We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, hotel ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #63 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, hotel ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good location, walking distance to everything. Nice cafe literally just around the corner. Beware though no hotel parking and long stay parking some distance away. Bathroom a bit small, especially the sink but cable tv and in room wifi. Expensive but all rooms in Boston are. Would be nice to have in room safes.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    518
    166
    66
    33
See reviews for
110
478
140
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I arrived with my fiancee for a romantic weekend in Boston. When we got to the hotel, we parked in what seemed to be the hotel parking lot (directly behind the hotel, adjacent to it). We were then told that this is not legal parking for hotel guests, and that the hotel doesn't actually have its own parking area. That's not entirely unreasonable, but certainly sub-optimal for folks coming in from out of town by car. It's especially annoying given the fact that the neighborhood is pretty central and open parking spots are rare, to put it mildly.

We then came into our room and were immediately hit with the odor of feet/cheese. It was overpowering. Nothing romantic about that! We hoped it would be one of those smells that would "go away" as we got used to it. But no. It was a powerful stench, and it remained. After a couple of hours of trying our best to tolerate it, we asked for another room. They kindly provided one. But for $218 a night (incl. taxes, fees, etc.), you'd think this sort of thing wouldn't happen in the first place.

The location is nice (except for the lack of parking), and there are fun things to do around there. But for the price, I think you can probably do a bit better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great location, walkable to Copley place and Back Bay station. Tiny room and bathroom but well maintained. The staff are friendly. I did not like the strong insecticide like smell in the elevator. I enjoyed my stay and felt very comfortable during my stay. Its expensive for its size but location and friendly staff make up for it.

Room Tip: Higher level room since there is a bar on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wadiyaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We chose the Chandler Inn Hotel because of its location. It was a delightful surprise to experience the contemporary room, great front desk staff, and quiet locale. The main attractions of Boston were walkable distances; the restaurant row of Tremont Street was down the block; and a main metro station a block away. The small, efficient bathroom could use a small shelf for toiletries, but all else was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breckgal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

A friend of mine and I stayed at the Chandler Inn during the weekend of the Belgian Beer Fest. We had decided to stay at the Chandler because it was the closest hotel to the Boston Center of the Arts, the T station, and also the most affordable on a student's budget. We reserved a room with two twin beds, and loved it! The space was small, but the room was incredibly clean, chic, and perfectly livable. The staff at the desk were very helpful and willing to help with anything we needed, including pointing us in the right direction for breakfast and the Samuel Adams Brewery. Its location cannot be beat if you need a place in the South End. For the weekend getaway, we could not have asked for a better place.

Note: the average rating for the swimming pool and fitness center should be NA as we did not use them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank memmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Perfectly satisfactory little hotel. About a 10 minute walk from the train/subway station and shopping areas. Staff were competent and nice. Room was pleasant, about the size I expected, and quiet. Great location and reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks. Kenia Carvalho from São Paulo, Brazil.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our room was crisp and clean. Modern furnishings, flat screen tv, very comfortable. The bathroom, albeit brand New, is quite small...not an issue for us but may be an issue if a visitor is accustomed to spacious hotel bathrooms. Staff was welcoming and gracious. Walking distance to Tremont and great restaurants. Plenty of offsite parking. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smartyrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#50 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing