We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place, great for the price”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #68 of 83 Hotels in Boston
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good place, great for the price”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very close to Boston's Hynes Convention Center, which is great for me when I come to town for conferences instead of being ripped off by conference hotels. Very friendly staff, and very helpful. Rooms are clean, nice and they have all you need. Third time I stay here, a really nice place.

Room Tip: Choose the "boutique" rooms, MUCH better decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefano T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    521
    168
    68
    35
See reviews for
114
481
142
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I used the internet to find a hidden gem of a hotel for an overnight stay in Boston. I gave the Chandler Inn a try and was very disappointed. Shoe box room, with the bathroom sink being the smallest one I have ever seen. The bed was advertised as a queen size, but it was only a twin. The mattress was aged and very hard. Sheets were paper thin and felt scratchy, with the pillows not much better. No amenities in the room. Shower was missing some of the glass and the door was broken.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stravlercity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

the hotel is very well located (5 minutes by walk to the main streets and shops), quiet and clean. The staff was pleasant and helpful. the only negative is that there is no food except at the bar on the ground but the hotel do not provide info about it. nevertheless it is a good place, even more as i payed $120 per night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyco75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are small and minamalistic, but comfy. The furnishings are nice, comfy bed, good clean shower, decent flat screen tv, coffee in lobby is good. The location is safe and convenient. We walked the freedom trail from here, and it is close to the public library and the back bay T. The restaurant choice is good in the area and you feel safe walking around at night. We got a deal for $99 a night and it was the best price in Boston.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FilmNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in October 2012 on holiday. Excellent location: 10-15 minutes walk from attractions such as Boston Common, Prudential Centre (where you can pick up the excellent Duck Tour!), and 10 mins from Arlington subway.
Reception staff extremely helpful - we were there during Hurricane Sandy and they helped us get pizza delivered when it was just too wild to venture out. But there are lots of good restaurants within 5 - 10 mins walk too. Very nice free coffee machine in lobby. 2 cafes for breakfast on the same block - or you can buy food in the 7-11 store. We didn't try the weekend brunch in the bar downstairs but the staff did recommend it.
The room was small but really nicely furnished in a modern style. Not much hanging space but good deep drawers either side of bed. Bathroom VERY compact but for our shortish stay it was fine.
We asked for a quiet room on a high floor (I emailed a week before we arrived), and we got floor 7 (there are 8 floors with 8 rooms on each floor I think). We were in the middle of the line of rooms (room 704) so not too near the stairwell door which was loud when it slammed - so we were never disturbed at all. I think rooms 1 and 2 on each floor might suffer from that.
All in all an excellent choice at a reasonable price for Boston.

Room Tip: email a few days before you go and ask for a quiet room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

When I travel to Boston, I go by train, arriving at the Back Bay station. This hotel was two blocks away from the station -- very convenient. It was on a beautiful street, and a good value, which seems unusual in Boston. The hotel was not remarkable in any way, but perfectly pleasant. Front desk people were extremely nice. They don't serve breakfast, but they have a great Nespresso style coffee maker always available. The room was clean, the decor was streamlined and sleek, wifi worked, nice walk-in shower. Plus, you are just around the corner from the South End restaurants and shops. I'm sure I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilboSouthOrange_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was nice and clean. The room is kind of small, but can still accommodate four people if you try really hard. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I love to be there in Boston and surely will go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MafiaS0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#53 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing