY worth it. Copley Square ended up being one the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Book at Copley Square Hotel instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    522
    169
    70
    35
See reviews for
115
482
142
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hartford, ct
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Small everything especially bathroom but giant shower stall (weird but nice). Beds average. No coffee in room no closet just a rack with hangars.10 minute walk to theaters and commons. Hotel club/bar under renovations so very quiet, not sure how that goes when club is open. Beehive and Masa great places right around corner. Not for everyone but I liked it

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Chandler Inn is one of those places that's got it just about right. It is a reasonably priced, very clean property with no frills. That bathroom is amazing, with a stand up shower. My room had two single beds with mattresses that were too firm for my taste. This is a small property that is priced at a value for the area.

When booking keep in mind:
The rooms are on the small side and you will probably hear a little more noise than you'd expect at other properties. If you're looking for a good deal, with few frills (other than the shower) this is the place for you. The rooms here are not for people who plan to camp out in their hotel room. They are for people who need a place to crash at the end of a long day at work or seeing the sights in Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a single if you can. The doubles are built for the shorter people of a by-gone era.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valladolid
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Although the room itself was good enough, one of the main reasons to pick this hotel was the free WiFi advertised. But the signal in our room was so weak that it was impossible to connect and no solution or compensation was given at the frontdesk.

Otherwise, the hotel was fine, good heater, great location and good price, but we felt somewhat cheated because of the internet thing.

Room Tip: No Wifi signal in room 607
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValladolidDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked through Kayak and got a really good price, room is larger than expected, clean and nicely decorated. Hotel is in a really nice area in easy walking distance of back bay station. Staff are supremely helpful, room is clean and comfortable, shower is excellent. WiFi is a little slow but perfectly serviceable. In fact would be perfect if only the people on the room next door would stf up

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrFletchersMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I visited Boston in Jan 2014 and decided to spend 3 nights in Chandler.

1st night:
- Very loud bar/club on first floor and I could not sleep until 2:45AM because people are yelling and laughing
- Heater was not working. It was when the winter storm hit.

2nd night:
- No hot water for shower and bathroom from 8AM to 11:30PM (again, winter storm hits)
- Heater still broken so asked front desk for room change, second room has heater but was way too hot and I couldn't breath. Changed to 3rd room, still no heater
Note: the heater in this hotel is central heater and you CANNOT change the temperature. The second room was way too hot that I was still sweating with clothes off and sleeping without a blanket.
- Bar still loud until AM

3rd night:
- Again, no hot water in bathroom since I woke up and until I came back at night, still no estimated time for the fix at 10PM
- Rude front desk asked me to take cold water shower and his attitude was very rude and indifferent about the situation. I called later to ask when it will be fixed, still very very rude like he does not care about his job anymore

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lam981060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I spent two nights at the Chandler Inn and it was great. The staff is very accommodating. Rooms are a bit tights, but so is everything else in the heart of Boston. We pretty much walked to everything or took a cab, so it's definitely in a great location. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gittecool4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#65 of 83 in Boston
952 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
691 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,092 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Groupon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelPower, TravelClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing