We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel, well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice Hotel, well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly, eager to make our stay a great one, and they did. We stayed in both the Chandler Inn and the Chandler studios, we were three but booked a room with two twin beds by mistake. They worked things around although pretty much all was booked and we were able to get another room with two full beds, in the studios. They were nice enough to accommodate us with a small discount in the studio and it was greatly appreciated. We were walking distance to pretty much all the places we wanted to visit, Boylston street, Fenway Park, the Freedom trail and much more, we took the subway not far from the Hotel for a small ride to Harvard University. We even had a drink in the Hotels friendly bar. We would recommend the Chandler Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pouneajus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    490
    156
    64
    31
See reviews for
107
447
135
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Very clean and the staff was very nice. They were dog friendly which is a big deal cuz my dog comes everywhere with me. Hotel was very nicely decorated. Little bathroom but to be expected in the city. Great location. Will stay again for sure:) loved the free bottle water for my mutt! Nice touch:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TarrapinRoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was a little bit apprehensive prior to my stay here. I usually go for a hotel that has a pool and fitness center etc but the location pf this hotel definitely makes up for the lack of amenities. The room is pretty small but I was actually expecting it to be even smaller than it actually was based on the reviews from this site. For those that try to exercise everyday, some sit ups/squats/push ups are definitely doable in this room. Also, if you have to refrigerate anything there is a communal mini-fridge down in the lobby where the coffee and ice is (I didn't use it but I would have had I known about it prior to travel). As much as I saw, there were always two staff members sitting at the front desk at all times (I found this very impressive for such a small hotel!). It was very quiet and comfortable in the room- the air conditioning worked like a charm and we didn't hear any disturbing outside noise (please note, this is coming from a New Yorker who lives literally in front of a train station). The neighborhood is great! There is a gay sports bar next door that has an amazing brunch on the weekends (definitely THE BEST meal we had during our stay!). One of the bouncers was extremely helpful when I came up to him asking if they served dinner...he helped us find a great place a few blocks away that met my dietary needs. There are also two breakfast/lunch places around the corner that are both pretty good. We literally walked everywhere we wanted to visit with little to no problem from the hotel (please note once again, two New Yorkers in their mid 20s). I would definitely come to this hotel again if I were to go on another trip to Boston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabruzzi623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The pictures you see on their web page are very accurate at setting the right expectations. You will get what you see, recently renovated clean rooms which are a little small but nicely decorated. We definitely loved the location of the hotel: 7 mins away from back bay and arlington stations, 15 mins away from Copley.
There is a coffee machine at the lobby, ice is alo available. Two small complementary water bottles are left in the room everyday.
One tip for the room service: please do not leave the long decorative pillow on the bed after you change the linens. I'd love to use clean pillows.

Room Tip: The Berkeley street is crowded during the day and quiet during the night. You may still want a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horizontal_Sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hotel is well located, in a quiet area, bur within walking distance from the center and main shopping areas. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are very clean and with a nice modern decor, but not very big (our had no closet) and the bathroom is very small.
As prices go, we found it to be a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The room was remodeled and much more soundproof since my last visit, and the staff on all shifts were friendly and very helpful. The T station is only 2 blocks away, which matters to me. The cost is reasonable given the good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard7113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed three nights with my wife. Room was small but clean. Everyone behind the desk was very helpful with giving us directions to various locations. Parking (at garage, three blocks) was discounted, after getting our garage ticket validated at the hotel. The A.C. unit was loud and blew directly on our bed. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was not very strong, room got very humid. Was told the fans on the top two floors were underrated and they know it. Great breakfast at Billy's, around the corner. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegaDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#64 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 stars 2,684 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#47 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#65 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#53 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Downtown
Milner Hotel
Milner Hotel
#78 of 82 in Boston
3.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing